3,099 reputation
21643
bio website jsbangs.com
location United States
age 32
visits member for 4 years
seen 2 days ago

I have a degree in Linguistics, but I work as a programmer. Most of my expertise about English is self-taught, plus lots of random trivia I've acquired here and there.

This is my favorite EL&U comment ever:

This isn't really a question about English so much as a question about hugs. Source


Sep
29
comment Mystery cards in Magic 2015 card list
@murgatroid99 Thanks, I fixed that URL. But I've never seen any of those in M15 limited, though Inspired Charge is very similar to Sanctified Charge.
Oct
7
comment What are the results of combining Minion Reflector, Doubling Season, and Kalonian Hydra?
I have to downvote this, because this answer is incorrect in one important detail: the counters added to one hydra have no affect on the counters added to the other hydra. See my answer.
Jan
9
comment Nivmagus and cipher card rulings
@mjqxxxx See the comp rules sections 510.4 and 510.5.
Jan
9
comment Nivmagus and cipher card rulings
@mjqxxxx, that's incorrect. Both players get priority after the combat damage step and the first-strike damage step (if it occurs). If an encoded spell goes on the stack when first-strike damage occurs, then it's perfectly possible to exile the encoded copy and have the Nivmagus elemental get the +1/+1 counters in time for the regular combat damage step.
Dec
21
comment What exactly was so broken about Urza's Block?
I know about Tolarian Academy. But one land by itself does not break a format---I'm looking for a more wholistic view.
Dec
12
comment Third Hole in Cribbage Board
The wacky terminology is half the fun of playing cribbage.
Oct
31
comment How many missed triggers are necessary before you begin to have Game Losses and/or DQs?
This came up recently at the Pro Tour: magic.tcgplayer.com/db/article.asp?ID=10794
Oct
18
comment Ponder: to shuffle or not to shuffle
Path to Exile, Swords to Plowshares, Ancient Grudge, Lightning Bolt... these are just the first four removal spells that I thought of that you might play alongside U in a UW, RUG, or UR deck (of which there are plenty).
Oct
18
comment Ponder: to shuffle or not to shuffle
Probably the most common situation where this happens is when you have plenty of mana and need a removal spell, and Ponder shows you removal and two more lands.
Oct
6
comment When does a token have the same name as another token?
If the ability did not explicitly give a name to the token, its name is the same as its type. -- This is the key piece of information that I was missing. I was worried that all tokens had the same name, similar to how they all have a CMC of 0, which means that a single Detention Sphere could wipe out my entire board.
Jul
22
comment Factory bonus when some supply piles are exhausted
That is pretty darn clear. The person holding the rulebook in our game didn't notice the example for some reason, and so we ruled that I got the bonus anyway.
Jul
22
comment In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?
Only moderators can migrate questions, but you can simply re-ask the question over there and then delete this one.
Jul
22
comment In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?
This could, in principle, go here, but I think it will be much better served at poker.stackexchange.com
Jul
9
comment How do you pronounce Agricola?
@BlueRaja-DannyPflughoeft, right, and those are the vowel in "greed", not the vowel in "grid".
Jul
9
comment How do you pronounce Agricola?
Actually, Eric is right about the IPA and you are wrong. The symbol /i/ is EE, not IH, as the very Wikipedia link you gave points out.
Jun
9
comment How does Infinite Reflection work with Commander and commander damage?
In the second game, all of the protagonist's creatures immediately go into the graveyard after you cast Infinite Reflection on the commander, due to the legend rule.
May
2
comment Why play Land Grant?
#4 amuses me. I don't know of a Storm deck that has ever needed G, but of course that wouldn't stop you, would it? You just reveal this card, search for a Forest (and fail to find it), then go about your business.
May
2
comment Why play Land Grant?
I don't see how #1 and #2 apply in this case, since the card can only ever fetch Forests and is therefore functionally equivalent to just drawing a Forest. #5 much more relevant.
Apr
30
comment Recommended strategies for the MTGO Cube
Ok, but what are the ready-made archetypes in the MTGO cube?
Apr
30
comment Recommended strategies for the MTGO Cube
@ghoppe, aside from what rahzark said, the fact is that in a cube you might open a pack with 8 cards that are first-pick bombs in any other format. This makes BREAD a little less useful as a guide.