2,952 reputation
11241
bio website jsbangs.com
location United States
age 31
visits member for 3 years, 6 months
seen 2 days ago

I have a degree in Linguistics, but I work as a programmer. Most of my expertise about English is self-taught, plus lots of random trivia I've acquired here and there.

This is my favorite EL&U comment ever:

This isn't really a question about English so much as a question about hugs. Source


Oct
18
comment Ponder: to shuffle or not to shuffle
Path to Exile, Swords to Plowshares, Ancient Grudge, Lightning Bolt... these are just the first four removal spells that I thought of that you might play alongside U in a UW, RUG, or UR deck (of which there are plenty).
Oct
18
comment Ponder: to shuffle or not to shuffle
Probably the most common situation where this happens is when you have plenty of mana and need a removal spell, and Ponder shows you removal and two more lands.
Oct
18
asked Ponder: to shuffle or not to shuffle
Oct
6
accepted When does a token have the same name as another token?
Oct
6
comment When does a token have the same name as another token?
If the ability did not explicitly give a name to the token, its name is the same as its type. -- This is the key piece of information that I was missing. I was worried that all tokens had the same name, similar to how they all have a CMC of 0, which means that a single Detention Sphere could wipe out my entire board.
Oct
5
asked When does a token have the same name as another token?
Oct
3
awarded  Popular Question
Oct
1
awarded  Popular Question
Sep
19
awarded  Notable Question
Aug
6
accepted Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?
Aug
5
asked Will Elesh Norn kill creatures if I don't pay the extra cost for Flash?
Jul
28
awarded  Famous Question
Jul
26
awarded  Citizen Patrol
Jul
22
accepted Factory bonus when some supply piles are exhausted
Jul
22
comment Factory bonus when some supply piles are exhausted
That is pretty darn clear. The person holding the rulebook in our game didn't notice the example for some reason, and so we ruled that I got the bonus anyway.
Jul
22
comment In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?
Only moderators can migrate questions, but you can simply re-ask the question over there and then delete this one.
Jul
22
comment In Texas Hold'em, who is awarded second and third place in this scenario?
This could, in principle, go here, but I think it will be much better served at poker.stackexchange.com
Jul
21
asked Factory bonus when some supply piles are exhausted
Jul
17
revised Does an activated ability resolve if the card with the ability is returned to its owner's hand?
added 25 characters in body
Jul
17
answered Does an activated ability resolve if the card with the ability is returned to its owner's hand?