Reputation
4,965
Next tag badge:
20/100 score
3/20 answers
Badges
18 41
Impact
~108k people reached

Apr
7
comment In Lords of Waterdeep on iOS, why does placing a corruption token on The Palace of Waterdeep indicate you won't get to take the Ambassador?
No, that's not the case. See page 22 of the rulebook: "If another player assigns an Agent to the Palace of Waterdeep after you have taken the Ambassador but before you have had a chance to assign it, he or she gains no benefit from that action." If the Ambassador is placed first, then assigning a new agent to The Palace does allow you to pick it up. I'll update my answer.
Apr
6
comment In Lords of Waterdeep on iOS, why does placing a corruption token on The Palace of Waterdeep indicate you won't get to take the Ambassador?
I'm in the middle of an online game, so I'd rather not do it if it's going to mess up my previous move. I also thought it might be what you said, but it doesn't seem to give a message like that for any other action space. Plus, it's quite specific about the Ambassador. It sure seems deliberate, just not sure why.
Oct
30
comment What is the win ratio of spies and resistant in The Resistance?
It sounds like your group hasn't learned to play Resistance very well yet. Playing a spy, at a basic level, is pretty straightforward. Playing a Resistance member takes a little more thought. After all, the spies already know everything; they're just trying to create confusion and mislead. The Resistance members have to piece together the information. Stick with it and the Resistance will probably improve.
Aug
7
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@ghoppe In a 6-player game, on player-6's first turn, there's a high probability they will land on a property someone else already purchased. Given the likely clustering of pieces, this is also pretty likely on the 2nd turn as well. This can cause a negative play experience for some. Some people like this house rule because they feel the luck that occurs during the several rolls needed to get around the board is "better" than the luck used to determine starting position. Is it statistically valid? Probably not. I'm not advocating the rule; I don't use it myself. Some people like it.
Aug
7
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@ghoppe I'm not sure which part you don't buy. I was just pointing out that on the first trip around, there's a higher probability of players landing on the same squares (because they start from the same spot). Once they've made it around the board once, they will be a little spread out and less likely to do so. Passing isn't really relevant. I only referred to 3 and 4 following 1 and 2 to try to illustrate the point.
Jan
23
comment Are Bishops more valuable than Knights?
Oops, obviously the Ks in my previous comment should have been Ns.
Jan
22
comment Are Bishops more valuable than Knights?
@BlueRaja-DannyPflughoeft Sure, but all I was suggesting is that B+B > K+K > K+B. B+B is the strongest option, but I tend to think (and I also remember reading somewhere) that K+K is stronger than K+B. Were you disagreeing with that? Not sure.
Jan
12
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
It may be meant to disperse the player tokens a bit so that they aren't all landing on the same properties. Since it uses two dice, there's a high probability of 6, 7 or 8 being rolled. With everyone starting from the same spot, there's a reasonable chance players 3 and 4 will kind of follow players 1 and 2 around the board landing on many of the same properties (which players 1 and 2 have probably already purchased). I guess going around the board once would mitigate that a little.
Jan
6
comment In Ticket to Ride, how do you overcome bad initial tickets?
Drawing additional tickets early is a good suggestion, but I wouldn't recommend drawing them immediately. I'd suggest drawing a bunch of train cards before drawing more tickets. That way you know what colors you're strong in when deciding what routes to take. You could argue the reverse, i.e. get the routes first so you know what color cards to take, but I find that doesn't work as well. First, you may not get the colors you need. Second, you're going to tip off your opponents, because they'll see what you're taking.
Dec
5
comment In The Resistance, how does In the Spotlight work?
If any team members have already selected their Mission card before In the Spotlight is announced, another option would be to require everyone to pick up their mission card, whether they want to change it or not. That way, someone that does want to change their card can do so without giving themselves away.
Nov
30
comment What is the timing of the Hidden Pocket effect?
Wow, that would have been very nasty in our case. We had quite a few cities of the eradicated, virulent strain in the discard pile at the time. It also seems to go against the theme of the card. To me, "hidden pocket" would imply a small amount of the disease had gone undetected and cropped back up. I wouldn't think it would mean a disease has instantly reappeared across an entire continent. But, I guess I'd be wrong. :)
Nov
14
comment Are the A-sides and B-sides of the wonder boards really balanced?
@Kempeth The rule book claims they are balanced: "The B sides of the Wonders are slightly more complex. Nevertheless, both sides remain balanced and can be used in the same game." (pg. 9) Sounds like no one's buying that claim, however.
Nov
12
comment Is it common to have too few resources for most cards in Age 3 of “7 Wonders”?
A good answer, but I would make one qualification to your final comment. As you get down to the last few cards of Age III, it's not uncommon to be unable to play any of the cards you're given, especially if your opponents are deliberately trying to give you cards they know you can't play.
Nov
2
comment Games with features like Battlestar Galactica's “Traitor” Mechanic?
I really like this game. I think it's much better than Werewolf, which is fun, but is very random, especially with a lot of people. I disagree that The Resistance becomes more luck based with more players. I've played with all different numbers of players and I think it's just as good at every number. Actually, I tend to prefer more than seven because the first mission has three people and doesn't always go to the resistance.
Sep
16
comment Optimal (Or Just Effective) Strategy For The Resistance?
@sun Sorry for the confusion. The leadership does change after each mission team vote. What I was trying to say is if the 2nd mission is won by the resistance, the next leader should choose the exact same team. What reason would they have for not doing so? They could argue 1 of those people is a spy, but it's unlikely. That'd mean the spy chose not to fail the mission and handed the resistance a 2nd victory (assuming they won the 1st, as usual). The same logic also applies to the 4th mission. It doesn't matter who the leader is. They should either follow this logic or out themselves as a spy.
Sep
10
comment Best method for evenly distributing epidemic cards in Pandemic setup?
@Neal Oh yeah, good point. I was thinking wrong. That makes it better.
Sep
9
comment Best method for evenly distributing epidemic cards in Pandemic setup?
I like this option. I'll have to try it out the next time I play. However, I think I would add a cut of the deck after combining the piles. That way you don't know that the first epidemic is not near the top. It does open up the possibility of a back-to-back epidemic, though.
May
14
comment Use of Executive Order in Battlestar Galatica
I agree. I thought that's what I said. Was I not clear?
May
14
comment Use of Executive Order in Battlestar Galatica
I believe the Brig says "you may not move" and Executive Order says "you may move", so I can see where someone could be confused as to which one trumps the other. We have always played that EO cannot get you out of the Brig. My interpretation is that the Brig prevents you from moving. EO simply grants the option to move, just as your normal turn does. The Brig prevents the movement in both cases. A more technical ruling might be that the Brig's restriction is mandatory, while EO's ability is optional. In general, mandatory trumps optional.
May
4
comment Are Bishops more valuable than Knights?
@BlueRaja I remember reading that somewhere, but perhaps it's just one author's opinion. It would certainly be situational. 2 Knights is definitely not better in all circumstances, as 2 Knights vs. lone King cannot force checkmate, while Bishop and Knight can.