Reputation
1,073
Next privilege 1,250 Rep.
Create tag synonyms
Badges
5 8
Newest
 Explainer
Impact
~11k people reached

Apr
23
comment ACT5 and ACT6 + pay extra spades
Right you are! The FAQ on BGG covers this in general, and a lot of other useful things.
Apr
23
answered ACT5 and ACT6 + pay extra spades
Apr
23
comment ACT5 and ACT6 + pay extra spades
Quick answer: yes (specifically with workers, not by combining multiple spade powers such as the scroll)! I'll write a full answer.
Apr
23
comment Should spiderines be allowed in 'A Dig Too Far?'
I haven't played Underground so I don't know if this is different, but in Small World you can only abandon a region at the start of your turn, not during redeployment. If this was misplayed then it removed the opportunity for the other players to attack the spread-out spiders and reduce their numbers early.
Apr
23
comment Can Breaker Bay Grid be used to reduce cost of other Regions?
Yep, as clarified here: There may be a maximum of one region installed per server (per the text on region cards) and having two or more in a server simultaneously (rezzed or unrezzed) would constitute maintaining an illegal game state.
Sep
30
awarded  Explainer
Aug
17
awarded  Yearling
Aug
17
awarded  Yearling
Jun
11
comment Reaction cards in response to reaction cards
@shujaa I think the main benefit of thinking of it as nesting rather than purely sequential could be illustrated by the same example, but with two market squares in hand. To use both of those market squares in reaction to trashing the same card, you either have to think of it as a branching structure (I play the two market squares at once, then sequentially resolve them one at a time) or a nesting structure ("start silver trashed event" "start playing market square" "resolve market square" "start playing market square" "resolve market square" "end silver trashed event").
Jun
11
comment Is a robber laid a robber played?
In general, the times people will insist mistakes like this are final will be when they're desperate for the win, and see the mistake as an opportunity. Nothing about the game has changed since the robber roll was made - no trading, rolling, new turns, etc, so there's no reason (in a simple and clear case like this one) not to allow a redo.
May
31
revised Do I or my planeswalker need to take damage for Blood Reckoning to trigger?
style, clarity, spelling
May
31
suggested approved edit on Do I or my planeswalker need to take damage for Blood Reckoning to trigger?
May
30
answered When entering Tokyo Bay, does the monster in Tokyo City take damage?
May
17
comment How much strategic depth is there in Quarriors?
Advanced variant is the only way to go. 2 buys, and give up creatures to score them. This makes long-term engine decks viable, and multiple cheaper purchases work. Otherwise creatures decide the game entirely.
May
16
revised Can an opponent destroy an Iron Maiden during their upkeep to avoid taking damage from it?
added [mtg:_] tags for named cards
May
16
suggested approved edit on Can an opponent destroy an Iron Maiden during their upkeep to avoid taking damage from it?
May
7
comment Countermeasures to “analysis paralysis”?
This is how we play - no moves are permanent until there's been some change in information: as long as you haven't yet rolled a die, drawn a card, or asked if a player's going to react to a situation, it's fine, and it means you can do the moves as you go. For example, when expanding in Risk, people can just put one troop in each territory to get a feel for how far they're going, and then they arrange the unplaced troops before starting their conquest.
May
3
comment What does Counterbalance counter, when revealing a split card?
Ah, started writing my answer before you edited yours, didn't notice the change XD
May
3
answered What does Counterbalance counter, when revealing a split card?
Apr
12
revised Infractions/Player Communication - Infernal Tutor and Lion's Eye Diamond
Apostrophe broke the MTG autocard, link added manually