988 reputation
58
bio website n/a
location England
age 24
visits member for 3 years, 3 months
seen Nov 4 at 19:57

I'm SAMMEH.


Mar
22
answered Improved wording for dealing out cards
Feb
7
comment Can Wishing Ring be applied on side-effects?
As thesunneversets is getting at once, the -5 is meant to ruin you just the once. If you can't win because of that -5, then you have to run away, since trying to run away isn't optional and happens when you determine you've lost the fight.
Feb
7
comment Can Wishing Ring be applied on side-effects?
Until you get rid of that -5, you're far too distracted to think of using your wishing ring to get rid of that -5!
Feb
7
comment Can I give a creature First Strike in order to prevent it dealing any damage that combat?
It's interesting that, were this not specifically covered in 702.7c, the tactic proposed in this question could only be used when at least one creature that already had first/double strike was involved in the combat, since the second damage step only exists if that's true during the first.
Dec
10
comment 'Free City' with Babylon (B): How to play the special ability (2nd stage)?
Started formulating a read-as-written answer based on the idea that the Free City can't use special abilities (play from discard, double-play, copy guild) since you only play its action, but then there's no clear definition of whether these abilities are used as part of an action. In the end, I really don't know, but I would think it most sensible to have the player ending the round look at the last card in the draw pile and decide whether or not Babylon should play it.
Dec
10
comment “Best of the Best” and Heavy Raiders?
Just to clarify, the restriction on nukes mentioned doesn't apply to the result that destroys all ships.
Dec
10
comment Use of Executive Order in Battlestar Galatica
As an extra note from the FFG FAQ, you can't be forced out of the brig (e.g. into sickbay), and you can't be the one chosen to be brigged/sickbayed when a choice is forced if you're already there (though you could brig someone in sickbay).
Dec
10
comment Citadels: Can two Circus Tents be built in the same city?
Have the German base rules changed in the new edition? In the old edition, the Hans im Glück rules did not forbid the building of multiple identical districts, but the Fantasy Flight Games edition did.
Oct
31
awarded  Good Answer
Oct
9
revised What's the difference between the versions of Cards Against Humanity?
Spelling and format
Oct
9
suggested suggested edit on What's the difference between the versions of Cards Against Humanity?
Oct
2
awarded  Critic
Oct
2
comment When I put the robber on someone in Settlers of Catan, does the resource I take HAVE to be random?
Nobody uses an actual random process? What about dice rolls? :P We always use dice to determine the card taken.
Sep
27
awarded  Commentator
Sep
27
comment Is the zombie lord a zombie?
Well, he can still function, but his life goals have been crushed :P
Sep
27
comment Is the zombie lord a zombie?
The logic behind it is that with no minions to control, the zombie lord is useless.
Sep
27
answered If I am going to build a small ship, which direction should I build toward?
Sep
27
comment Do all the haunts in Betrayal at House on the Hill follow a pattern?
@Pureferret I'll write up a proper answer when I can get to my haunt books and look through the ones I've played for reference :D
Sep
26
comment Do all the haunts in Betrayal at House on the Hill follow a pattern?
This is a little tough to answer without spoilers, but to put it simply, there are a lot of haunts with hero win conditions that are similar to the ones you mentioned, but subtly different, or where the lose condition varies, and some where it doesn't fit your options. The nature of Betrayal is that each haunt does change the rules of the game in a unique manner, and so after basic functionality the program would have to be deal with haunts on a per-case basis.
Sep
26
comment Why couldn't this hand win with ron?
It may sometimes be useful to open your hand as the wall shrinks, even if you won't meet the yaku limit, simply to ensure your hand is in tenpai. This nets you points on an exhaustive draw. A partially open hand in temporary furiten (by passing on a completing tile) can call a meld that would be a duplicate to end the temporary furiten (instead of waiting for a turn to pass). As well as that, some rule sets will provide yaku for "events" rather than hands - for example, winning on the last draw/discard of the round.