Reputation
1,235
Next privilege 1,250 Rep.
Create tag synonyms
Badges
5 12
Newest
 Student
Impact
~12k people reached

6h
comment Triggering “On Cast” Effects When Sacrificing
It was in Magic 2015, which has otherwise (in my experience) done a surprisingly good job of sticking to the rules, so I wasn't sure if I misunderstood.
1d
comment Does Humility affect the graveyard?
If Brightsteel is in play with Humility and dies, at what point does the card regain its ability? Would it go into the graveyard?
1d
comment Can I get an enters-the-battlefield effect out of a second legendary before I must sacrifice it?
So to be clear, one of the legendaries is discarded immediately when checking state-based actions after the abilities go on the stack but before they resolve?
May
22
comment Is “refund with discount” a valid move on Catan?
Except by the rules, you're not giving away anything for free in any single trade, which is what the rules apply to. When agreeing to a deal, players must stick to the terms for that trade. However, players can make long-term, complex agreements, but only the current trade is enforceable by the rules. As such you run the risk of a player turning you down. The specific question in your group to ask is if someone's kingmaking someone else arbitrarily.
May
21
comment Which of two conflicting abilities takes precedence?
Sure thing! This is the best answer I can give from the logic on the current rules, but of course something like this could do with a ruling, and that's that! :) The main change I think is feasible is that they note that multiple separate effects (e.g. looking at the Runner's grip/choosing a card) on a same card can be considered separately when deciding if a card is resolvable or not.
May
21
comment Which of two conflicting abilities takes precedence?
In looking at the FAQ I noticed that "A player cannot trigger an action/ability unless he is also able to resolve it." I'm leaning towards thinking this means the Corp can't look at the Runner's grip on the Runner's turn.
May
21
comment Which of two conflicting abilities takes precedence?
@Zags Interesting question. We know by example that identities can have constant (Harmony Medtech), paid (Jinteki Biotech) and conditional (Exile) abilities. Chronos Protocol doesn't passively modify any properties or do anything constantly; it makes something happen when a certain condition is met, so I read that as a triggered ability. Later text explains that conditional abilities commonly use "when", but not that they must use "when". A conditional triggered ability simply needs a distinct, identifiable condition. It would be nice if cards explicitly identified their abilities, though!
May
18
comment Technically highest 7Wonders score
Or a 3 player game so that cards cycle faster. Science is probably the way to go, with science-based leaders (probably extra symbols), and with Mannekin Pis to the right of the Great Wall so you can double build the spy wonder stage. Babylon (A) to the right for the bonus science symbol. Neighbours build resources and enough science to steal while feeding gold into the main player.
May
14
comment Zombies/Robots, Can you combine they're coming to get you and zapbot?
Also Zombies/Robots is so obscenely powerful anyway :P We had to ban it in our group after 3 players working together couldn't stop the Zombot player over the whole game.
May
11
comment Can a countered spell be targeted?
@Pablo You're right, Essence Backlash has a specific clarification: "Essence Backlash can target a creature spell that can't be countered. If Essence Backlash resolves, it won't counter the spell but it will still deal damage." While Serra Avatar can't be countered, it can still be targeted by abilities that counter spells. Here is a relevant rules tip article.
May
11
comment What are some card in MTG that can change a creature's color?
@murgatroid99 Because then he wouldn't be building a Corrosive Mentor combination deck which alters colours to use a wider variety of base creatures!
May
5
comment Pilgrimage World with Consume 2x action--how many points?
Yeah, the second interpretation is wrong because it's added in a step of taking the VPs and then returning them. The consume ability doesn't say take 1VP for each, then return one; it says take one less than the number. You won't get 7 because you wouldn't have received 8 in the first place.
Apr
29
comment How do I handle a late player for Battlestar Galactica?
Give them Helo and only play one round before they arrive!
Apr
29
comment How can we determine the winner in Love Letter if the last two players tie and have the same value of cards discarded?
Ugh, what a terrible official ruling! I'd much rather just call it a joint victory than have someone win arbitrarily.
Apr
23
comment ACT5 and ACT6 + pay extra spades
Right you are! The FAQ on BGG covers this in general, and a lot of other useful things.
Apr
23
comment ACT5 and ACT6 + pay extra spades
Quick answer: yes (specifically with workers, not by combining multiple spade powers such as the scroll)! I'll write a full answer.
Apr
23
comment Should spiderines be allowed in 'A Dig Too Far?'
I haven't played Underground so I don't know if this is different, but in Small World you can only abandon a region at the start of your turn, not during redeployment. If this was misplayed then it removed the opportunity for the other players to attack the spread-out spiders and reduce their numbers early.
Apr
23
comment Can Breaker Bay Grid be used to reduce cost of other Regions?
Yep, as clarified here: There may be a maximum of one region installed per server (per the text on region cards) and having two or more in a server simultaneously (rezzed or unrezzed) would constitute maintaining an illegal game state.
Jun
11
comment Reaction cards in response to reaction cards
@shujaa I think the main benefit of thinking of it as nesting rather than purely sequential could be illustrated by the same example, but with two market squares in hand. To use both of those market squares in reaction to trashing the same card, you either have to think of it as a branching structure (I play the two market squares at once, then sequentially resolve them one at a time) or a nesting structure ("start silver trashed event" "start playing market square" "resolve market square" "start playing market square" "resolve market square" "end silver trashed event").
Jun
11
comment Is a robber laid a robber played?
In general, the times people will insist mistakes like this are final will be when they're desperate for the win, and see the mistake as an opportunity. Nothing about the game has changed since the robber roll was made - no trading, rolling, new turns, etc, so there's no reason (in a simple and clear case like this one) not to allow a redo.