Reputation
8,414
Next tag badge:
707/1000 score
108/200 answers
Badges
19 51
Newest
 Yearling
Impact
~286k people reached

May
19
comment Can I cast a spell if I might be able to pay its cost but don't know yet?
Before this goes too off-topic/extended: join me in the chat room if you like chat.stackexchange.com/rooms/49/board-and-card-games
May
19
comment Can I cast a spell if I might be able to pay its cost but don't know yet?
@Waterseas Yes, but that's the limited case of doing the same thing over and over again. I meant in the general case, where a player could play a different spell/ability illegally every time.
May
19
comment Can I cast a spell if I might be able to pay its cost but don't know yet?
Good answer, I liked the Selvala citation. Just a clarification though: Casting a spell or activating an ability is considered legal until the opposite is shown, not the other way around as your first statement seems to imply. There is no obligation to "look ahead" and determine whether there is an illegal step before you get to such a point. Of course, if you make it a habit to make illegal plays over and over, you might be punished for slow play or something in high REL, but that's another matter which the CompRules don't care about.
May
19
revised List of blue counterspells that can be played for free?
added 26 characters in body
May
14
reviewed Leave Closed Why does rule 608.2b counter Last Word, when Last Word can't be countered?
May
14
reviewed No Action Needed In Guillotine, do Noble abilities work from the score area?
May
14
comment What happens if you are unable to draw because your library is empty?
The CompRules are known to repeat a lot of rules in several places, nothing unusual about this rule in particular in that sense.
May
13
revised Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?
added 99 characters in body
May
13
comment Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?
Killing an opponent removes all of his/her spells from the stack. That is relevant to multiplayer games.
May
11
revised Is there a card that turns +X/+X into X +1/+1 counters?
deleted 4 characters in body
May
11
answered Is there a card that turns +X/+X into X +1/+1 counters?
May
7
revised Can a countered spell be targeted?
added 464 characters in body
May
7
answered Can a countered spell be targeted?
May
6
awarded  Excavator
May
6
revised What happens when a miracle trigger is copied?
added 6 characters in body
May
6
reviewed Reviewed Proper Sleeves for Android Netrunner
May
6
reviewed No Action Needed Beginner Brass Strategies?
May
6
revised What happens when a miracle trigger is copied?
added info about when the miracle card is returned to hand before 2nd trigger resolution
May
4
comment Why does Cascade exile?
Late comment: I agree with @Affe, if only for the reason that there is a very similar mechanic in Ripple that uses revealed cards instead of exiled: Ripple 4 (When you cast this spell, you may reveal the top four cards of your library. You may cast any revealed cards with the same name as this spell without paying their mana costs. Put the rest on the bottom of your library.)
Apr
21
revised Double Gleam of Authority interaction
edited title