Reputation
7,903
Next tag badge:
656/1000 score
97/200 answers
Badges
17 49
Newest
 Enlightened
Impact
~264k people reached

13h
comment Order of triggered abilties
@Rainbolt Are we going to discuss the style of your comment, or the substance? OP asked about the order of things happening in his scenario. Answering this requires explaining APNAP because two triggers controlled by 2 different players happen at the same time, and I assumed OP's opponent was AP because I believe that's the case in the overwhelming majority where the scenario described by OP would happen. Adding clutter to an answer to satisfy possible but in practice improbable "what if" scenarios does not make for a good answer.
13h
comment Order of triggered abilties
@Rainbolt I'm not sure why you chose to be snide in your comment. To answer your comment, I assumed that OP's opponent was the AP, because in the question nothing indicated otherwise. Furthermore, APNAP would have been relevant either way, because OP would always be the controller of the Aura, and his opponent would always be the controller of the cast creature, no matter who AP is. As I wrote above, in this scenario, for the final outcome it doesn't matter who AP is, only the order on the stack would be affected.
13h
comment Order of triggered abilties
APNAP is also relevant simply because OP controls Illusory Gains while his opponent controls the kicked creature, and they trigger at the same time, when the kicked creature enters the battlefield.
13h
comment Order of triggered abilties
@murgatroid99 As far as I understand it is that which is unclear to OP. OP wonders a) whether the change of control happens first, and b) whether that order makes a difference to the outcome of who gets to target the kicker ability. I demonstrated that the control switch happens first because of APNAP, but also that it doesn't matter for the kicker ability. If the OP's opponent somehow managed to cast his kicked creature during OP's turn, the stack order would be reversed. It still wouldn't change the final outcome, but the order would be different due to APNAP.
14h
comment Order of triggered abilties
@JonTheMon That question is answered here: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/12167/…
17h
comment Does a permanent that was a creature until end of turn remain tapped after it stops being one?
The technical term you're looking for is tapped, not "turned".
20h
comment Order of triggered abilties
What is the name of that enchantment?
2d
comment Why does Mana-Burn exist in Magic: The Gathering?
@Pacerier When a card has a trigger for an event that never happens, that trigger obviously never goes off. But if you are playing with custom cards anyway, then you might as well reinstate mana burn as a house rule.
Jun
25
comment Ways to remove creatures with Shroud
possible duplicate of Does Wrath of God really destroy creatures with shroud? The answers to that question clarify that creatures with Shroud and other protective abilities can still be destroyed by sweeper spells and give examples of what cards are able to do that.
Jun
22
comment How can I ensure the Commander deck I'm creating is appropriate for my group's meta?
@doppelgreener If you know any of them, and one of them actually works well, share it with us! That is exactly the problem with opinion-based questions and answers. It's like asking a group of 100+-year olds how they got that old, and every one of them has their own little secret. Evidently, there is an objective reason why those people got to 100+ years of age, but that doesn't mean their answer is right, let alone that it applies to you.
Jun
22
comment How can I ensure the Commander deck I'm creating is appropriate for my group's meta?
I don't see a way to answer this objectively.
Jun
14
comment How does Spellheart Chimera count Fuse or Split cards?
AFAIK the 2 halves of split cards always have the same type, true. It was a hypothetical anyway.
Jun
12
comment How does Spellheart Chimera count Fuse or Split cards?
You can find the rules here: archive.wizards.com/Magic/tcg/article.aspx?x=magic/rules
Jun
12
comment How does Spellheart Chimera count Fuse or Split cards?
The card has two halves, each with its own mana costs, and you are correct that the mana costs would be added if something asked for its CMC. Hypothetically, if Far//Away had Instant on one half and Sorcery on the other, the whole card would count as as an "Instant Sorcery" card, adding the characteristics together. BUT it is still a single card, and when something such as the Chimera asks about the number of cards with a certain characteristic, not about the characteristic itself, split cards still only count as 1, even if both halves fulfill the condition.
Jun
12
comment How does Spellheart Chimera count Fuse or Split cards?
Far//Away would return "Instant + Instant" when asked about its card type, but it's still a single card and will count as 1 for Chimera.
May
30
comment Is Magic: The Gathering a consistent game?
I wonder how you would go about proving that answer anyway. Some sort of mathematical proof? I will readily admit that that would be beyond my abilities. Barring that, I have to base my answer on my lack of knowledge of counterexamples, and on my experience that the MtG ruleset has constantly been refined since its inception. If you have any idea how to go about proving the ruleset's consistency in a more rigorous way, let me know. If there is no better way, then downvotes (whether or not they're from you) are unwarranted.
May
22
comment Why is 21 damage from a commander lethal?
Is this a rant disguised as a question?
May
19
comment Can I cast a spell if I might be able to pay its cost but don't know yet?
Before this goes too off-topic/extended: join me in the chat room if you like chat.stackexchange.com/rooms/49/board-and-card-games
May
19
comment Can I cast a spell if I might be able to pay its cost but don't know yet?
@Waterseas Yes, but that's the limited case of doing the same thing over and over again. I meant in the general case, where a player could play a different spell/ability illegally every time.
May
19
comment Can I cast a spell if I might be able to pay its cost but don't know yet?
Good answer, I liked the Selvala citation. Just a clarification though: Casting a spell or activating an ability is considered legal until the opposite is shown, not the other way around as your first statement seems to imply. There is no obligation to "look ahead" and determine whether there is an illegal step before you get to such a point. Of course, if you make it a habit to make illegal plays over and over, you might be punished for slow play or something in high REL, but that's another matter which the CompRules don't care about.