Reputation
1,130
Top tag
Next privilege 1,250 Rep.
Create tag synonyms
Badges
10 29
Impact
~45k people reached

Mar
30
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@ghoppe - if everyone has to make it around the board before buying, then yes: it's a very bad house rule. The only way I've seen it used is that buying starts as soon as any player makes it around.
Mar
30
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@Stephen - an average Monopoly game only takes me 90-120 minutes (with 2-4 players). Adding 5 minutes at the front end doesn't really make it "drag on" much longer.
Mar
30
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
What it achieves, theoretically, is more-or-less randomly rebalancing the purchasing ability of players who roll last to not be as likely to have nothing to buy (seems especially common when playing with more than three people, in my experience). The theory is that by waiting until at least one person has made it all the way around the board (which can happen on the first roll if you hit Chance and draw "Advance to Go"), players are distributed evenlyish and property purchases can be more "fair". Personally, I dislike the rule, since the whole point of the game is to own everything.
Jan
13
awarded  Notable Question
Jan
7
comment In Pandemic, at the end of your turn can you discard even when you have fewer than 7 cards, so the Archivist can pick up that card on his next turn?
@bwarner - hence my comment that is the closest you can get to what the OP asks for.
Jan
7
comment In Pandemic, at the end of your turn can you discard even when you have fewer than 7 cards, so the Archivist can pick up that card on his next turn?
@bwarner - the OP asked about whether you could discard a card with fewer than 7 in your hand. This is the closest you can get to that request.
Jan
7
answered In Pandemic, at the end of your turn can you discard even when you have fewer than 7 cards, so the Archivist can pick up that card on his next turn?
Dec
27
awarded  Notable Question
Nov
21
awarded  Popular Question
Nov
13
awarded  Notable Question
Oct
26
awarded  Yearling
Sep
2
comment In Midway, would it make sense for the U.S. player to save his “punch” for the arrival of the Atago on Day 2?
@TomAu - since you can't get all your firepower to bear until then, it's not an unreasonable strategy ... or go "hide" the Atago somewhere else, disguising its location, making it, therefore, very hard to hit
Sep
2
comment In Midway, would it make sense for the U.S. player to save his “punch” for the arrival of the Atago on Day 2?
@TomAu - that presumes you haven't carefully aligned the battle groups and surrounded the Atago better :)
Sep
2
answered In Midway, would it make sense for the U.S. player to save his “punch” for the arrival of the Atago on Day 2?
Sep
2
revised Are there good ways to “handicap” Midway?
corrected ship name
Sep
2
answered Is there any good cure in Midway for Japan's lack of search capabilities?
Aug
27
revised Are there good ways to “handicap” Midway?
spelling
Aug
19
revised Are there good ways to “handicap” Midway?
spelling fix
Aug
19
awarded  Explainer
Aug
19
revised Are there good ways to “handicap” Midway?
formatting, tag