Reputation
3,896
Next privilege 4,000 Rep.
Access 'trusted user' tools
Badges
9 27
Impact
~247k people reached

Apr
22
comment Origin of scores for letters in Scrabble (in relation to their frequency in a langauge)
I'm going to tuck this in comments since it's a link-only note (and self-aggrandizement at that), but you might be interested in this note on Gamasutra about letter frequencies.
Apr
3
comment Kolaghan, The Storm's Fury dragon attacking ability
Also, if you somehow wind up with two copies of Kolaghan in play on your side (say, via Mirror Gallery) then each one's ability will trigger for each attacking dragon, and so (assuming no other dragons are attacking) your creatures will get +4/+0 until EOT.
Apr
2
comment How many cards do I need to make a collected set “draftable?”
This is by no means an answer to the question, but as far as 'without equal' goes, you should definitely spin up some Rise of the Eldrazi drafts sometime too. It's a close match for Innistrad in terms of diversity and ability to go deep. (Arguably Modern Masters was also, but that's a much harder format to practice with...)
Mar
26
comment What's the best strategy to win a tic-tac-toe variant on a 5x5-board?
O can win faster here: let their turn 3 be (1,3) & (2,3); now X has no squares in the first or second rows and whichever one he puts a piece in, O will win on turn 4 in the other.
Mar
26
comment What's the best strategy to win a tic-tac-toe variant on a 5x5-board?
@Guvante In your example, if O just makes their second move at (1,2) and (1,4) they will win by turn 4.
Mar
26
comment What's the best strategy to win a tic-tac-toe variant on a 5x5-board?
@Guvante X's first move is wholly moot to this solution. O just places his first move(s) on any two squares which do not share a row or column with X's first move, and then his second move on two squares which do share either rows or columns with his first move, and which leave three 'open sides' to the rectangle. X has only had two moves at this point.
Mar
26
comment What's the best strategy to win a tic-tac-toe variant on a 5x5-board?
@Guvante Having X play at O2 is exactly equivalent to playing where this answer puts it. In either case, after their second move O has a rectangle with three fully free 'lines', which is all this argument needs to go through..
Feb
25
awarded  Nice Question
Feb
12
comment Does Vorinclex help its controller or its owner?
I think the problem with quotation marks comes down to the fact that the comprehensive rules are (for no good reason I can comprehend) no longer available in text format, so the 'smart' quotes are embedded in the document itself.
Feb
6
answered Is there any strategic reason to skip a turn to untap Time Vault?
Jan
30
comment How can I store all of the cards for my MtG Cube?
FWIW, I presume that when OP mentions 'shoe boxes' they mean the two-row card boxes of comparable dimensions; this is how I've always heard the phrase used.
Jan
24
comment Why Does Magic Use The “Paris Mulligan” Rule?
@doppelgreener I thought that was implicit in the above - one reason (and there are certainly several) is that it's a game-design decision made to balance the power level of different archetypes.
Jan
23
answered Why Does Magic Use The “Paris Mulligan” Rule?
Jan
23
comment Why Does Magic Use The “Paris Mulligan” Rule?
Under Wizards' official no-land/all-land mulligan rules, you only got one mulligan; you couldn't 'legally mulligan over and over'. I can't dig up a copy of the old floor rules ATM, but look at archive.wizards.com/Magic/magazine/article.aspx?x=mtgcom/daily/… for confirmation of this.
Jan
13
comment Does Marchesa and a creature with modular work together?
Also, tiny nitpickery: there are ways for Ravager to die that don't trigger Marchesa. For instance, if your opponent puts Spike Cannibal into play and gets to move the +1/+1 counters from Arcbound Ravager onto it, then the game state will 'see' Ravager dying to a state-based effect as a 0/0 creature, and since it died with zero counters on it (those counters having moved), Marchesa's ability won't return it to play at EOT.
Dec
24
comment Is an Enchantment Creature also an Enchanted Creature?
If the OP misquotes a card and I explain to them why their quote is incorrect and how that incorrect quote has led to an incorrect assumption about the behavior of the card, I feel like my answer has served a useful purpose regardless.
Dec
10
comment Can regenerate save a creature from -X/-X effects?
Not relevant, incidentally, but zero toughness hasn't always been an SBA; there was a while where you could attempt to regenerate from zero toughness (and, as you note, die again). IIRC, problems with Clergy of the Holy Nimbus were one of the primary driving causes for the change.
Dec
8
comment When you “sacrifice 3 creatures” as a cost, are they sacrificed one at a time?
The canonical example where you have to be careful about ordering between 602.1f and 602.1g is Wild Cantor and Chord of Calling; since 602.1f says you have to use mana abilities before paying costs, if you sacrifice Wild Cantor to add a mana to your pool then it won't be available to tap as part of the cost for Chord.
Dec
7
answered Is an Enchantment Creature also an Enchanted Creature?
Dec
7
reviewed Approve Is an Enchantment Creature also an Enchanted Creature?