Reputation
3,896
Next privilege 4,000 Rep.
Access 'trusted user' tools
Badges
9 27
Impact
~248k people reached

May
19
comment Are there 5/5 Beast Token cards?
I'm glad to know I wasn't the only one wondering about this! I was looking for a 5/5 beast token for my cube, and while I suspected there wasn't one I wasn't 100% sure.
May
11
awarded  Citizen Patrol
May
8
comment Could an actual mono black storm (Tendril of agony) deck be viable for Legacy?
Ahhh, that's a fair point. I should probably mention ANT in this answer for completeness' sake; the deck usually really wants its cantrips, but it can certainly ostensibly play without.
May
8
comment Could an actual mono black storm (Tendril of agony) deck be viable for Legacy?
@Cruncher In Legacy? What do you use for a YawgWill effect, or do you even have one?
May
7
answered Could an actual mono black storm (Tendril of agony) deck be viable for Legacy?
May
2
comment Gods have summon sickness?
@Rusher But that's my point exactly: when you say 'all permanents are affected by summoning sickness' it's easy for someone new to the game to infer incorrectly that 'no permanents may tap to activate abilities', since one of the elements of summoning sickness is exactly that.
May
2
comment Gods have summon sickness?
I agree that this is actively confusing; in particular, one aspect of summoning sickness is 'this permanent cannot tap to activate an ability', which is patently false for non-creature permanents.
May
1
comment What's the best way to determine which cards will be banned or not reprinted?
You can virtually guarantee that Sphinx's Revelation will not be reprinted in the next block, and probably not for some time if ever. The only cards that tend to see reprint are 'staple' effects, and that's a card that's both thematic to its block and a complicated card, the sort that's very fungible.
Apr
29
comment What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?
@callahan09 Your bolded section of 601.2c specifically says "if any effects say that an object or player must be chosen as a target", etc. This is not part of the normal process of casting the spell; this specifically refers to effects such as the 'flagbearer' ability on cards like Coalition Honor Guard ( gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=26371 ).
Apr
29
comment What happens when I cast a spell incorrectly?
@callahan09 717.1 seems quite explicit to me: "If a player realizes that he or she can’t legally take an action after starting to do so, the entire action is reversed and any payments already made are canceled". If you've gotten to the point of choosing targets and your chosen target is illegal, then you back up completely and the entire announcement of the spell is undone.
Apr
26
comment MOTO Acronym for MTG Online
In addition to all of this, it's worth noting that the acronym was used to name the original executable; the actual program that was run on players' systems was modo.exe . That's where most folks' exposure to the name came from.
Apr
18
comment What happens to my Athreos triggers when my opponent has an Aegis of the Gods?
(+1 because it's an excellent question, but I have to ask: is this a rhetorical/informational question? Given the Magic rules knowledge you've displayed in the past, I would think you'd know the answer to this one...)
Apr
15
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
To be fair, I think the priority issue is part of the question; while the opponent can't back out of the casting of Devour Flesh, the question contains the implicit and false assumption that there's any reason for them to do so.
Apr
15
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
...and if not (that is, if you had something that you wanted to add to the stack), the game state should be rewound to before Devour Flesh was cast, and your opponent will be able to 'back out'.
Apr
15
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
I think it's worth emphasizing that there really are two distinct questions here: can your opponent back out of casting Devour Flesh, and has their Bile Blight resolved (i.e., will you have to sacrifice your Firefist Striker). I agree that ikegami's answer makes the former clear, but these comments should emphasize that even at Competitive REL the latter is also true; your opponent gave you time to respond, you didn't explicitly do so, and while he should have asked 'resolves?' for explicit confirmation, the shortcut rules mean that the spell will have resolved...
Apr
10
comment Do Gild's Gold tokens go into play under the caster's control?
(And while I know you two both know it, of course the controller of the spell could be swapped on the stack by, e.g., Perplexing Chimera; so 'when it resolves' is still necessary text.)
Apr
2
comment What happens when I copy Precursor Golem with Rite of Replication?
To clarify: what you're claiming/asking is essentially that the Golem's triggered ability determines which Golems the spell is copied to on placing the ability on the stack, rather than on resolution of the triggered ability? The document never claims that the Golem's ability needs targets; the Golem's ability is still a triggered ability.
Mar
29
awarded  Popular Question
Mar
28
comment Mono-Green Deck: Responding to Sorceries/Instants?
@Pow-Ian That does little good vs. either removal or counterspells, though. (It does hit the discard, and generally the mill)
Mar
14
comment Ensnaring Bridge and Cranial Plating
Also, the other half of the 'why this works': since the creature has already been declared as an attacker and correctly met the conditions needed to attack at that time (508.1c in the comprehensive rules), it has been declared as an attacker already, and suddenly failing to meet the conditions doesn't remove it from combat. (506.4 and 506.4a)