3,686 reputation
925
bio website
location Seattle, WA
age 44
visits member for 3 years
seen 10 hours ago

Software engineer and long-time dabbler in mathematics; 11th in the Putnams forever ago but I've long since atrophied.


Mar
12
comment Small World: Why does it use 3-point coins?
I'm a little surprised that you don't think of a player's score as public information. This is a lot more broadly philosophical - it's hardly applicable to just Small World - but for any game where every scoring action is visible to all players, I think not providing current scores when asked just adds an extraneous element of memory-dependence to the game that's not really aligned with the gameplay skills that the game should be testing.
Mar
9
comment If a creature with an effect is destroyed by blocking do other attacking creatures lose the effect?
Also, this answer only works if the Shaman is killed by the combat damage itself; if your opponent simply blocks it and kills it with, e.g., Divine Verdict or the like, then it's out of play well before your remaining minotaurs deal damage.
Mar
4
comment If a Creature-Planeswalker blocks a creature with infect, what happens?
I would just delete the last paragraph outright, honestly - it IMHO just heightens the confusion by even being mentioned.
Mar
4
comment What game are these cards from?
(The guys themselves, of course, are from Bleach: Ulquiorra, Byakuya, Ichigo, Gin and Grimmjow )
Feb
28
comment Nightveil Specter - Do I have to play them in order they were exiled?
(I think you mean 'as long as Nightveil Specter hasn't left the battlefield since it exiled the cards' in your last sentence.)
Feb
23
comment Show and Tell and permanents that target other permanents
(Briefly: Drake's ability will go on the stack first, since its controller is the active player; Angel's ability will thus resolve first, destroying Gilded Drake. Since Gilded Drake no longer exists, an exchange can't be made (section 701.8a of the comprehensive rules) and so Nothing Happens.)
Feb
23
comment Show and Tell and permanents that target other permanents
One interesting finesse to this answer: because of the way exchange effects work, if you manage to play Show and Tell on your opponent's turn and they put in Gilded Drake to your Angel of Despair, you can blow up the Drake and keep your Angel.
Feb
23
answered show and tell, gilded drake and primeval titan
Feb
20
comment What exactly was so broken about Urza's Block?
Earthcraft's banning was less about the summoning-sickness issues and more about specific infinite combos with Fertile Ground/Horseshoe Crab and Recurring Nightmare/Workhorse/Overgrowth, which - as convoluted as it sounds - was much more consistent in the underpowered environment of the time, especially stapled into a 'standard' Recurring Nightmare/Survival of the Fittest engine. Earthcraft was deemed (justifiably!) an enabler and got tarred with the same brush.
Feb
14
comment How do Mistform Dreamer and Conspiracy interact?
@JacobLund This is true of the original version, because when MU was printed Wall did still have a rules meaning. The official wording of MU, though, is the one that's seen on the timeshifted reprint in Time Spiral (gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/…) and you can see that it doesn't include that text. In general, I heartily encourage checking Gatherer for the current wording of any card (the so-called Oracle wording: see boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/6349 ) whenever you have a question about how that card works.
Feb
14
comment Will suspend foil a “Cheesy” victory?
@John Yes, but note what you said yourself: Beasts of Bogardan had to be explicitly errata'd to say 'controls a white permanent' simply because 'permanent' and 'card' reference different things. A card that hasn't had any errata applied to it (and TCSA is such a card) will play as printed, and the printed version of TCSA specifically talks about cards. Whether that meant something different at the time or not is moot, because that is still the current wording of the card.
Feb
14
answered How do Mistform Dreamer and Conspiracy interact?
Feb
2
reviewed Reject suggested edit on What are the names for Magic's different colour combinations?
Jan
29
comment What happens if both players have the ability to pump their creature an unlimited number of times?
I'm not saying that 'fragmented loop' doesn't define the concept; I'm saying that the rule specifically speaks to 'the same game state being reached multiple times' and having a different P/T on a creature than previously seems clearly to be a different game state. Their example even calls this out, where the result after a loop is explicitly the same (nothing about the game is different, other than 'an ability has been activated').
Jan
29
comment What happens if both players have the ability to pump their creature an unlimited number of times?
@JoeW The problem is that while 'Game State' doesn't actually have a formal definition within the comprehensive rules (!), it surely must include things like the power/toughness of creatures. For instance, imagine a card that read 'creatures with power greater than 100 have Trample'. This card wants to know exactly what the P/T of every creature in play is, and so pumping a creature must yield a distinct game state.
Jan
29
comment What happens if both players have the ability to pump their creature an unlimited number of times?
I'm not sure this is actually applicable here - specifically, the same game state is not being reached (as the power/toughness of the relevant creatures has changed). It's not clear to me that the rules actually handle this situation cleanly, though I presume the resolution would look something like this.
Jan
23
comment What is the original purpose of Bazaar of Baghdad?
Mostly what I was going to say, but I would go further: I don't think this card was 'designed for anything' in the sense that we now know the term at all. Magic design was in its true dark-ages infancy, and plenty of cards were crafted from a pure-flavor perspective without any sense whatsoever as to how they would help a player. Bazaar, I strongly suspect, was one of these.
Jan
22
comment What happened with Chronicles?
To be fair, Nicol Bolas also suffers from being somewhat impractically costed (particularly the upkeep cost, which makes him an impossible reanimator target); I think without Chronicles (and, keep in mind, the black-bordered Time Spiral reprint!) he'd be more valuable than he is now, but nowhere near $70 or so; probably $30-$35.
Jan
21
revised Creatures with Tribute and targeting
Added some relevant rules quotes
Jan
21
comment Creatures with Tribute and targeting
@Jefromi Yes and no - it's possible that things could work differently than expected, but 'as this enters the battlefield' is standardized rules templating; I believe that section 614 of the comprehensive rules (and in particular, 614.12a) is the relevant rules sections for this, and I'll make that clearer in the question.