3,586 reputation
821
bio website
location Seattle, WA
age 44
visits member for 2 years, 9 months
seen 2 hours ago

Software engineer and long-time dabbler in mathematics; 11th in the Putnams forever ago but I've long since atrophied.


Feb
21
comment Multiple blockers with first strike
This answer is completely wrong on all counts except that the attacker chooses how to order blockers. It doesn't go 'first strike then normal combat per creature' - all creatures with first strike damage deal their combat damage, and then all creatures without first strike deal theirs. (See rule 510.5) Furthermore, the 6/6 is never a 6/3, despite what Duels of the Planeswalkers tells you - it's a 6/6 with 3 damage on it. (This can matter for effects that check a creature's toughness)
Feb
19
awarded  Enthusiast
Feb
17
comment Can I use a card with “Add one mana of any color to your mana pool” in any Elder Dragon Highlander (EDH) deck?
In addition to the discussion of 'any color' below, I thought I'd point out that color identity only means mana symbols and not necessarily land names - so for instance, Verdant Catacombs is legal for your Animar deck because it doesn't provide black mana, it just has the phrase 'search for a swamp card'...
Feb
17
comment What was the largest flop in board game history?
@thesunneversets Saying that 'Sales did not compare to those of M:tG' isn't a sign that the game didn't meet expectations; it's just a sign that the game wasn't Magic. The game had an expansion, stayed in print for a couple of years and maintained enough of a cult following to get a license rescue - that's much, much more than can be said for most CCGs. Netrunner wasn't even as much of a 'flop' as several Magic sets were.
Feb
13
awarded  magic-the-gathering
Feb
12
comment Does 'shuffle your library' mandate that the cards actually change order?
This would be covered more by the Floor Rules than by the comp. rules - and according to the floor rules, I'm reasonably certain you couldn't use a non-judge proxy to handle the shuffling of your deck. If it's not too impertinent, what prompted this question in the first place? (Insert the standard blurb about 'practical, answerable questions based on actual problems that you face.' here...)
Feb
12
comment If Realmwright is removed from the battlefield, do the changed lands remain dual colored?
The text 'Lands you control are the chosen type in addition to their other types' is the static ability text. It's a static ability 'by default': because it doesn't use the phrase 'when', it isn't a triggered ability; because it doesn't have the colon it's not an activated ability; and abilities that last 'forever' (i.e., that aren't tied to a permanent being in the appropriate zone) are (generally) expressed with emblems now. For more information on how to identify abilities, I suggest reading the rest of section 112 in the comprehensive rules.
Feb
12
answered If Realmwright is removed from the battlefield, do the changed lands remain dual colored?
Feb
5
comment Does Fateful Hour apply in this combat?
+1 now from me!
Feb
1
revised Cribbage pone strategy for hands involving a run and a pair
corrected the analysis
Feb
1
answered Cribbage pone strategy for hands involving a run and a pair
Jan
31
comment What happens when the {X} in Mind Grind *is* zero?
Excellent answer - +1 for the rules quotes.
Jan
31
answered What happens when the {X} in Mind Grind *is* zero?
Jan
30
comment Is this card worded correctly and balanced?
@Lord_Gareth The thing is that the corner cases of 'can blocked even if tapped by external factors' are so small that it's simply not worth the additional complexity over simply declaring it with Vigilance in the first place. Your comparison to Nightguard Patrol is an apt one, but that's also a point - you've made it harder to cast and given it a drawback in the process. I would agree with corsiKa's first suggestion (First strike, Vigilance, must attack, must block, one mana cheaper); I think it perfectly captures the flavor.
Jan
30
comment Are multicolor decks in any color combination viable in modern Magic?
@AlexP It was on my mind, but I didn't see any good Flash decks in the couple of standard tournaments I looked at. :-)
Jan
30
comment What to keep in mind when copying a small card game?
If you have any legal concerns about what you're doing, I would actually recommend not sending the manufacturers money - it could easily be interpreted as an acknowledgement that you know what you're doing is in the legal wrong.
Jan
30
answered Are multicolor decks in any color combination viable in modern Magic?
Jan
30
comment Are multicolor decks in any color combination viable in modern Magic?
Has it ever been the case that building a deck of more than one color was hard? The original base set had a full suite of 10 dual lands, and every core set and every large set since then has had at least some version of a 2 (or more) color land cycle. The original 'competitive' Magic deck, "The Deck", was three colors (blue plus white plus Mind Twist); the first World Championships pitted a U/W/g Stasis deck vs. a 4-color Zoo deck.
Jan
30
comment Does the fact that my deck is aggro mean I should add or remove land?
@user1873 It wouldn't hurt, but I think the principles apply regardless of format (though in limited it's mostly just the distinction between playing, e.g., 16 lands and 18, not nearly the variance of other formats).
Jan
30
answered Does the fact that my deck is aggro mean I should add or remove land?