Reputation
13,310
Next tag badge:
100/100 score
11/20 answers
Badges
1 24 55
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~138k people reached

2d
comment Can I shortcut a loop with conditional actions?
@Guvante, Note that the OP specifies Darksteel Forge in play to avoid this issue. However, I believe that the answer should be the same either way; it's just the difference between needing about 2 million flips, and needing somewhere around 2^1000000 flips.
2d
comment Can I shortcut a loop with conditional actions?
@Guvante I believe that's the number of expected failures before you hit your goal, but each failure will take between 1 and 999,999 coin flips. Also, it's hard to define "expected" number here; a good question to ask would be how many flips you would need until you have more than a 50% chance of having hit your goal.
2d
comment Can I shortcut a loop with conditional actions?
I think the question is worth considering without Darksteel Forge in play also. In this case, to get to a million Wireflies, you need some insanely huge number of iterations (some number with a few hundred thousand digits in it approximately). But given infinite time; you could still do it.
2d
comment Can I shortcut a loop with conditional actions?
"Conditional actions" seems to be defined by the next few words: "where the outcome of a game event determines the next action a player takes. " In this case, the outcome of the game event does NOT determine the next action a player takes.
May
17
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
Or Tavern Swindler. (Ok, that one is a bad example because you would be on average gaining 3 life every turn, so the other combo won't ever kill you)
May
17
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
Wirefly Hive could work as an example. Every turn, in response to Time Stop being cast, you could flip a coin to possibly create a new Wirefly; or to destroy your Wireflies. Neither result can help end the combo, but you are certainly changing the gamestate with every flip.
May
17
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
So if the opponent had something like Mana Screw in play (or some legal card that he can tap for a coin flip; even if the result of the flip wouldn't matter), could he say it needs to be played out because the flip result is part of the game state?
May
17
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
His opponent could cast shock during upkeep, in response to Time Stop, but he would need to have a combo-ending card in hand or on the battlefield. In that case he can reject the shortcut and instead end the combo.
May
17
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
@durron597 Upkeep step happens before draw step; he activates the end turn during upkeep; so draw never happens. And no, players do not get priority during cleanup. The do at the end of turn step, which is before cleanup and skipped by Time Stop.
May
15
comment Will spells that exile enchantments also exile enchantment artifacts?
Oh, thanks, missed the word "basic" in your post.
May
14
comment Will spells that exile enchantments also exile enchantment artifacts?
If that rule is not in the latest rules, then is there a rule somewhere that still explains the same thing? Such a rule would be necessary wouldn't it?
May
14
comment Scion of the Ur-Dragon and Grave Pact
Also worth noting that even without "dies" / "from the battlefield", a creature card in your library is not "a creature you control."
May
13
comment Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?
@murgatroid99 Thanks; found it in rule 114.4.
May
13
comment Can uncounterable spells still be countered somehow?
Why aren't you able to change Last Word's target to itself?
May
11
comment Is there a card that turns +X/+X into X +1/+1 counters?
I don't know, but if there is it would be extremely powerful, so it would have to cost a LOT.
May
10
comment Does a bestow creature falling off trigger Impact Tremors?
@Jefromi It looks to me like there are 2 separate questions being asked. 1) Will the dash mechanic cause a bestowed aura to become a creature? And 2) Will a bestowed aura becoming a creature trigger ETB effects? Only the second is a duplicate; the first is unanswered.
May
10
comment What is the card type Phenomenon and Ongoing?
A quick Google search for "mtg ongoing" and "mtg phenomenon" gives an easy answer.
May
7
reviewed Approve Why are the port arrangements in Better Settlers not like the arrangements in my game?
May
3
comment Is bribing off the robber a good addition to Settlers of Catan?
This does not answer the question being asked; as such it will likely be removed.
May
1
comment Can Bloodrush satisfy a forced discard?
Now if there were a generalized question asking about any type of cost; then all these questions could be a duplicate of that one.