Reputation
16,865
Next tag badge:
123/100 score
13/20 answers
Badges
1 34 70
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~245k people reached

2d
comment Scion of the Ur-Dragon and Leyline of the Void
Wow I would have gotten this one wrong. Is there another rule that makes it clear that you can still refer to "that card" in order to copy it? In Dominion rules for example, "that card" would be interpreted as "the card you put it your graveyard", which wouldn't exist in this case.
Feb
6
awarded  Nice Answer
Feb
5
comment Is there any difference between double strike and oubleday ikestray?
-1. Questions about joke cards don't mean the answer should be a joke answer. Answering using Pig Latin is clearly a form of a joke. On a regular forum I would be upvoting this highly; but not on SE.
Feb
4
answered Losing points for partially completed destination tickets in Ticket to Ride
Jan
28
revised Can Turn to Frog prevent 'enter the battlefield' abilities?
deleted 1455 characters in body
Jan
28
comment Can Turn to Frog prevent 'enter the battlefield' abilities?
The current situation here isn't good... the accepted answer has little to do with the current question.
Jan
28
revised Can Turn to Frog prevent 'enter the battlefield' abilities?
added 6 characters in body
Jan
28
revised What is the difference between Owning and Controlling an object on the Battlefield?
deleted 158 characters in body
Jan
28
comment Can I sacrifice the same creature twice?
@jefromi It appears he uses "target" twice. The first time I believe he means targeting Vampire Hexmage with its own ability, which is correct.. But the. He does refer to plaguemaster losing a valid target, which as you point out is wrong.
Jan
28
comment Can I sacrifice the same creature twice?
Though I at first read it as him using target incorrectly also.
Jan
28
comment Can I sacrifice the same creature twice?
@jefromi Hexmage's ability targets. It sounds like that's what he means.
Jan
28
comment Can I sacrifice the same creature twice?
You are right that it is on the stack when you pay the costs. But it hasn't been activated yet. And saying that it fails to resolve implies that it gets countered or something similar.
Jan
28
comment Can I sacrifice the same creature twice?
602.2b says that 601.2 applies. "601.2i Once the steps described in 601.2a–h are completed, the spell becomes cast." Same for abilities. The ability is not activated until all steps are completed. You cannot activate an ability without paying its costs.
Jan
28
comment Can I sacrifice the same creature twice?
"If you fail to be able to pay the cost, the ability will fail to resolve" is misleading. If you don't pay the cost, the ability will never be activated at all.
Jan
27
comment What is the “En passant” rule in chess?
This answer doesn't provide anything useful that the already old and accepted answer does; and how it makes sense thematically is not relevant to the rules question.
Jan
27
comment Can I use one spell multiple times
@Rainbolt I think you misunderstood me (and Hackworth)... I never said that the rules specifically forbid casting a spell twice, or that you are wrong for saying that the rules are permissive, not restrictive. What I was saying is that this particular answer isn't helpful to the OP, who appears to be not familiar with the basic rules.
Jan
27
comment Can I use one spell multiple times
@Rainbolt That doesn't address the issue. If the OP doesn't appear to be someone who read the rules and then is asking about something he couldn't find in the rules. He doesn't appear to have knowledge of things like the rules saying you can cast a spell or how you do that.
Jan
26
comment Canasta rules for melding and picking up pile
I've updated my answer to include that last bit.
Jan
26
revised Canasta rules for melding and picking up pile
added 298 characters in body
Jan
26
comment Canasta rules for melding and picking up pile
@Bobbie I also thought that there was a rule against having more wilds than naturals, but I couldn't find such a rule; perhaps it's a common house rule. But either way, the meld includes the card from the top of the discard, which is why you can pick it up with nothing but 2 matching cards in your hand (even though that wouldn't be legal unless you include the card from the top of the discard). So it doesn't matter what the Meld looks like before you include the top of the discard.