6,822 reputation
11341
bio website n/a
location Raleigh, NC
age 31
visits member for 2 years, 4 months
seen 7 hours ago

Jun
26
answered Forests you control vs Forests in play
Jun
25
comment In Pandemic, when does the discard-over-7-cards rule take effect?
@warren, I'm not sure what part of the question you feel remains unanswered by my answer. The answer is "immediately."
Jun
25
answered In Pandemic, when does the discard-over-7-cards rule take effect?
Jun
23
comment Correct use of Bonus cards in Terra Mystica
Note that any time a play passes, and is choosing a new bonus card, they will always have 3 to pick from, as the rest will be in the hands of other players.
Jun
22
comment Munchkin Booty: is there a time limit for “Not so fast me bucko”
With pretty much any card game I'm familiar with, such a wording would mean that it is played before any other action takes place, not anything to do with actual time. You should be able to say "wait a minute" to let the other player know that you are considering doing something before they do anything else.
Jun
22
comment Do MTG Core sets contain new (never before seen) cards? How does this compare with expansion sets?
Are you wanting to play specific formats, such as Standard? This is necessary info, because the formats you are interested in will affect the sets of cards you'll need to buy.
Jun
20
comment What's the name of the theory that the player with the most options has the advantage?
Indeed, if we don't assume optimal play, then the result could easily be the exact opposite! Player B only has access to option X, and Player A has option X and another, worse option. Player B is in the better position.
Jun
15
comment Will Yixlid Jailer negate Snapcaster Mage's flashback-giving ability?
He didn't say which entered the battlefield first, so you might want to mention more specifically about how the order matters. If Yixlid Jailer enters after Snapcaster, then the card will lose Flashback.
Jun
15
answered Sorry! Move past safety zone or forfeit turn?
Jun
15
awarded  Fanatic
Jun
13
comment Are expansion sets in magic designed for use with specific deck archetypes?
@Rusher It sounds like you may be misreading his question a bit. He's not asking "will my red aggro deck still be competitive when the next set is released?" He's asking if different MTG sets tend to be designed to favor some deck types over others; which is a question that can be objectively answered.
Jun
10
comment Abilities that need a name and unnamed tokens
@JakeP There are several formats for which a new card named "Spirit" would be legal in the same format as an existing card that has you name a card.
Jun
10
comment Which is authoritative: Ban List or Gatherer?
@ikegami; I find that to be a very unconvincing argument. I could go and put "This is the official page for MTG Commander rules" on my personal website right now; that wouldn't make it true. Also, Gatherer is the official webpage for MTG Oracle wording, which means that players will give a lot of weight to what it says on anything about MTG.
Jun
10
answered When playing Phase 10 with 2 or more players, how do we conclude the hand?
Jun
9
comment Abilities that need a name and unnamed tokens
@Cruncher I'm a big fan of Dominion, where the rules make it clear that you can choose to name "Ace of Diamonds" if you need to name a card.
Jun
9
comment Cards entering the battlefield simultaneously and “Enter the Battlefield” effects
Your answer does assume something he didn't say. You said his opponent was incorrect, but that would only be true if something you assumed was true (that there were no other mountains on the battlefield).
Jun
7
comment Cards entering the battlefield simultaneously and “Enter the Battlefield” effects
@Rusher That one is similar; I linked it in my answer. But I don't think it's quite a duplicate.
Jun
7
comment Cards entering the battlefield simultaneously and “Enter the Battlefield” effects
He just said that he brought in 7 lands with Scapeshift; he never said that there were no other Mountains still on the battlefield that weren't sacrificed by Scapeshift.
Jun
7
comment Abilities that need a name and unnamed tokens
This is a very interesting / weird thing about MTG rules... these particular 2 cards can't work together, but if in the next set they created a card named "Spirit", suddenly this combo could work; even though it doesn't make much sense that it should have that effect.
Jun
6
answered Can I activate the tap ability of a creature summoned last turn before I have to remove it to my hand?