12,704 reputation
12454
bio website n/a
location Raleigh, NC
age 32
visits member for 3 years
seen 12 hours ago

Mar
23
comment Settlers Of Catan 5-6 Expansion
It's not clear what you are asking... if you want to play with 4 people, you just wouldn't be using any of the things that came with the 5-6 player expansion. Are you aware that the expansion is no good on it's own; you still need the main set as well?
Mar
20
comment Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?
@Kevin I was actually just thinking the same thing, but I'm not sure how much it would help. I don't think it's very likely that a new user coming to ask a question like this would happen to find that other question first.
Mar
20
comment How do Aether Rift and Library of Leng interact?
Ah, interesting. Makes sense; I wouldn't have thought of that though!
Mar
20
comment How do Aether Rift and Library of Leng interact?
"Aether Rift's ability doesn't apply since a creature card was never discarded." This isn't correct. It specifically says that the card is still discarded. Which means that players will still have an opportunity to pay 5 life. But if they don't pay the life, then the card will fail to return to the battlefield because it is not in the graveyard.
Mar
18
comment What is the name of the game where you bid for a hand in descreasing numbers?
Note that this is also called "Up and Down the River."
Mar
15
comment Does Battlefield Forge add two mana to your pool each time it is tapped?
I believe your second question is answered by the other question you asked; mana is there until it is spent or until the end of the step/phase. The tapped status of the land has nothing to do with it.
Mar
13
comment When a permanent is being made to copy another, does it count as entering the battlefield?
Upvoted because redundant or not; answers with rules quotes are better.
Mar
13
comment When a permanent is being made to copy another, does it count as entering the battlefield?
That is a fair point; I'm just trying to put myself in the place of someone who doesn't understand all the details of the rules. I actually think that 603.6a the rule that makes 706.4 redundant... 603.6a is needed to explain that what matters is the permanent entering the battlefield; NOT "Hamletback Goliath" entering the battlefield.
Mar
13
comment When a permanent is being made to copy another, does it count as entering the battlefield?
I think the rule is needed. Or at least, you need the rule explaining when "enters the battlefield" triggers trigger. Because the confusion comes from the fact that even though "the object" was on the battlefield before, "Hamletback Goliath" was not. So without rules saying otherwise, it's just as logical to say "Hamletback Goliath was not on the battlefield before, but now it is."
Mar
10
comment Do card abilities that grant mana stack?
In the game rules, it is the same as having 2 separate tap abilities. But the question is about cards that grant abilities, NOT about cards that have abilities. The other question doesn't at all address the idea of being granted the same ability multiple times. It is not clear at all that the OP already knows that being granted the same ability multiple times will result in the same thing as simply having 2 separate tap abilities.
Mar
10
comment Do card abilities that grant mana stack?
i do not think this is a duplicate of either of those. Although the actual rule is that the cards end up with 2 separate tap abilities, it is not clear that the OP knows this. His question is not about a card with 2 separated tap abilities, but about having multiple cards that grant the same ability.
Mar
9
comment Can Road Building Progress Card be played with only 1 road remaining?
You definitely cannot build a settlement in the middle, see here: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/23143/….
Mar
9
comment Monopoly millionaire mortgaging of a property to pay for another property
I just read through the relevant rules a couple times; and I think it's ambiguous/not clear.
Mar
8
comment In Backgammon, why is the match length almost always odd? And why are 9-point matches twelve times less popular than 7-point matches?
Maybe this is some Backgammon terminology that I don't know, but is the "matchlength" the number of games per match? If so, then an odd number seems obvious; because with an even number, you could end with a tie. 9 and 11 would be less common simply because that's a large number of games to play.
Mar
4
comment Best opening moves and tricks for invented 2-player board game: Pathways
I also recommend reading about the strategy-stealing argument. It shows why in a game like yours, the second player can never win unless the first player allows it through a mistake: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strategy-stealing_argument
Mar
4
comment Best opening moves and tricks for invented 2-player board game: Pathways
Are you familiar with Hex? en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hex_%28board_game%29
Mar
3
comment Are tribal spells with changeling considered creature spells?
Changeling isn't a creature type, is it? It's a keyword that grants all creature types.
Mar
3
comment If a Hero makes a Speed/Sanity/other non-Might attack, when does the Traitor reveal that the target lacks that trait and can't be attacked that way?
Right, I believe that the traitor should only be forced to answer which traits exist at the moment when it becomes a question of if a particular action is allowed by the rules or not. So the heroes would have to decide whether to enter the room with the monster without knowing if it has sanity.
Mar
2
comment Betrayal at House on the Hill - “Voodoo” (Haunt 25) - Do you continue if the traitor dies?
This rule doesn't say that the the game can't continue if there are no monsters. (It doesn't say "if, and only if"). It is just meant to point out that a dead traitor doesn't automatically mean that the heroes win.
Feb
26
comment Can I respond to a draw from Gitaxan probe?
I do not agree that this is a duplicate. Without more clarification, it doesn't sound to me like he is asking literally about responding while a spell is resolving; but rather that he poorly chose that wording without knowing the proper terminology. If it just said "cast" instead of "resolve", then it would have nothing to do with that other question, and would be answered by the answers here.