704 reputation
48
bio website
location
age
visits member for 2 years, 5 months
seen 2 hours ago

Apr
20
awarded  Yearling
Apr
18
awarded  Enlightened
Apr
18
awarded  Nice Answer
Feb
5
comment Floodtide Serpent and Can't Attack Enchantments
Obviously Krasis Incubation is also a restriction, it says so explictly in 508.1c ("effects that say a creature can't attack, or that it can't attack unless some condition is met")...
Feb
5
comment Floodtide Serpent and Can't Attack Enchantments
@John, I disagree. A restriction needs a condition, which is a (true or false) statement about the game state. Floodtide Serpent has "unless [action]" which must be interpreted as a cost for the rules to make sense. So "unless [condition]" is a restriction, but "unless [cost]" is a cost.
Feb
5
comment Floodtide Serpent and Can't Attack Enchantments
I think you are incorrect in describing Floodtide Serpent as a restriction. From general context (i.e. clearly it is meant that Floodtide Serpent can attack when not enchanted by Krasis intubation) and from the reminder text ("The cost is paid..."), the intention is clearly that the text on Floodtide Serpent represents a cost that is handled by 508g-i.
Dec
19
comment Does Progenitor Mimic create copies of itself even when it isn't a creature?
@ikegami Nice find!
Dec
18
comment Does Progenitor Mimic create copies of itself even when it isn't a creature?
I think this is the correct ruling, but it doesn't seem to me that rule 608.2i applies. The if-statement in the triggered ability is checked when the triggered ability would trigger (rule 603.4). At this point, the object has not "been previously referred to", imo. So the question becomes whether "this creature" on a non-creature permanent still refers to the permanent in general. I can't find anything in the comprehensive rules about this, but it seems in line with e.g. the ruling for undying, that it triggers even for non-creatures (wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Undying).
Oct
14
awarded  Civic Duty
Oct
8
answered What happens to a spell if an oppenent runs out of mana while casting it?
Aug
7
comment In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?
@Rawrgramming As I understand it, it is inverted. The rule still is that if both players pass, the top item of the stack resolves. It mostly matters with spells/abilities that copy spells on the stack; you can not wait to see if the opponent responds before using such abilities. As David_Z says, in the normal case you just pass this priority. In fact, in the Magic online game, the default setting is to always pass prio after casting a spell, unless ctrl is held when casting.
Aug
6
comment In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?
Minor nitpick, prompted by the previous comments: Note that the answer is incorrect for casting multiple spells; it says the Active player gets priority after the spell is put on the stack, but according to 601.2h, the player casting the spell retains priority.
Aug
2
answered Where can I learn to draft online?
Jul
29
comment What is the safest way to approach discussing a prize split?
That would be my interpretation also. I'm not sure how common such prizes are in sanctioned events though.
Jul
29
answered What is the safest way to approach discussing a prize split?
Jul
26
answered When would I use Leyline Phantom?
Jul
23
awarded  Custodian
Jul
23
reviewed Excellent Can abilities with a [Click] cost be used during a run?
Jul
23
reviewed Excellent When should I mulligan in Android: Netrunner?
Jul
16
comment If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?
@user1873 I'll admit to not being a magic rules expert, but it still seems strange to me. Maybe action has some special technical meaning here, but otherwise, I'd expect dealing damage to be an action. If it had been e.g. "then you gain life equal to the total power of those creatures", it would make more sense to me to use LKI.(Although I still would probably have got it wrong before this discussion :))