704 reputation
48
bio website
location
age
visits member for 2 years, 5 months
seen 8 hours ago

Feb
5
comment Floodtide Serpent and Can't Attack Enchantments
Obviously Krasis Incubation is also a restriction, it says so explictly in 508.1c ("effects that say a creature can't attack, or that it can't attack unless some condition is met")...
Feb
5
comment Floodtide Serpent and Can't Attack Enchantments
@John, I disagree. A restriction needs a condition, which is a (true or false) statement about the game state. Floodtide Serpent has "unless [action]" which must be interpreted as a cost for the rules to make sense. So "unless [condition]" is a restriction, but "unless [cost]" is a cost.
Feb
5
comment Floodtide Serpent and Can't Attack Enchantments
I think you are incorrect in describing Floodtide Serpent as a restriction. From general context (i.e. clearly it is meant that Floodtide Serpent can attack when not enchanted by Krasis intubation) and from the reminder text ("The cost is paid..."), the intention is clearly that the text on Floodtide Serpent represents a cost that is handled by 508g-i.
Dec
19
comment Does Progenitor Mimic create copies of itself even when it isn't a creature?
@ikegami Nice find!
Dec
18
comment Does Progenitor Mimic create copies of itself even when it isn't a creature?
I think this is the correct ruling, but it doesn't seem to me that rule 608.2i applies. The if-statement in the triggered ability is checked when the triggered ability would trigger (rule 603.4). At this point, the object has not "been previously referred to", imo. So the question becomes whether "this creature" on a non-creature permanent still refers to the permanent in general. I can't find anything in the comprehensive rules about this, but it seems in line with e.g. the ruling for undying, that it triggers even for non-creatures (wiki.mtgsalvation.com/article/Undying).
Aug
7
comment In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?
@Rawrgramming As I understand it, it is inverted. The rule still is that if both players pass, the top item of the stack resolves. It mostly matters with spells/abilities that copy spells on the stack; you can not wait to see if the opponent responds before using such abilities. As David_Z says, in the normal case you just pass this priority. In fact, in the Magic online game, the default setting is to always pass prio after casting a spell, unless ctrl is held when casting.
Aug
6
comment In plain English, how does casting spells and using creature abilities work with the stack and priority?
Minor nitpick, prompted by the previous comments: Note that the answer is incorrect for casting multiple spells; it says the Active player gets priority after the spell is put on the stack, but according to 601.2h, the player casting the spell retains priority.
Jul
29
comment What is the safest way to approach discussing a prize split?
That would be my interpretation also. I'm not sure how common such prizes are in sanctioned events though.
Jul
16
comment If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?
@user1873 I'll admit to not being a magic rules expert, but it still seems strange to me. Maybe action has some special technical meaning here, but otherwise, I'd expect dealing damage to be an action. If it had been e.g. "then you gain life equal to the total power of those creatures", it would make more sense to me to use LKI.(Although I still would probably have got it wrong before this discussion :))
Jul
16
comment If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?
@user1873 are you sure about that? I would interpret the quoted text to mean that that part of the ability can't "make that target perform any actions".
Mar
7
comment If I lose control of an equipped creature, does the equipment stay attached to it?
This answer is incorrect.The ruling refers to "control of" auras or Equipments. The Aura or Equipment is still attached to the creature, but is controlled by the other player.
Jan
14
comment How to Measure Luck vs Skill in Games?
@tttppp, yes, but that means the skill value is defined in terms of the probability to win, meaning that a statement such as "A game is more luck based if the less skilled player has higher chance to win, with the same difference in skill" is meaningless. This is problematic if you are looking for an objective way to measure luck.
Jan
11
comment How to Measure Luck vs Skill in Games?
Note that the parameter for how wide the curve is for e.g. normal distribution, is not really measurable, as you have no fixed scale for the x axis (i.e. what is "+1 skill"). One attempt at an objective measure might be the limit of the distribution as x goes to infinite, i.e. the probability that the most superbly skilled player imaginable beats a "normal player".
Oct
22
comment Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?
Ah, I see, I parsed it so the first comma became a "then". My bad.
Oct
22
comment Does Cremate counter Flashback, Scavenge, and their ilk?
Technically, if you initiate the Cremate, even if it is opponents main phase, he can't cast it if it is a sorcery (since the stack is not empty). So anytime the opponent passes priority is a fine time to Cremate a sorcery.
Aug
6
comment Does casting a card and paying for it work like this?
A more common example of when this does work, is using e.g. a chromatic sphere to pay for a card with affinity. That is, you can use the chromatic sphere to reduce the cost, and still use the colored mana to pay for the spell.
May
21
comment Maximum attainable points for a single player in a two player game of Carcassonne
Yes, it should be 7 farms, for some reason I got the idea you had 9 meeples. Edited the answer.
May
15
comment When should you side lands in and out?
That is correct, I did not consider that. I would suspect that one remaining issue which is more likely to be valid in constructed, is that the number of lands is only part of the issue. You also need to have the right colors of lands. Since constructed decks often include many colors, it is likely more problematic to ensure a good distribution when changing the mana base, and I would suspect most don't find it worth the extra testing required (note: I'm not a very good magic player, so I don't really know the pro's reasoning).