12,825 reputation
11748
bio website
location
age
visits member for 1 year, 11 months
seen 5 hours ago

23h
comment Game for a blind person
This Kickstarter project ending really soon might be of interest???
1d
comment When can you keep priority?
@Sinity, "116.3b The active player receives priority after a spell or ability (other than a mana ability) resolves." If you cast the creature on your turn, you get priority when it resolves. If you cast the creature on someone else's turn (e.g. if it has Flash), they get priority when it resolves. (Avoid asking negated questions like that.)
1d
comment Can you cast creatures exiled by Ashiok/Nightveil Specter with bestow?
You should probably also cover "you may cast it without paying its mana cost". (You can't cast it for its Bestow cost because you only have the option to cast it for the alternative cost of "free". As common sense would indicate, you can only use one alternative cost. Additional costs are another matter.)
2d
comment When can lands be tapped?
The other two main reasons are: activating an ability or paying a cost. The only other reason I can think of is if tapping the card protects it from some effect. (@bengoesboom)
2d
comment When can lands be tapped?
Not all lands abilities are mana abilities. You can't tap lands for mana at any time, though you can tap them for mana any time you'd need to. You also forgot to answer a couple of questions.
Apr
19
revised Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?
added 465 characters in body
Apr
19
comment Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?
Not at all. Whether or not Muraganda pumps or not is outside of the scope of this "as though". Updated answer.
Apr
19
comment Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?
Re "It does seem to me that that phrase could reasonably be interpreted as ...", Like I said, I understand what your saying. But as a disassociated rules expert, I say that's not the case. Even when Sunweb's disregards Forestwalk, Muraganda doesn't.
Apr
19
comment Is there any configuration of Free Cell that cannot be solved?
Definitely accidental. The aforementioned random number generator has 15 bits of entropy, which means 2^15 possible orderings. That's 32,768.
Apr
19
comment What happens to my Athreos triggers when my opponent has an Aegis of the Gods?
The only time you don't have to pick a target when it appears in a spell or ability's text is when it's a modal spell (e.g. "Choose one -- ...") and the word target is only present in modes you didn't choose. Keep in mind that some effects (such as the one from Overload) replace the word "target" such that it no longer appears, so no target are picked then either.
Apr
19
revised Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?
added 59 characters in body
Apr
19
revised Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?
added 59 characters in body
Apr
19
answered Is there any interaction between hypothetical continuous effects?
Apr
16
comment How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud?
@Rusher, By that logic, my company's policies are on topic since damage prevention is also a component of them. Your comment is very very very confusing.
Apr
16
comment How does Lava Burst work with hexproof/shroud?
@Rusher, This question has nothing to do with Protection. Prevention isn't Protection. And the "E" of DEBT is really Enchanted/Equipped/Fortified by.
Apr
16
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
@Rusher, According to the rules, neither of those are allowed. // By the rules, "Can I have priority and then counter your spell?" isn't proposing a shortcut because you don't have priority. That's just talking. You're basically asking your opponent to propose a shortcut. Since you didn't propose a shortcut, you are not bound to counter the spell even if your opponent says yes.
Apr
16
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
@Rusher, The TR don't define shortcuts at all; they define specific shortcuts. By the rules, "Can I have priority and then counter your spell?" isn't proposing a shortcut because you don't have priority. That's just talking. You're basically asking your opponent to propose a shortcut. Since you didn't propose a shortcut, you are not bound to counter the spell even if your opponent says yes.
Apr
16
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
@Rusher, 1) What are you talking about? There's a whole section in the rules about shortcuts (716). 2) I meant the player with priority, not the active player. "716.2. Taking a shortcut follows the following procedure. 716.2a At any point in the game, the player with priority may suggest a shortcut [...]" Considering that most shortcuts are proposed by doing something that advances the game (e.g. attacking), proposing a shortcut when you don't have priority is playing out of turn, an error.
Apr
16
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
@Steven Stadnicki Re: "the shortcut rules mean that the spell will have resolved", What shortcut? The one I mentioned? That's not true. The OP would have had to say "pass" or some such for it to resolve. His opponent is playing out of turn; no spell has resolved. Remember, only the active player can propose a shortcut, so his opponent can't do anything at all at this point according to the rules. Now, if you have tournament experience and you're saying it's different, let me know.
Apr
15
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
I said "decide first", but there's really nothing to decide. I imagine it's quite rare to you would have cast the first spell at all if you weren't already planning on responding.