12,777 reputation
11748
bio website
location
age
visits member for 1 year, 11 months
seen 1 hour ago

Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
@Brian S, An activated ability has the form "cost: effect". If they can't be in cost because cost is not one of spells, activated abilities or triggered abilities, then they can't be in effect either. And we both know that's not true.
Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
@Brian S, I agree that "target" WON'T be found in costs, but you keep saying it CAN'T. I'm not sure it's correct. Could you point out which rule forbids targets in costs?
Apr
8
comment How long does a creature returned by the Whip of Erebos remain on the battlefield?
It's funny you should mention abilities that trigger at a specific step, because it's pretending it didn't have anything to do with steps ("for the remainder of the turn that it came into play") that opened the door to mentioning the Sundial.
Apr
8
answered Gild and the Gold tokens it creates
Apr
8
comment How long does a creature returned by the Whip of Erebos remain on the battlefield?
Re "The creature will remain on the battlefield for the remainder of the turn that it came into play.", ...unless Sundial of the Infinite is used.
Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
@Brian S, You won't see "Destroy a ..." as part of a cost either. See the previous comment. I did mention that in my answer, and I just fleshed out that part of the answer.
Apr
8
revised Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
added 36 characters in body
Apr
8
revised Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
added 36 characters in body
Apr
8
revised Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
added 36 characters in body
Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
@GendoIkari, You'd be far more like to see "As an additional cost, destroy a land", but that you wouldn't see that either. 1) One usually gets a check to response to something destroys (e.g. to put a regeneration shield on the permanent). 2) You could destroy a land with a regeneration shield to pay the cost. 3) A permanent is considered destroyed even if it regenerates, so "Destroy {permanent}. If you do, ..." would not be sufficient to get around the problem described in (2).
Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
@GendoIkari, I don't think anything in the rules directly or indirectly forbids targeting in costs, but it would be really weird. 1) There's no chance to response, so there would be no reason to target instead of choosing. 2) Targets are rechecked on resolution, which would make "destroy target {permanent}" particularly problematic.
Apr
8
comment What are the limitations on using a Planeswalker's loyalty abilities?
@Brian S, ack! right!
Apr
8
revised Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
added 112 characters in body
Apr
8
revised Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
added 112 characters in body
Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
@Patters, Destroy is not a SBA. Destroy has noting to do with SBAs (except that some SBAs instruct you to destroy things, just like some SBAs instruct you to remove counters). Destroy is a keyword action (just like "sacrifice", "move", "cast" and "draw"). You are to perform keyword actions when instructed. Just like "sacrifice", "destroy" is simply a wrapper around "move". Having a separate word allows one of the actions to be replaced (e.g. by regeneration) or prevented (e.g. by indestructibility) without affecting the others.
Apr
8
answered Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
Apr
8
comment Question about interaction: levitation, then gravity sphere, then oblivion ring on each, then tranquility. Who flies away?
It's technically the order of application of continuous effects. But you might have noticed I already removed all mentions of priority from your question without using any jargon that heavy.
Apr
7
comment Can Guttersnipe hit Planeswalkers?
Re "without sufficient knowledge of rule 306.7", you mean if you ignore the first half of the answer?
Apr
6
comment Chained to the Rocks and shocklands
You're completely missing the point. Your question boils down to: Does "Mountain" refer to the type or to the name. I said: No rule answers that question for non-permanents. For example, no rule answers "Does 'target Mountain card in a gravevard' mean 'target card in a graveyard with land type Mountain' or 'target card in a graveyard named Mountain'?" (but it's understood to be the former).
Apr
6
revised Question about interaction: levitation, then gravity sphere, then oblivion ring on each, then tranquility. Who flies away?
Added to your answer so it answers what happens in the sceneria the OP thought he had. Also allows me to remove a mistaken downvote.