Reputation
22,862
Next tag badge:
24/100 score
3/20 answers
Badges
2 32 70
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~478k people reached

May
25
answered Can I bring Blightsteel Colossus back to my graveyard before it gets shuffled into my library?
May
25
revised Can I bring Blightsteel Colossus back to my graveyard before it gets shuffled into my library?
added 17 characters in body
May
25
revised Is an artifact paid ability considered a spell?
added 545 characters in body
May
25
answered Is an artifact paid ability considered a spell?
May
25
revised Is an artifact paid ability considered a spell?
added 18 characters in body
May
24
comment Microbot Alpha: how far does it consider others Microbots?
Yes, if the card says all your minions are microbots, then all your minions are microbots
May
23
awarded  Yearling
May
22
answered How inappropriate is it to track semi-secret information using paper or other memory aids?
May
21
comment Dropping from a sanctioned event mid-draft
That may be the case in Regular REL (where the TR are more of a guide), but it's not the case in Competitive REL and Pro REL (where the TR apply).
May
21
comment Dropping from a sanctioned event mid-draft
This is true for Competitive REL and Pro REL (where the TR apply), but it's been claimed it's not always the case at Regular REL (where the TR are more of a guide).
May
21
revised Effect of “Thran Lens” on Devotion
That lower-case "L" was bothering me :)
May
20
revised Effect of “Thran Lens” on Devotion
The mana cost and color of tokens is also pertinent.
May
20
revised Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
added 44 characters in body
May
20
revised Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
added 44 characters in body
May
20
comment Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
@JonTheMon, 3) A spell/ability that targets and only has illegal targets is countered as it would resolve (so none of the effect occurs). Other spells/abilities resolve, doing as much as possible. For example, if the creature targeted by "Tap target flying creature. Draw two cards." loses flying, the spell/ability is countered and you don't get to draw any cards. If instead it's tapped when the spell/ability resolves, then you don't tap the creature, but you still get to draw two cards.
May
20
comment Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
@JonTheMon, Completely separate. 1) Targets are chosen when the spell is cast, ability is activated or triggered ability is placed on the stack. The effect is performed when the spell resolves, which only happens after all players get a chance to cast more spells and such. 2) You only look at the targeting condition when choosing targets. For example, the only relevant part of "Tap target flying creature. Draw two cards." when choosing targets is "flying creature". Whether the effect is likely to eventually succeed (e.g. if it's currently tapped or not) is of no consequence.
May
20
revised Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
added 363 characters in body
May
20
comment Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
@JonTheMon, No, it can't. 701.17a [...] Only untapped permanents can be tapped. For example, an ability that reads "Tap or untap target permanent" forces you to toggle it. (That's why the text of Elder Druid and many others was changed to "You may tap or untap target permanent".) If you could tap a tapped permanent, "{T}: Add one {G} to your mana pool" would give you infinite mana. In the OP's case, the effect skips the tapping, doing as much else as it can [CR 609.3].
May
19
revised Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
added 12 characters in body
May
19
answered Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?