Reputation
22,049
Next tag badge:
22/100 score
3/20 answers
Badges
2 31 69
Newest
 Good Answer
Impact
~447k people reached

21h
comment Dropping from a sanctioned event mid-draft
That may be the case in Regular REL (where the TR are more of a guide), but it's not the case in Competitive REL and Pro REL (where the TR apply).
21h
comment Dropping from a sanctioned event mid-draft
This is true for Competitive REL and Pro REL (where the TR apply), but it's been claimed it's not always the case at Regular REL (where the TR are more of a guide).
1d
comment Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
@JonTheMon, 3) A spell/ability that targets and only has illegal targets is countered as it would resolve (so none of the effect occurs). Other spells/abilities resolve, doing as much as possible. For example, if the creature targeted by "Tap target flying creature. Draw two cards." loses flying, the spell/ability is countered and you don't get to draw any cards. If instead it's tapped when the spell/ability resolves, then you don't tap the creature, but you still get to draw two cards.
1d
comment Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
@JonTheMon, Completely separate. 1) Targets are chosen when the spell is cast, ability is activated or triggered ability is placed on the stack. The effect is performed when the spell resolves, which only happens after all players get a chance to cast more spells and such. 2) You only look at the targeting condition when choosing targets. For example, the only relevant part of "Tap target flying creature. Draw two cards." when choosing targets is "flying creature". Whether the effect is likely to eventually succeed (e.g. if it's currently tapped or not) is of no consequence.
1d
comment Can I tap a creature in response to it being tapped?
@JonTheMon, No, it can't. 701.17a [...] Only untapped permanents can be tapped. For example, an ability that reads "Tap or untap target permanent" forces you to toggle it. (That's why the text of Elder Druid and many others was changed to "You may tap or untap target permanent".) If you could tap a tapped permanent, "{T}: Add one {G} to your mana pool" would give you infinite mana. In the OP's case, the effect skips the tapping, doing as much else as it can [CR 609.3].
May
18
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
@Rainbolt, It's not about being left out; it's that you think it needed to be shown it was illegal. The fact that I pointed it was illegal is what prompted GendoIkari's comments.
May
18
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
@Rainbolt, What are you talking about? My answer already says it's illegal since the game state is not predictable.
May
17
comment Technically highest 7Wonders score
This would be extremely complicated to calculate, and it would take too long to brute force.
May
17
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
@Gendolkari, You'd have to play it out with Tavern Swindler. What you'd get on average doesn't matter. I'd call a judge for Wirefly Hive. I'd hope the judge would ask my opponent if there's something he could do with any amount of Wasps, but like Mana Screw, he might allow for it to be played out.
May
17
comment Can my opponent force me to play out a demonstrated loop?
@Gendolkari, You won't find Mana Screw in Competitive play, but you could find a card with the same ability, so let's assume such a card exists. The game would jump to where he uses the ability. If he were to get the mana and not use it, I'd call the judge.`
May
16
comment Can I turn a manifested God face up?
@Robert Wertz, Only abilities and spells on the stack target. Auras on the battlefield enchant. But yeah, it's enchanting something it can't enchant, so it will go to the graveyard. Added a note to my answer.
May
15
comment Can I turn a manifested God face up?
@Allen Gould, The card on the battlefield is a creature card ("It becomes a 2/2 face-down creature card [...]"), so "the card represents a creature card" refers to the physical card (not the game object), so "represents a creature card" means "would be a creature card if outside of the game".
May
15
comment Cthulhu flux metamorphosis/ madness clarification
It would help if you gave the text of Madness and Pickman for those of us who don't have them handy.
May
12
comment What does the comma mean in a card effect's cost?
Re "you're still missing a key word in your 'quotes'; the primary subject.", I omitted the description of the type (which isn't a subject; nouns don't have subjects), because it doesn't make sense to pay types, no matter what kind of types they are. Please don't tell people they can pay types.
May
12
comment What does the comma mean in a card effect's cost?
@Waterseas, You mentioned there was something incorrect, but you never said what. You wouldn't be a better person by not replying. If there's something to fix, let's fix it. So far you've said "A single cost can have multiple things required to be paid" is an explanation of some error. What's the error?
May
12
comment What does the comma mean in a card effect's cost?
@Waterseas, I was just trying to makes sense of poorly written communications directed at me. Or are you referring to my comment correcting the misstatement saying there's more than one cost being payed? Precise terminology is quite important when explaining rules in general, and particularly important in this case. Or are you referring to my suggestion of using "components of cost" instead of "things"? Because I'm nice like that.
May
12
comment What does the comma mean in a card effect's cost?
@Waterseas, Re "a single cost can have multiple things required to be paid", So that's what you wanted to say? Why? Did you believe I said or believed otherwise? As I already said "components of the cost" is a better word than "thing". (And please stop saying you can "pay types". That makes no sense.)
May
12
comment What does the comma mean in a card effect's cost?
@Waterseas, I knew what Hao Ye meant, but they said there was more than one cost. And now, you go and do the same thing. Please stop saying the commas separate costs of different types. There is only one cost. "Different types of payment" works, but "components of the cost" works better.
May
11
comment Do I “control” creatures in my graveyard?
The answer to "Are creatures already in my graveyard still under my control?" is not "No, they're not controlled". That's wrong since it accepts the incorrect premise that there are creatures in his graveyard.
May
11
comment What does the comma mean in a card effect's cost?
@Hao Ye, That's inaccurate. There's only one cost. The comma separates the components of the cost.