2,433 reputation
516
bio website
location
age
visits member for 1 year, 10 months
seen 13 hours ago

Mar
31
comment What is Astrochain and how does it work?
@AnsisMalins you don't score them all in the same turn, but having scored one, you can score any others you draw from your hand. This means you don't need to leave them exposed for a turn in a remote server.
Mar
13
comment How compatible are the two versions of Netrunner?
@AllenGould Well, the original netrunner gives the corp virus counters, which persist even if the program is trashed. Android netrunner puts the virus counters on the program itself, and so trashing the program also ends the effect. There is also the extra cost. A lot of cards from original netrunner have been slightly recosted, others are straight reprints.
Mar
10
comment How do creature that exile themselves interact with Whip of Erebos?
Presumably you could also use something like Rainbow Efreet to phase itself out and so not be available to be exiled at the end of the turn?
Mar
3
comment Does a card that affects 'each' creature affect creatures that enter the battlefield after it resolves?
@scenia Well yes, I meant a permanent with +1/+1 to all affects newly created creatures afterwards, but a +1/+1 until end of turn instant will not affect newly created creatures.
Feb
25
comment Unsporting trades in the end-game of settlers of Catan
I'm not saying to do trades which are bad for you, but normally there are many trades offered which are slightly good for one player, and very good for another. If you do those trades with players in lower positions, then you will benefit and you won't leave disgruntled people stuck on 3 settlements.
Feb
13
comment Playing Multiple Lands in One Turn
Does anyone know why they changed Plains from having T:Add W to your mana pool to just a picture of a giant W mana symbol? It seems to cause a lot of confusion!
Feb
11
comment How do I get the “5 routes” achievement?
Hello user6863! You should add comments as comments to the answer/question as appropriate rather than adding a comment as a new answer. It's best if answers stand by themselves :)
Jan
29
comment What happens if both players have the ability to pump their creature an unlimited number of times?
Both players can only pump their shade +1/+1 per loop of using their Myr. This means they can each apply one pump, then they need to wait for the stack to empty to untap their Myr. Then they can repeat this. In this way no player can pump their Shade using the loop more times than the other player, since each time the stack resolves each player can pump their shade once. Surely this means that the Shades would always be in sync, modulo number of swamps? And therefore the loop the players agree to shortcut will always boost both shades the same amount +the number of swamps?
Jan
27
comment When can an Ætherling use its blinking ability?
See boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/12280/… for ways to deal with an aetherling.
Jan
17
comment Are there restrictions on pawn promotion if two pawns are on the same column?
I've never heard if that rule, and looking at en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Promotion_%28chess%29 it doesn't seem to be listed...
Jan
9
comment No power plants available to buy
You don't need to power 17 houses to win the game, you need to have 17 houses, and then whoever powers the most wins.
Dec
13
comment Missile rule clarification
From the rules you quoted, it sounds like missiles can only be used to change die rolls to a 6. Why are you using them to change them to a 1? The unmodifiable presumably applies to +1 effects from fortified areas or something.
Nov
13
comment What can I do against Aetherling?
Gossamer Chains has a similar effect to prevent it dealing damage. gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=3713
Nov
12
comment What happens with palace guard and other blockers?
boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/12107/… this question seems to have the answer you are looking for, attacking creatures assign order before blocking creatures assign order.
Nov
4
comment Why do the opposing sides of a D20 generally add up to 21
D6 always add up to 7 too. You have to arrange the face some way, and having opposite faces add up to N+1 seems to be the traditional way.
Oct
28
comment Can the active player choose the order of simultaneous effects?
Its in the section about simultaneous conditional effects, somewhat towards the back of the rule book IIRC.
Oct
23
comment Does bypassing an ICE trigger Chum's subroutine?
Well all current bypass methods are worded so you encounter the ice before you bypass it. However, the FAQ states under bypass that any unresolved triggered conditional abilities from "When encounters..." the bypassed ice are not resolved. So the Dataraven triggers, but since the Femme is resolved first the DataRaven on encounter is left unresolved.
Sep
19
comment In Settlers of Catan, is it possible to avoid “losing a won game?”
@AlexP Yes, I believe so. There is a strict order to building though in order from the current player around in turn order.
Sep
15
comment In Settlers of Catan, is it possible to avoid “losing a won game?”
You can win on anyone's turn in 5/6 player settlers though, as you can build at the end of anyone's turn and win by getting to 10 points that way.
Sep
4
comment Catan: when to buy development cards?
@GuillaumeCoté By the time you buy 5 cards, you will nearly always have 3 soldiers, and so have 2 points anyway! This means you get about 3 points per 5 cards, which isn't too bad if you have nowhere left to expand to.