474 reputation
310
bio website
location Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
age 29
visits member for 3 years, 5 months
seen 6 hours ago

Lapsed Catholic. Luddite Geek. Shy Chatterbox. A mass of contradictions wrapped in an open enigma.

Some days, I really regret making http://stackoverflow.com/a/3638034/14250 a comm. wiki question. Then I get back to helping people solve problems rather than trying to help myself score rep. (Man, but 370 upvotes. Three. Hundred. And. Seventy.)


6h
comment Perplexing Chimera + Hypnotic Siren. Do I control all of my opponent's spells?
+1: For a nice try.
1d
comment When can lands be tapped?
@Garan Turns out that it really doesn't come up that much (basically, when it exists, you simply don't make the moves that would burn you unless you get massive advantage, and when it doesn't, it merely enables wacky stuff like pouring more and more mana into the Kruphix effect, which isn't exactly a common thing to occur)
Apr
10
comment Artisan of Forms and Gift of Immortality
Gift of Immortality's attach effect affects the "creature that it returned to the battlefield".
Feb
18
comment Playing Multiple Lands in One Turn
There's actually another reason. The tap ability became inherent to the Basic Land type, so the rule text became flavour text. (this allows stuff like "target land becomes a Mountain" to work as expected)
Feb
18
comment MTG Best commander deck money can buy
-1: There's an interesting question here about buying the win, but I'm pretty certain "Make me a hardcore deck using any cards that Magic has ever published" is too broad.
Jan
29
comment How should I approach teaching Magic:The Gathering to a new player?
@Stephen I expanded my answer to cover why I think I'm right.
Jan
28
comment How does Perplexing Chimera work with multiple triggers on the stack?
So basically, you'll have paid 3 mana to take 5 to the face and have ended up with a Chimera you'd have already owned after paying 1 to take 2 to the face? Do not play that Lightning Strike before you own that Chimera!
Jan
28
awarded  Necromancer
Jan
15
comment Can an untapped creature “become untapped?”
@ikegami You can still target the creature, it just won't do anything (I believe it's countered on resolution or something). The point is it's a valid spell target. I'll admit your answer is better, I just wanted to cover that edge case in your original comment. As for Urza's Contact Lenses (and you know you're reaching when you go to UNGLUED for your rules examples, right?), I'm not sure that's correct. After all, Arena can "tap" a tapped creature. I think it is acceptable to clap your hands twice without turning the Lenses off. Tapping as a cost is different to tapping as an effect.
Jan
15
revised Can an untapped creature “become untapped?”
Added the edge condition.
Jan
15
comment Tapping opponents creatures
Note: Triton tactics and other "freeze" effects are all 'sleep-style'
Jan
15
suggested suggested edit on Can an untapped creature “become untapped?”
Jan
15
comment Am I forced to choose targets for “may” abilities?
Dismiss into Dream just became that little bit more terrifying.
Nov
5
comment Why was the banding ability 'removed' from MTG? What was so complicated about it?
@CeesTimmerman Well, no. By definition, damage is only dealt simultaneously within its "strike class". Which brings me back to my question. If I kill the actual creature with banding using first strike damage, does the band fall apart before the normal combat damage step, during the intermediate stage? Does a creature with first strike that's in a band even still have first strike? This is the problem. Even if you know the rules, the fact that you have to learn them, that they have to be "tuned" and that these questions are open is the problem that you "don't see".
Nov
5
comment Why was the banding ability 'removed' from MTG? What was so complicated about it?
Oh, and I forgot to mention, this is before 6th Edition, so the damage rules aren't as clearly defined, so there may not even be an answer, let alone a modern M10 intuitive one. P.S. Oh look all the fun's fallen out and all we're left with is maths and an argument. Oops.
Nov
5
comment Why was the banding ability 'removed' from MTG? What was so complicated about it?
@CeesTimmerman But do I as the attacker get deal the first strike damage of your first strike creature first, or all the damage first, and if I then use that damage to kill my own banding creature does the band you've blocked fall apart and you now can only assign the damage to one of the creatures, if so do I get to choose or do you? And does that mean that my trampler which is now no longer blocked gets to deal full damage to your face? And the fact that you weren't worried about this when you assigned the blockers probably means you made the wrong call and I now win.
Oct
30
revised How should I approach teaching Magic:The Gathering to a new player?
added 21 characters in body
Oct
30
comment How much time do I get to read a card before I counter it?
Sideboard in some Triton Tactics. Wish him good luck making decisions in 5 seconds the first time he has to read that card.
Jun
27
revised How should I approach teaching Magic:The Gathering to a new player?
added 662 characters in body
Jun
26
revised How should I approach teaching Magic:The Gathering to a new player?
added 85 characters in body