3,383 reputation
937
bio website potatoengineer.110mb.com/…
location Seattle, WA
age 35
visits member for 2 years, 4 months
seen 18 hours ago

18h
comment Necromunda: what happens to plague zombies when they go down?
It's been a while since I played, but doesn't close combat with a downed ganger automatically take out the ganger? The same would apply to Plague Zombies, so if they go down, then they'd want to crawl away from the gangers - otherwise, the gangers would just walk up and sputch their heads.
Dec
14
comment The Homeworld base
@Martin, your reasoning is entirely valid. The Robots are capable of some truly amazing turns. The main drawback is that once you've played a bunch of cards in a row, your hand is empty (or nearly so). (And if that turn didn't make you win, everyone will target you.) And yes, your Microbot Alpha + Microbot Fixers don't actually apply their +power to other minions until they're in play, so you can still play your less-than-2-power minions even if they're going to get some bonuses immediately after play.
Nov
30
revised What are common strategies for beating the robot in Race For The Galaxy?
Removing extra >
Nov
30
comment Solution to Avalon board game
@JoeW What rules are being violated? The cryptography is all part of the discussion before the first mission, and since the communication is all "public" (if encrypted), it doesn't violate the letter of the rules. The premise is that Good will do crypto because it guarantees a win, and Evil will do crypto because they'll be outed if they don't do it. (I quite agree that the spirit of the game is utterly debased, but that's a different question.)
Nov
25
accepted Must you decide to activate shields before entering a nebula or asteroid field?
Nov
21
comment How does transport movement work?
Oops, I misread, and now I can't remove my downvote until the answer is edited.
Nov
21
asked Must you decide to activate shields before entering a nebula or asteroid field?
Nov
19
comment How do the Allies win, given that Russia is falling!
The details on the Russia attack are getting in the way of the explanation of the situation. I think you're saying that Russia about 95% destroyed by Germany, and Japan is mostly-overrun both on land an sea – so the losses to Axis and Allies are each (vaguely) even. Could you detail where the large armies are? I see that Germany controls the Atlantic, and USA almost-controls the Pacific, but what about on land? Is all of the fighting in Asia, or are there other things going on? How much is in Africa and southern Asia? Is the UK/USA in any position to attack Germany?
Nov
13
comment Are spells mostly a dubious strategy in Quarriors?
I don't know; I haven't played enough Quarriors to say. My answer comes from 1) a couple of games played and 2) hearing about this problem on forums and the Dice Tower podcast.
Nov
13
answered Are spells mostly a dubious strategy in Quarriors?
Nov
11
comment When turning in a mission, do you have to be on the mission hex to complete a mission, or is anywhere in the system acceptable?
Also, look at the card: it will say something like "Delivery: TK-429 (!)". The (!) is the symbol for the mission hex, so that's where you need to go to finish the mission.
Nov
11
asked When taking damage to an outfit, does damaging an arming space also apply a -1 to the outfit's die?
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
@corsiKa This is Munchkin. Bribing people with... pizza... is entirely within the spirit of the game. You may have to deal with outside-the-game repercussions, of course, such as everyone refusing to play Munchkin with you ever again, or possibly meeting you later with tire irons. Please play responsibly.
Nov
3
revised Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
added 11 characters in body
Nov
3
revised Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
Bringing up the clarifications from the comments.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
Ah, that's the error: "Carried" means "in play, face up cards, that are not equipped and that do not affect your effective Level." If you have three one-handed swords (and no other interesting equipment), then you'll equip two of them (they will add to your Level), and carry the other one (it does not add to your level, but you don't have to drop it). I often play with a house rule that requires all unused equipment that takes slots to be equipped (else it must be given to charity; this is to encourage charity), but by the rules, you simply "carry" equipment that you can't/don't equip.
Nov
3
revised Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
added 49 characters in body
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
@EinDoofus I was a bit sloppy with terminology there; I'll update the answer to say "carried" and not refer to "in play." Either way, trading/gifting/bribing involves carried cards; whether the item is currently equipped or not is irrelevant.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
@EinDoofus You may show your hand to your opponents: this is part of effective extortion. "Don't help Bob or I will use this monster-enhancer here, along with this specific potion and that curse" is a much more effective threat than "I have cards you don't want me to play, but you can't see them." Showing your hand is about backing up your words, not about trading cards from your hand.
Nov
3
comment Does discarding a Race or Class card at “any time” apply to both your hand and cards in play?
@MikeR, if you don't have close-vote privileges yet, you can still flag the question to request a close vote.