Reputation
3,877
Top tag
Next privilege 4,000 Rep.
Access 'trusted user' tools
Badges
10 39
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~66k people reached

Jun
26
comment Which alternative methods of choosing a starting player actually WORK?
Start player has been reprinted, but the Android app called "Start Player" is just a spin-the-bottle app.
May
17
comment Technically highest 7 Wonders score
Science might be the way to go - it has a slow start, but the last few science buildings would each give very large bonuses.
Mar
3
comment If a Hero makes a Speed/Sanity/other non-Might attack, when does the Traitor reveal that the target lacks that trait and can't be attacked that way?
Good point; as it happened in the game I played, I stopped the Hero from rolling dice. Mind you, the existence/nonexistence of a trait can be an important strategic decision, too: the game I played had a character loaded for bear (both Ring and Sacrificial Dagger), but the lack of a trait could be a very unpleasant surprise for a Sanity 8, Might 2 character.
Mar
2
comment Betrayal at House on the Hill - “Voodoo” (Haunt 25) - Do you continue if the traitor dies?
@GendoIkari's answer covers that: the bit about "the Traitor can win if he's dead" rule uses monsters as an example of what can cause the Traitor to still be active with the potential to win. The main rules don't mention any extra rules for specific haunts, so the only option is to apply logic: just because monsters were the first example of how the Traitor could still win while dead, doesn't mean it's the only example. And in the Voodoo haunt, the chief menace is the dolls, not the Traitor.
Feb
28
comment What's behind the “Duck of Doom” card?
I'm afraid that El Goonish Shive's oldest comic is from 2002, and the first Munchkin set (which contained the Duck of Doom) was released in 2001.
Jan
2
comment Necromunda: what happens to plague zombies when they go down?
Check page 25, under "Fighters Down" (top left): anyone who's down in hand-to-hand simply gets taken out, unless it's a multiple combat.
Dec
20
comment Necromunda: what happens to plague zombies when they go down?
It's been a while since I played, but doesn't close combat with a downed ganger automatically take out the ganger? The same would apply to Plague Zombies, so if they go down, then they'd want to crawl away from the gangers - otherwise, the gangers would just walk up and sputch their heads.
Dec
14
comment The Homeworld base
@Martin, your reasoning is entirely valid. The Robots are capable of some truly amazing turns. The main drawback is that once you've played a bunch of cards in a row, your hand is empty (or nearly so). (And if that turn didn't make you win, everyone will target you.) And yes, your Microbot Alpha + Microbot Fixers don't actually apply their +power to other minions until they're in play, so you can still play your less-than-2-power minions even if they're going to get some bonuses immediately after play.
Nov
30
comment Solution to Avalon board game
@JoeW What rules are being violated? The cryptography is all part of the discussion before the first mission, and since the communication is all "public" (if encrypted), it doesn't violate the letter of the rules. The premise is that Good will do crypto because it guarantees a win, and Evil will do crypto because they'll be outed if they don't do it. (I quite agree that the spirit of the game is utterly debased, but that's a different question.)
Nov
21
comment How does transport movement work?
Oops, I misread, and now I can't remove my downvote until the answer is edited.
Nov
19
comment How do the Allies win, given that Russia is falling!
The details on the Russia attack are getting in the way of the explanation of the situation. I think you're saying that Russia about 95% destroyed by Germany, and Japan is mostly-overrun both on land an sea – so the losses to Axis and Allies are each (vaguely) even. Could you detail where the large armies are? I see that Germany controls the Atlantic, and USA almost-controls the Pacific, but what about on land? Is all of the fighting in Asia, or are there other things going on? How much is in Africa and southern Asia? Is the UK/USA in any position to attack Germany?
Nov
13
comment Are spells mostly a dubious strategy in Quarriors?
I don't know; I haven't played enough Quarriors to say. My answer comes from 1) a couple of games played and 2) hearing about this problem on forums and the Dice Tower podcast.
Nov
11
comment When turning in a mission, do you have to be on the mission hex to complete a mission, or is anywhere in the system acceptable?
Also, look at the card: it will say something like "Delivery: TK-429 (!)". The (!) is the symbol for the mission hex, so that's where you need to go to finish the mission.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
@corsiKa This is Munchkin. Bribing people with... pizza... is entirely within the spirit of the game. You may have to deal with outside-the-game repercussions, of course, such as everyone refusing to play Munchkin with you ever again, or possibly meeting you later with tire irons. Please play responsibly.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
Ah, that's the error: "Carried" means "in play, face up cards, that are not equipped and that do not affect your effective Level." If you have three one-handed swords (and no other interesting equipment), then you'll equip two of them (they will add to your Level), and carry the other one (it does not add to your level, but you don't have to drop it). I often play with a house rule that requires all unused equipment that takes slots to be equipped (else it must be given to charity; this is to encourage charity), but by the rules, you simply "carry" equipment that you can't/don't equip.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
@EinDoofus I was a bit sloppy with terminology there; I'll update the answer to say "carried" and not refer to "in play." Either way, trading/gifting/bribing involves carried cards; whether the item is currently equipped or not is irrelevant.
Nov
3
comment Rules for bribes when “Asking For Help” in turn vs bribing outside of a turn
@EinDoofus You may show your hand to your opponents: this is part of effective extortion. "Don't help Bob or I will use this monster-enhancer here, along with this specific potion and that curse" is a much more effective threat than "I have cards you don't want me to play, but you can't see them." Showing your hand is about backing up your words, not about trading cards from your hand.
Nov
3
comment Does discarding a Race or Class card at “any time” apply to both your hand and cards in play?
@MikeR, if you don't have close-vote privileges yet, you can still flag the question to request a close vote.
Oct
24
comment How to expand Love Letter to accomodate more players?
7 Wonders should only require you to look at the player to your left, and the player to your right. And all turns are simultaneous. Someone two spots away is utterly irrelevant to a novice game. (If you're playing card-denial against some opponents, then you might pay attention to them, but for the most part you should only care about your neighbors.)
Oct
21
comment Building Limit in Lords or Waterdeep
@Bret, the question is about why there's a building limit. An answer of "there's actually no limit" is correctly challenging the frame of the question.