524 reputation
213
bio website
location
age
visits member for 1 year, 6 months
seen Apr 7 at 15:30

Nov
15
awarded  Informed
Sep
26
awarded  Yearling
Sep
23
awarded  Necromancer
Feb
21
comment Why was Gifts Ungiven so popular?
You also have the option of only finding 2 cards and in that case they both go to the graveyard.
Feb
16
accepted Curse die rolls by dead taoists
Feb
14
asked Curse die rolls by dead taoists
Feb
4
accepted How long does crew change last?
Feb
4
asked How long does crew change last?
Jan
22
accepted Cost for the CAFS Firefighter to extinguish fires
Jan
22
asked Cost for the CAFS Firefighter to extinguish fires
Jan
13
accepted How to resolve Loser Wild Flare
Jan
12
comment Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
@ikegame umm, yes they do 716.1a The rules for taking shortcuts are largely unformalized. As long as each player in the game understands the intent of each other player, any shortcut system they use is acceptable.
Jan
12
comment Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
@ikegami When you say you are going to cast something and your opponent says something along the lines of "okay" that means they agreed to let it resolve. If you then don't cast it you have violated a rule (most likely a player communication rule)
Jan
11
comment Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
@ikegami when A allows B to cast the spell A is essentially saying he isn't going to counter it. Consider the situation where B has 2 big creatures x and y and A may have a counter. B wants to cast x without it getting countered so he plays y in an attempt to get A to cast his counter. When A doesn't counter it B then takes it back so he can instead cast x. That is most certainly not legal even if I can't cite a specific rule. In your example A gave up priority under the assumption that B was going to cast something he could respond to. There is a rule in the Tournament rules covering this.
Jan
11
comment Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
@ghoppe That may be how you play, but it took me very little time to find the two examples I just added to my answer of high level players skipping their opponent's priority when declaring attackers.
Jan
11
revised Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
added 568 characters in body
Jan
11
comment Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
You can't say you are going to cast something and then not cast it (unless you cannot cast it due to not being able to pay the cost, or any other reason that would prevent you from legally casting the spell)
Jan
11
revised Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
added 747 characters in body
Jan
11
comment Is it legal to take advantage of my opponent's priority mistakes?
@ikegami The question you asked on Wizard's Rules Q&A doesn't really represent the same situation as was discussed here. That said, I believe the discussion that resulted indicates my original answer is in fact correct.
Jan
10
comment How to resolve Loser Wild Flare
I agree that your interpretation of the rules is probably correct. I just don't like when people assume things like this (skipping phases) when I can fairly easily come up with examples of where it would matter. Ill probably accept this answer after a few more days if no one else answers with opposing views.