Reputation
1,530
Top tag
Next privilege 2,000 Rep.
Access moderator tools
Badges
1 4 40
Impact
~22k people reached

18h
reviewed Approve Shogun: Which player resolves winter revolts first?
Apr
11
awarded  Popular Question
Apr
5
comment May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?
According to a user on BoardGameGeek, the game designer Antoine Bauza has said: "You have to build for free if you can." … which confuses me.
Apr
5
comment May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?
According to a user on BoardGameGeek, the game designer Antoine Bauza has said: "You have to build for free if you can." … which confuses me.
Apr
5
answered May you choose *not* to use your own resources and buy them instead?
Apr
5
comment May you choose *not* to use your own resources and buy them instead?
(I’m not saying that your conclusion is wrong; I just don’t think that this part of the rules is clear. I thought it might be because I’m not a native speaker, but even the German rules say "möchte" und "kann", i.e., "want to" and "will be able to". Both versions are formulated in the form of a typical use case, not in the form of a definition :/)
Apr
5
comment May you choose *not* to use your own resources and buy them instead?
I’m still not convinced. The quoted rule from Cities is only valid for team plays (players not playing the team variant would skip this section entirely). Because they explicitly mention it for the team variant could mean that it’s not forbidden in the normal game. -- So I guess in this case, we should only look at the normal rules. And there it says "will want" and "will be able" - yes, you will be able to purchase missing resources, but as far as I understand it, this does not imply that the resources have to be missing.
Apr
4
accepted May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?
Apr
4
comment May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?
Great, thanks! -- Regarding your last section: I had created this question before your answer, May you choose not to use your own resources and buy them instead?. So maybe you want to give an answer there. However, the quoted rule from Cities is for the team play, so it’s not necessary also the case for the normal game, right?
Apr
3
comment May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?
@Adama: Ah, that’s a good note! Do you want to add this as an answer, or should I incorporate this in my answer?
Apr
3
asked How does the effect of tile 22 (from Tower of Babel) apply to tokens (from Great Projects)?
Apr
3
answered When can the “build a wonder stage for free” tokens be used?
Apr
3
comment Can you use Halicarnassus' special ability to build the wonder or to discard the card for 3 gold?
Another question about Halicarnassus: In Seven Wonders can you use the “Play card from Discard Piles” ability to play an age III card?
Apr
3
revised Can you use Halicarnassus' special ability to build the wonder or to discard the card for 3 gold?
removed link to related question
Apr
3
revised Can you use Halicarnassus' special ability to build the wonder or to discard the card for 3 gold?
update: quote from FAQ
Apr
3
answered In Seven-Wonders Can I buy resources that were built by my neighbors this turn?
Apr
3
asked May you choose *not* to use your own resources and buy them instead?
Apr
3
asked May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?
Apr
3
answered May you choose *not* to use the free construction chain?
Apr
3
reviewed No Action Needed Help identify an old board game with three rooms in a castle and a ghost