Reputation
13,889
Next tag badge:
91/100 score
10/20 answers
Badges
1 34 60
Newest
 Mortarboard
Impact
~219k people reached

9h
comment Does adding a subtype to a creature count as entering the battlefield?
The question I proposed as a duplicate is about adding a type (turning something into a creature) not a subtype, but the answer's the same: the object hasn't entered the battlefield.
9h
comment Does adding a subtype to a creature count as entering the battlefield?
possible duplicate of If a permanent transforms into a creature, has it entered the battlefield?
9h
revised Does adding a subtype to a creature count as entering the battlefield?
deleted 69 characters in body; edited title
9h
answered Do two monsters only emerge from the gate from the first mythos card in the Dunwich Horror setup?
14h
answered What happens to an investigator who arrives at a gate already explored by another?
14h
comment Understanding Haste
I've proposed as a duplicate a question that goes into a fair amount of detail about how the stack works and when you can do what. The answer to your specific question is an application of that, as mentioned in my first comment.
14h
comment Understanding Haste
In the current version of the basic rules the stack is discussed on page 10.
15h
comment Understanding Haste
@Steve I think you might want to go read in the basic rules about how the stack works. Once the killing spell is played, it's not at all too late to activate an ability. The spell goes on the stack, then you activate the ability in response (as the answer says) so it goes on the stack on top of the spell, and resolves before the spell does.
17h
comment How can we avoid big money in casual games?
Not only that, the OP explicitly said that the answers there don't work for them, because they're not looking to play competitively enough to figure out that level of strategy right now.
20h
comment Have I missed a trigger if I announce it but then forget to resolve it?
(I don't know if that's right, of course, but it does make some sense, and I wouldn't be terribly surprised if a judge did that or if eventually these rules were amended to say that putting it on the stack counts as demonstrating awareness.)
20h
comment Have I missed a trigger if I announce it but then forget to resolve it?
I think you could definitely read all this as I said: as a definition of the expected way that you demonstrate awareness of the trigger (i.e. taking that action or making that choice at this point in time is sufficient to count as acknowledging/resolving the trigger), without it ruling out other ways of demonstrating awareness. That makes the OP's situation into a simple illegal action (with some bits possibly being acceptable out of order sequencing), same as if you'd put an activated ability or spell on top of the stack then tried to resolve things beneath it on the stack first.
20h
comment Have I missed a trigger if I announce it but then forget to resolve it?
It looks like the TR quote is kind of at fault here; I guess it's using "would have" to imply "would have but hasn't", because otherwise, it's not saying anything at all about "without demonstrating awareness" etc and a literal reading of it would define all triggers to be missed even if they were correctly resolved.
20h
comment Have I missed a trigger if I announce it but then forget to resolve it?
Huh. I suppose by the letter of the rules there you're right ("...must take the appropriate actions...") but I'm still not super confident - the things you're quoting can just as easily be read as explanations of what kinds of triggers need to be acknowledged and how they can be acknowledged. This reading makes these rules cause you to miss triggers more easily, when they were actually written to generally make it easier to avoid missing triggers. Certainly before the rules change, if the trigger were explicitly on the stack, it'd just be illegal to do something else without resolving it.
1d
revised How can we avoid big money in casual games?
added 132 characters in body
1d
comment How can we avoid big money in casual games?
-1 for silver and -2 for gold would suffice. Punishing you for having copper is unnecessary; it's not like you'd ever buy it and trashing it is its own reward. The concern I have about these methods is that they'll train to to play a different game, not just discourage big money. (Messing with kingdom cards that let you gain treasure as you point out is kind of unfortunate too, but more isolated.) It'll still work though of course!
1d
comment Does Flesh Ward prevent Stamina loss from one source multiple times?
Yes, and this should be clear from the spell's text. It says "being dealt to you". It can only prevent what's currently being dealt to you, not something that's going to be dealt later.
1d
comment Does Flesh Ward prevent Stamina loss from one source multiple times?
Why the note about "this combat"? Flesh Ward doesn't use that wording.
1d
answered Does the Dread Curse of Azathoth spell stay active for multiple monsters?
1d
comment Can I use Bind Monster in addition to the combat check?
I should have been slightly clearer; they're still a kind of fight check so for example Grapple will work. But it's not the same thing as a generic fight check. A fight check is a check which uses purely your fight skill, and will be written like "make a Fight (-1) check." A combat check uses your fight skill (with any modifiers) along with anything that affects combat checks. For example, weapons will say something like "+4 to Combat checks", so they apply only to combat checks, not fight checks.
1d
revised Can I use Bind Monster in addition to the combat check?
added 62 characters in body