11,034 reputation
13052
bio website
location Sunnyvale, CA
age 29
visits member for 4 years, 4 months
seen 2 hours ago

1d
revised Does having 2 Flickerwisps and an Impact Tremors win me the game?
edited body
1d
comment Tutors for Sorceries?
Spoils of the Vault, "only" one mana!
1d
comment Is pile shuffling considered slow play?
@ikegami I see - for what it's worth, the reason I didn't understand that from the question is that it explicitly mentions pile shuffling for the purpose of counting cards, not as a shuffling method. (So I thought the question might be if that was slow play.)
2d
comment What is this kind of card shuffling called?
It's fine, the rest is pretty much just the extrapolation of adding "random" to the second part of the answer. (If it were really random, it'd be sufficient randomization, but it never will be, so no matter.)
2d
comment What is this kind of card shuffling called?
@Rainbolt Yes, and the OP said "add it to a random stack".
2d
comment What is this kind of card shuffling called?
The Wikipedia definition isn't entirely clear, but I think it's implying that the cards are dealt to the piles in order, and that's certainly common in the pile shuffling I've seen. If you could actually pick a random pile every time it would be a "real" shuffle, but we're horrible at randomness so it's kind of a moot point.
2d
comment Identify this board and card game relating to 19th century race horses
For what it's worth, I skimmed through boardgamegeek's listings for things tagged animals or racing, or with betting mechanics, from before 1930, and didn't find anything promising. There are plenty without pictures or obvious names, though, so could be I missed something. (Also, wow, there are a lot of old steeplechase games!)
2d
comment Identify this board and card game relating to 19th century race horses
Based on the images at boardgamegeek it looks like Minoru is also a horse racing game but it's not the same.
2d
revised Am I obligated to distinguish between morphs and megamorphs when I'm casting a card face-down?
added 8 characters in body
2d
comment Am I obligated to distinguish between morphs and megamorphs when I'm casting a card face-down?
Whups, my bad, misunderstood your answer. Never mind - I might tweak it to avoid others having the same misunderstanding. (and so that I can upvote)
Mar
24
comment When can I cast spells?
If you have questions like this, you should definitely read the basic rules - they'll answer this as well as most of the other questions you'll have when starting out. See also this previous question: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/20861/…
Mar
24
revised When can I cast spells?
deleted 44 characters in body; edited title
Mar
23
comment What is the Infinite Squirrel deck?
@Rainbolt It might've been better if there were an explanatory note after deleting the comments, but I think deleting them and reopening makes sense: the close votes and all that discussion were based on a different form of the question, and it's really hard to get enough votes to reopen things here whether or not they deserve it. If people still want to close it in this form, fair enough, but it does seem to be answerable if unexciting.
Mar
21
revised Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?
added 4 characters in body
Mar
21
comment What are the top backgammon websites/servers by number of active users and/or by number of games played every day?
If what you want is top by those metrics, why does the title say "best"? That's just inviting "primarily opinion-based" closure.
Mar
20
comment Phyrexian Unlife and Necropotence
And even if the ability were "Pay X life: ...", thus sidestepping the "activate it once at a time" issue, you still wouldn't be able to pay more life than you have. (118.4. If a cost or effect allows a player to pay an amount of life greater than 0, the player may do so only if his or her life total is greater than or equal to the amount of the payment.)
Mar
20
comment Mathematically / logically determine unit alignment for close combat
The linked question on Stack Overflow actually describes what you're trying to do - that seems like a much better way to get answers, and honestly, it seems like it's a better fit for Stack Overflow. There might be a few more people who know how Warhammer works, but I think most of us don't so you're going to have to explain anyway to get an answer, and as long as you're explaining, you're just asking a programming question, so SO is a good place.
Mar
20
comment Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?
For example, compare: Wind-Scarred Crag, which produces red or white mana, with Arid Mesa, which lets you search your library for a Mountain or Plains, which will provide red or white mana respectively.
Mar
20
comment Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?
@Kurtis If RemcoGerlich was right and you're confused about land vs mana, please have a look at the basic rules - they'll probably clear up a lot of things for you.
Mar
20
revised Can I use a nonbasic land that taps and gives me either a red or white mana if I only have red mana in my deck?
deleted 1 character in body; edited title