6,427 reputation
1731
bio website
location Sunnyvale, CA
age 28
visits member for 3 years, 5 months
seen 1 hour ago

Dec
17
comment Can I special build after rolling the dice?
I just want to point out that this is partially a subjective social issue. When you play games with people, you have to have some shared expectation of what happens when someone flubs a rule. Your opponents seem to be of the "no forgiveness, take the worst possible interpretation" school of thought. (Or realistically, they're trying to get an edge wherever they can.) Most people looking for fun, friendly games are a little more forgiving. At some point you have to figure out what your group's style is going to be, independent of what game you happen to be playing.
Dec
17
comment Can I special build after rolling the dice?
I think the opponents' argument is that their conventions are like your second version ("hold on, I want to build") - if no one says that, and you roll, you're demonstrating that you're not going to build, and you just didn't wait long enough for your opponents to say "hold on". But I much prefer your first option; there's really no reason to do anything but that in a friendly game. You don't need to punish people for forgetting a rule, especially not people who are newer to the game.
Dec
17
revised Can I special build after rolling the dice?
edited title
Dec
17
comment Tactics to fight or deter Diplomatic races in 2 player games
Related: boardgames.stackexchange.com/q/8586/409 (Sounds like I was right that it's not super broken if it's picked up midgame, but it's definitely awful as a first race.)
Dec
13
comment Are there more cards like Boseiju, Who Shelters All for non-mana costs?
This would be a lot clearer if you gave an example of the kind of thing you're talking about. I don't really see how there can be an exact analogy for a non-mana cost. While the same mana could be used to pay for any mana cost, the same action can't generally be used on an arbitrary non-mana cost. Are you looking for something in the direction of "{T}: the next time you sacrifice a creature as a cost to cast a spell, that spell can't be countered."? Or just something like "{non-mana cost}: cast a spell without paying its cost. That spell can't be countered."?
Dec
13
comment Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?
@BrianS Sure but now if they add another permanent type again I won't look quite as bad!
Dec
13
comment Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?
@James Yes, that's exactly what permanent means: an object on the battlefield (presumably artifact, enchantment, creature, land, or planeswalker). Elsewhere it's just a card - a creature card in your graveyard, a land card in your hand, and so on.
Dec
13
comment Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?
You could return it in response before they have control, but once they do, no, you couldn't get it back, because the controller of the sliver is the one who can activate its abilities - your opponent would have to pay the life to give it back, pretty unlikely.
Dec
12
comment What is a fair Scrabble handicap
Along with that, it's probably fair to let them look up every single word you play if they want.
Dec
12
comment What is a fair Scrabble handicap
@Jolenealaska Wasn't my suggestion, was just wondering if the method of deducing the "correct" handicap was really ideal.
Dec
12
comment Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?
The OP also paraphrased the card text; the actual card says "return this permanent", so even if the slivers in the graveyard got the ability, and could use it, it still wouldn't make sense.
Dec
12
comment Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?
I edited in the actual card text, which you omitted a rather meaningful word ("permanent") from.
Dec
12
revised Can I use Hibernation Sliver to return slivers from my graveyard?
added 19 characters in body; edited title
Dec
11
revised Can I block with a previously bestowed creature?
added 175 characters in body
Dec
11
comment Can I block with a previously bestowed creature?
@StevenStadnicki I added something to mention that, but I do think it's pretty minor - I don't think it's what the OP meant given the phrasing, and it doesn't really change the substance of the answer.
Dec
10
answered Can I block with a previously bestowed creature?
Dec
10
revised Can I block with a previously bestowed creature?
deleted 28 characters in body; edited title
Dec
8
revised Bidding a very special hand
Corrected "biding" to "bidding" in title.
Dec
8
reviewed Reject suggested edit on Bidding a very special hand
Dec
7
answered Does Solemn Offering affect auras?