11,033 reputation
13052
bio website
location Sunnyvale, CA
age 29
visits member for 4 years, 4 months
seen 20 mins ago

Dec
10
comment Source for upcoming rule changes
Your link is broken, but the Magic 2014 Update Bulletin says July 12, 2013, while the Judge's Corner video was June 10 - see the comments on the question. Did you find a different M14 rules post?
Dec
10
awarded  Custodian
Dec
10
reviewed Looks OK Dan levels: difference between amateur and professional?
Dec
10
comment Source for upcoming rule changes
Looks like Judge's Corner is from Gathering Magic, and those folks appear to have "spoilers" from Fate Reforged already, so... I wouldn't be totally surprised.
Dec
9
comment Source for upcoming rule changes
Did you see the example here? Judge's Corner posted a video about details of the rules update a month before the update bulletin was posted.
Dec
9
comment Source for upcoming rule changes
Well, the update bulletins specifically look official so it seemed the important one to check if it was the first. But wow, a month before - I wonder if there are leaks or secret judge newsletters?
Dec
9
comment Source for upcoming rule changes
Or if you know how to find that video and compare dates, here's M14: archive.wizards.com/Magic/Magazine/Article.aspx?x=mtg/daily/…
Dec
9
comment Source for upcoming rule changes
I don't know if there's something earlier (I'm not sure when the things you mention were published) but are you aware of the update bulletins Wizards posts on their site, e.g. magic.wizards.com/en/articles/archive/feature/… for Khans?
Dec
9
comment Athreos, God of Passage, and Martyr of Sands
@ikegami Sure. I do think your point (3) is a little iffy, though. Replacing costs is not hypothetical, but replacing sacrifices is, and that's what makes citing 117.11 confusing in the context of your answer.
Dec
8
comment Athreos, God of Passage, and Martyr of Sands
@JustinFincher Sacrificing the Martyr is part of the cost of activating the ability (activated abilities are of the form "cost: effect"). You pay the cost before it goes on the stack and players get priority, so if you activate the ability, once anyone gets a chance to cast a spell, it's already sacrificed.
Nov
30
comment Can Enchantment Creature play its enchanted ability?
If the comprehensive rules are a little confusing to beginning players reading this, there's also very readable section in The Mechanics of Theros describing bestow.
Nov
30
comment Can I place settlements on harbors in set-up?
Water hexes aren't actually physical hexagons, in some versions of the game anyway, they're just borders. Probably explains some of the confusion reading the rules passage you quoted.
Nov
30
revised Can I place settlements on harbors in set-up?
deleted 96 characters in body; edited title
Nov
28
comment When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?
@JoeGolton The basic rulebook also has a decent explanation of how casting and resolving spells works, on page 10 in the current version - media.wizards.com/images/magic/resources/rules/…
Nov
28
revised Can a tapped creature attack or block?
deleted 2 characters in body; edited title
Nov
28
comment Can a tapped creature attack or block?
You might want to have a read through the basic rulebook, linked from here archive.wizards.com/Magic/tcg/article.aspx?x=magic/rules - it covers this question and a lot of other basic questions.
Nov
28
comment When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?
Thanks for addressing the "only one stack" part. I think possibly the source of the OP's confusion was seeing the rules mention "until the spell has finished being cast" and interpreting "cast" as including resolving. But "cast" just means (essentially) paid for and put on the stack - nothing to do with resolving.
Nov
26
comment The origin of the color wheel
@Philipp Well, he also made it right in the sense that they didn't really have to drastically shift the identities of any of the colors, so the order makes sense still (in terms of ally/enemy colors), and so there wasn't a real reason to change it even if the card backs weren't an issue.
Nov
26
comment Where can I find a chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure?
@Rik_S I think it's fine to gloss over that here - the idea here is to show which things are possible to do during which phases. And both players do get a chance to cast instants, for example, during your main phase. Priority is a sometimes-relevant detail about what order you'll get to do it in, but doesn't change that fact.
Nov
26
comment Where can I find a chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure?
@doppelgreener I think I mostly addressed your comment on meta, but... It's a real problem, explaining to new players, or alternatively, he's asking the basic question on behalf of new players. And it's not too broad, since a single answer (a good diagram) can address it, rather than needing a whole set of answers in aggregate (i.e., it's not a bad list question).