9,706 reputation
12647
bio website
location Sunnyvale, CA
age 29
visits member for 4 years, 1 month
seen 7 hours ago

Dec
15
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
@jamius19 My best guess is that you're thinking that, as long as there's nothing you can play in your hand, you should be allowed to draw another card when you want, not just one per turn? In that case, you should definitely have specifically said so in your question, but I guess this answer does answer your question: it's not a bug, you get one draw per turn. Getting stuck with nothing to do happens sometimes, though building your deck well makes it less likely.
Dec
15
comment Casual trick taking penalties for illegal plays
@PieterGeerkens I think you have a very different definition of "casual" than the rest of us, to the point of coming off as a little insensitive. We're talking about people who may not play a lot of games, likely chatting and not 100% focused on the game. I've seen very bright people who do know the game make mistakes when they're not focused (and not because they're trying to cheat); it's surely going to happen with beginners in casual games. Maybe the harsh penalties are still a good idea, but it's not because no one's ever going to make a mistake.
Dec
14
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
@jamius19 Right, but... are you saying the game didn't let you draw a card for several consecutive turns in one game?
Dec
12
comment What does X mean in a spell's cost?
It is indeed somewhat vague, but fortunately in this case I don't even need that strong a statement. The core question being answered both here and in the other question is "how do I cast this spell?" (either with X or multikicker). Given that the spell in question is Strength of the Tajuru, it is quite reasonable for "how do I cast this spell?" to address both paying for X and multikicker. Again, that doesn't mean there's anything wrong with this question, just that the union of the two isn't quite the entire Strength of the Tajuru question you're responding to.
Dec
12
comment What does X mean in a spell's cost?
Fortunately, I entirely agree that they deserve separate attention. I also entirely agree that the answer about {X} with multikicker (how do I declare values and calculate cost, etc) turns out to be trivial. Nonetheless, in the context of Strength of the Tajuru, it is still reasonable for someone confused about how the card works to ask that question, so if the goal of this was to fully address that card, that is a question we should have. Tons of questions turn out to have very simple answers, but that doesn't mean everyone already knows those answers.
Dec
12
comment How does multikicker work?
@Rainbolt No, I said that no matter what, you should address the actual card the OP asked about, and clarified that I was not saying that you had to think {X} vs multikicker {1} was confusing, just that it was one seemingly-likely thing the OP could have found confusing in an attempt to be helpful.
Dec
12
comment What does X mean in a spell's cost?
If your intent here was to fully address Strength of the Tajuru for people who really care about rule details, I think splitting into separate questions might not be the right way to go, since the real nontrivial question people would be likely looking for is what happens when you kick it and pay {X} - when do you make the decisions and how do you calculate the cost?
Dec
12
comment How does multikicker work?
Also to be clear, I said that the {X} was an easy source of confusion - I did not say that it was the only reason the OP asked about that card. Even if it didn't say {X} on the card, the OP asking about a specific card is certainly reason enough to discuss that card in your answer.
Dec
12
revised How does multikicker work?
rolled back to a previous revision
Dec
12
comment How does multikicker work?
@Rainbolt I don't know exactly what the source of the OP's confusion is, but he asked about a specific card. Arguably I went too far by removing it from the title, especially since it caused you to think that an answer which didn't address it still answered the question, so I don't think putting it back in made it worse.
Dec
12
comment How does multikicker work?
The question did ask about a specific example. It was originally in the title, so in case you thought that because it was now only in the body it wasn't actually a required part of the question, I've put it back in the title too.
Dec
12
revised How does multikicker work?
deleted 13 characters in body; edited title
Dec
11
comment How does multikicker work?
Did you mean {W}{R} on your first example? Also I think an easy source of confusion for Strength of the Tajuru is the {X} vs the {1} per kick (i.e. two different things that are both increments of {1}) - might be worth addressing the card in the question too.
Dec
11
comment How does multikicker work?
It might also help to look at a simpler example, without the {X} and where the cost isn't just {1} - say Apex Hawks. Pay {1}{W} once, get one +1/+1 counter. Pay it twice, get two.
Dec
11
comment How does multikicker work?
I'm sure someone will write you an excellent answer before long, but in the meantime, you might try reading the rulings on the card's Gatherer entry. There's a concrete example in there.
Dec
11
revised How does multikicker work?
deleted 13 characters in body; edited title
Dec
11
comment Gate and monster appear when returning to Arkham from Other world
Also, you say "when returning" but I think you actually mean during the next mythos phase? I know there are encounters that can cause a gate and a monster to appear, but in order to have a normal encounter at that location, there has to not be a gate there. You're not trying to have a normal encounter instead of closing the gate, are you?
Dec
11
comment Gate and monster appear when returning to Arkham from Other world
It's a little unclear, but you don't generally have to wait a turn to try to close the gate (although you can certainly retry if you fail the first time) - you should come out of the gate during your movement phase, then attempt to close it during the Arkham encounter phase.
Dec
10
comment Is drawing multiple cards an atomic action?
If you want to not depend on 120.2 (though it does make it really clear, I wouldn't call it irrelevant), I think the right rule is 603.2c: "An ability triggers only once each time its trigger event occurs. However, it can trigger repeatedly if one event contains multiple occurrences." Beyond that, the main thing to point to is cards that use the "one or more" phrasing like Sidisi - if they really want only one trigger for multiple occurrences, they make it clear.
Dec
10
comment Source for upcoming rule changes
@diego Ah, I see - I didn't actually scroll enough on that page to see there were only three cards (from PAX Australia, looks like), not some awful leaked spoilers.