9,706 reputation
12647
bio website
location Sunnyvale, CA
age 29
visits member for 4 years, 1 month
seen 12 hours ago

Nov
30
comment Can I place settlements on harbors in set-up?
Water hexes aren't actually physical hexagons, in some versions of the game anyway, they're just borders. Probably explains some of the confusion reading the rules passage you quoted.
Nov
30
revised Can I place settlements on harbors in set-up?
deleted 96 characters in body; edited title
Nov
30
comment Can I place settlements on harbors in set-up?
But it's fine to ask and answer your own question. We don't have to close this, just put it in the right format.
Nov
28
comment When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?
@JoeGolton The basic rulebook also has a decent explanation of how casting and resolving spells works, on page 10 in the current version - media.wizards.com/images/magic/resources/rules/…
Nov
28
revised Can a tapped creature attack or block?
deleted 2 characters in body; edited title
Nov
28
comment Can a tapped creature attack or block?
You might want to have a read through the basic rulebook, linked from here archive.wizards.com/Magic/tcg/article.aspx?x=magic/rules - it covers this question and a lot of other basic questions.
Nov
28
comment When a spell targeting a creature with heroic gets countered, does heroic still trigger?
Thanks for addressing the "only one stack" part. I think possibly the source of the OP's confusion was seeing the rules mention "until the spell has finished being cast" and interpreting "cast" as including resolving. But "cast" just means (essentially) paid for and put on the stack - nothing to do with resolving.
Nov
26
comment The origin of the color wheel
@Philipp Well, he also made it right in the sense that they didn't really have to drastically shift the identities of any of the colors, so the order makes sense still (in terms of ally/enemy colors), and so there wasn't a real reason to change it even if the card backs weren't an issue.
Nov
26
comment Chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure
@Rik_S I think it's fine to gloss over that here - the idea here is to show which things are possible to do during which phases. And both players do get a chance to cast instants, for example, during your main phase. Priority is a sometimes-relevant detail about what order you'll get to do it in, but doesn't change that fact.
Nov
26
comment Chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure
@doppelgreener I think I mostly addressed your comment on meta, but... It's a real problem, explaining to new players, or alternatively, he's asking the basic question on behalf of new players. And it's not too broad, since a single answer (a good diagram) can address it, rather than needing a whole set of answers in aggregate (i.e., it's not a bad list question).
Nov
26
revised How do I play a card if it has two colors within the one mana symbol in its cost?
deleted 162 characters in body; edited title
Nov
26
comment The origin of the color wheel
@0kelvin Yes, pretty much: markrosewater.tumblr.com/post/77670999325/… He certainly had a philosophy in mind for all of them, even if it wasn't completely explicit, and things matured from there.
Nov
25
comment Does priority matter in Magic?
@Zags I was suggesting something you might want to add into your own answer (which is otherwise pretty comprehensive), which is perfectly appropriate use of comments, but if you would prefer it be a separate answer, I'll post one when I have time (or someone else will first).
Nov
25
comment Does priority matter in Magic?
@Zags Nope, it matters. Yes, they can kill it either way. But because you (the attacking player) get priority first, they can also wait to see that you haven't pumped it, then decide not to kill it, and then you won't get another chance to pump it.
Nov
25
comment Does priority matter in Magic?
I think you might've missed possibly the most common time it matters: combat tricks. For example, say you attack with a creature and want to cast Giant Growth on it to help finish off your opponent, but are worried they might have a Doom Blade. You're the active player, so you get priority first, and have to decide whether to cast your spell without knowing whether the creature is going to die, while your opponent can sit back and wait to see if you pump it before they spend their removal spell.
Nov
25
comment Chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure
You could also probably kill two birds with one stone by coming up with short versions of the text to put in the diagram, and adding a key at the bottom - e.g. change the green things to "instants and activated abilities", and give the full version at the bottom just a single time.
Nov
25
comment Chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure
I changed "charts" to "chart" in your title because there have been complaints e.g. that you are asking for "a bunch of diagrams", which you clearly aren't - a good answer to your question would be simply a single awesome diagram.
Nov
25
revised Chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure
edited title
Nov
25
comment Chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure
@doppelgreener Let's discuss on meta: meta.boardgames.stackexchange.com/q/1227/409
Nov
25
comment Chart or diagram explaining Magic's turn structure
@Zags I think possibly the word "good" in the title caused people to think this was more subjective than it really is, so I rephrased a bit. Beyond that, it's great that you explained specifically what you were looking for, so I'm not sure there's much to improve!