9,706 reputation
12647
bio website
location Sunnyvale, CA
age 29
visits member for 4 years, 1 month
seen 41 mins ago

1d
comment In Settlers of Catan, if you have unrevealed victory point cards that would make you win, are you forced to declare victory?
I too would find this answer more useful if it cited actual rules to back up the assertions made, rather than a made up rule.
Dec
16
comment Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?
@pixels Edited in, thanks. It didn't occur to me because I was so focused on the idea of player != planeswalker!
Dec
16
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
In the edited form, this is a fair question - though I'm not 100% confident from your comments that this is what's actually happening, since you keep talking about how many lands you have.
Dec
16
comment Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?
@Rainbolt Yup, I didn't mean to imply that was a reason to close it. I was trying to hint that I thought it was even worth upvoting because even if the answer is fairly easy to find out, it's a useful question for a lot of people.
Dec
16
comment Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?
I think I pretty much understand what you're asking, so I've edited your question further, and for what it's worth, I would vote to reopen if it gets closed. Although it does perhaps show some lack of research effort, people do really commonly confuse "player" and "planeswalker", so I think it's very much a question worth having.
Dec
15
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
@jamius19 And it really makes it sound like you might mean you're drawing land when you want creatures, due to you being unlucky about how your deck is shuffled.
Dec
15
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
@jamius19 If it's skipping your draw step that's a bug, unless there's some weird modified/scripted game mode in there (I haven't played Magic 2014). But I still don't see what you having lands has to do with it - you always draw one card, no matter what. In any case, the explanation you finally gave is what you should edit into your question.
Dec
15
comment Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?
If there were, you'd see it on the cards you linked to. There's no secret Oracle text; what you see in Gatherer is it.
Dec
15
comment Can older cards that refer to a player/opponent ever be used on planeswalkers?
It's only noncombat damage that can be redirected to a planeswalker. I think you meant that Hypnotic Specter won't do its thing if you attack the planeswalker - the combat damage isn't redirected, it's just dealt directly to the planeswalker. (And Hypnotic Specter makes them discard, not draw.)
Dec
15
comment Casual trick taking penalties for illegal plays
@PieterGeerkens The OP is asking about spades and hearts, and if bridge tournaments have something to do with your answer, I stand by my point about you thinking of casual play very differently from the OP.
Dec
15
comment Casual trick taking penalties for illegal plays
@PieterGeerkens In other words, you're saying the penalties should be harsh because otherwise some people might cheat, which is completely different from saying that there's no excuse for the errors and that people will make them once or twice a decade. The point about cheaters is still valid (at least in some circles); you just don't have to be so harsh on the people who make legitimate mistakes to make it.
Dec
15
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
@jamius19 My best guess is that you're thinking that, as long as there's nothing you can play in your hand, you should be allowed to draw another card when you want, not just one per turn? In that case, you should definitely have specifically said so in your question, but I guess this answer does answer your question: it's not a bug, you get one draw per turn. Getting stuck with nothing to do happens sometimes, though building your deck well makes it less likely.
Dec
15
comment Casual trick taking penalties for illegal plays
@PieterGeerkens I think you have a very different definition of "casual" than the rest of us, to the point of coming off as a little insensitive. We're talking about people who may not play a lot of games, likely chatting and not 100% focused on the game. I've seen very bright people who do know the game make mistakes when they're not focused (and not because they're trying to cheat); it's surely going to happen with beginners in casual games. Maybe the harsh penalties are still a good idea, but it's not because no one's ever going to make a mistake.
Dec
14
comment Why am I unable to draw cards in Magic 2014?
@jamius19 Right, but... are you saying the game didn't let you draw a card for several consecutive turns in one game?
Dec
12
comment What does X mean in a spell's cost?
It is indeed somewhat vague, but fortunately in this case I don't even need that strong a statement. The core question being answered both here and in the other question is "how do I cast this spell?" (either with X or multikicker). Given that the spell in question is Strength of the Tajuru, it is quite reasonable for "how do I cast this spell?" to address both paying for X and multikicker. Again, that doesn't mean there's anything wrong with this question, just that the union of the two isn't quite the entire Strength of the Tajuru question you're responding to.
Dec
12
comment What does X mean in a spell's cost?
Fortunately, I entirely agree that they deserve separate attention. I also entirely agree that the answer about {X} with multikicker (how do I declare values and calculate cost, etc) turns out to be trivial. Nonetheless, in the context of Strength of the Tajuru, it is still reasonable for someone confused about how the card works to ask that question, so if the goal of this was to fully address that card, that is a question we should have. Tons of questions turn out to have very simple answers, but that doesn't mean everyone already knows those answers.
Dec
12
comment How does multikicker work?
@Rainbolt No, I said that no matter what, you should address the actual card the OP asked about, and clarified that I was not saying that you had to think {X} vs multikicker {1} was confusing, just that it was one seemingly-likely thing the OP could have found confusing in an attempt to be helpful.
Dec
12
comment What does X mean in a spell's cost?
If your intent here was to fully address Strength of the Tajuru for people who really care about rule details, I think splitting into separate questions might not be the right way to go, since the real nontrivial question people would be likely looking for is what happens when you kick it and pay {X} - when do you make the decisions and how do you calculate the cost?
Dec
12
comment How does multikicker work?
Also to be clear, I said that the {X} was an easy source of confusion - I did not say that it was the only reason the OP asked about that card. Even if it didn't say {X} on the card, the OP asking about a specific card is certainly reason enough to discuss that card in your answer.
Dec
12
comment How does multikicker work?
@Rainbolt I don't know exactly what the source of the OP's confusion is, but he asked about a specific card. Arguably I went too far by removing it from the title, especially since it caused you to think that an answer which didn't address it still answered the question, so I don't think putting it back in made it worse.