Reputation
Next privilege 250 Rep.
View close votes
Badges
8
Newest
 Commentator
Impact
~5k people reached

  • 0 posts edited
  • 1 helpful flag
  • 32 votes cast
Apr
13
comment Spells are not exiled by Jace, Telepath Unbound's second ability in MTG Duels
I don't know. Looks like we have never had questions about the duels games before today. I don't know if these sort of questions should be directed to gaming.stackexchange.com as they have a tag for the game and more people might have played it over there.
Apr
13
comment Spells are not exiled by Jace, Telepath Unbound's second ability in MTG Duels
The spells mentioned in the second half of this answer aren't in the Magic Duels game. As far as I know, there are no spells or abilities in the game that will take a spell from the stack to anywhere other either the graveyard or exile. I may be mistaken as I've not seen all the new cards added but the cards are mainly from Origins onward (Not every card gets into the game either).
Apr
13
answered Spells are not exiled by Jace, Telepath Unbound's second ability in MTG Duels
Apr
13
comment Jace, Telepath Unbound and Casting a Spell from the Graveyard
I can confirm this is how Jace works. Once his loyalty ability has resolved, you have to zoom into your graveyard, then zoom into the selected card (will be highlighted red). You will see an ability at the bottom of the card saying "Cast this card" (May have to scroll the card text if there is a lot of text on the card). Once you click this ability, it will begin casting the card.
Mar
11
comment How can I protect my tron deck against Crumble To Dust
I'm guessing any of the urza lands. Without a complete set, each land is only going to generate (C). This properly leaves the tron player with 7+ CMC spells in hand that they are going to have to wait until at least turn 7 until they can start playing threats (rather than the planed turn 3/4). By this time, it is probably too late and may even by dead.
Mar
4
comment Is the Commander strictly fixed during deck construction?
You can sanction commander FNMs. I think they added it in last year. I think it should be like side-boarding when decks are registered, your commander should be the same in game one but can be changed between games. But that is my opinion and most FMNs don't require a deck list anyway.
Mar
4
comment If a player goes to “combat”, and then activates an ability, what is the game state?
@Skyl3lazer Maybe it is common in other play groups but I don't tend to see much in mine. You are right in the fact that you would want to empty the mana pool although by saying Combat?, you have invoked the shortcut mentioned above and missed your chance to attack with the Mutavualt. In this case, I'd clearly state I was moving to the beginning of combat and maybe state that I am retaining priority. I think my original point is being missed though, I think most people believe they get an edge by activating Mutavault at the last second when it doesn't make too much difference most of the time.
Feb
26
answered Ways to handicap in Magic the Gathering?
Feb
26
accepted Is it possible to move auras with the equip ability?
Feb
26
comment Is it possible to move auras with the equip ability?
I've pondered this question for a while yet somehow missed the gather ruling :S Serves me right for not reading everything
Feb
26
asked Is it possible to move auras with the equip ability?
Feb
18
awarded  Commentator
Feb
18
comment If a player goes to “combat”, and then activates an ability, what is the game state?
Is the correct move to rewind the game state to before declare attackers step? The only error is that Anthony tried to attack after he declared attackers (which should just involve un-tapping the Mutavualt). I can't remember (and I'm at work so can't look up) what the rules are for rewinding legal plays so I could be wrong. Granted this is a bit harsh and as a judge at FNM would probably allow the Mutavualt to attack but at higher events would say that they proposed on the shortcut should make intentions more clear.
Feb
18
comment If a player goes to “combat”, and then activates an ability, what is the game state?
@Rainbolt Fair enough. In which case, I agree with LovesTha's answer that the the player is confused by what that shortcut does and should be educated.
Feb
18
comment If a player goes to “combat”, and then activates an ability, what is the game state?
@Rainbolt Sorry, should have said most of the time, it is better to activate in the main phase (when you can activate them in the main phase, forgot there were combat only abilities). I think what I was trying to get at is that activating abilities last second isn't always the best time. I think the mana pool is a case where it would give the opponent the advantage but how often does that come up? I think we can play the edge case game all day but 99+% of the time, it isn't going to matter whether you activate an ability in your main or start of combat so why make things over complicated?
Feb
18
comment If a player goes to “combat”, and then activates an ability, what is the game state?
I think this could all be avoided by just activating abilities in your main phase. If an opponent couldn't stop you in combat phase, they won't be able to stop you in the main phase. The beginning of combat is there so your opponents can react with out your sorcery actions afterwards. I can't think of a card that your opponent can play that is better in the opponents main phase over an opponents combat phase. The added bonus of activating abilities in your main phase is you can then react to any unexpected changes to board state a lot easier.
Jan
13
comment If a card becomes cloned while another text-modifying effect is on the stack, what is the result?
For bonus style points, you could activate Quicksilver's ability targeting itself, then while on the stack, use shapesharer to change it to creature 4. You now have creature 4 with Quicksilver's ability which not only can you add creature 3's abilities afterwards, you can use it to gain other abilities later in the turn.
Apr
24
comment Can a player redirect his attack if the defending player concedes?
I don't get why people get so upset about this, why would you want someone who is taking you out the game to profit. Also, in your scenario, the game would be over next turn and everyone could shuffle up and play again, whereas if you gained all that life, he could be sitting there for the next hour watching you two play it out.
Nov
14
comment Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?
Maybe I wasn't too clear, I was trying to say that "target creature" is also appears in "target creature card in your graveyard" which is why I had "target creature" in bold. I think in the end, I was trying to point out maybe you should make a point that if it is followed by one of the words in 109.2, then you can't target something on the battlefield. If you think that rule 109.2 makes that clear without explaining it, then feel free to ignore me. I'm sorry if this still makes no sense since I'm not the best at explaining things :(
Nov
11
comment Must a “target creature” be on the battlefield?
I'd just like to add that it is a default e.g. card may say "target creature card in your graveyard" in which case, it has to target a creature in the grave. Rule 109.2 does say this but I don't think it has been made clear