2,717 reputation
224
bio website hexgridutilities.codeplex.com
location Canada
age 58
visits member for 1 year, 7 months
seen 5 hours ago

A physicist, accountant (CGA,CPA), and software developer by training, and a professional developer by employment, I wrote my first computer program in FORTRAN w/ WATFOR in high school. Since then I have written device drivers for a PDP-15, CAD/CAM applications in C, and Database applications in everything from FORTRAN (?!) and C to SQL and MS-Office.

I currently build financial and business applications professionally, mostly with VBA / C# / SQL, while developing my own Napoleonics game engine in C# on weekends and evenings.


Oct
18
comment How many kings is it possible to have on the board at once?
@hexparrot: Chequers, not chess.
Oct
17
comment Why is it called “Chinese Checkers”?
Because it was not invented in China.
Oct
17
comment Go - How does one count territory in these two scenarios? (9x9)
Neither game is over; as both players have useful moves in both scenarios - points cannot be counted (in general) until a game is over.
Oct
17
comment Does Republic of Rome usually generate one or more wars per turn, leading to a loss even when cooperating?
There is cooperating, and there is cooperating; the latter is needed in the Early Republic to overcome Hannibal and Philip. Many years ago I played this game every Friday night for several months - we only once, early on, failed to win the Punic and Macedonian Wars when Hannibal, Hamilcar, Second Punic and Both Macedonian Wars and Philip all arrived first turn. Anything less we could handle with sufficient sacrifice.
Oct
16
answered Leading from the wrong (nondummy) hand in bridge
Oct
12
revised bridge penalties
edited body
Oct
11
comment In bridge, do people go through cycles of under- and -over bidding?
Really sorry Tom, but your history of Bridge in general, Duplicate in particular, and bidding systems and styles is American-centric at best, and elsewhere completely incorrect. Bad bidders either under-bid, or over-bid, or when really, really, bad do both with absolutely no pattern that a partner can attempt to meliorate. Intermediate players do less of both, and Expert players do little of either; that is part of why they are Expert.
Oct
11
revised bridge penalties
added 485 characters in body
Oct
11
answered bridge penalties
Oct
10
comment 4-4 high approach joseki question
re "Is this the best white can play here?" Say what! This is a terrible outcome for Black, with both the corner territory lost and White gaining significant influence into the centre. What more could you want besides a concession?
Oct
10
revised Must a player disclose what deck they are using before play?
Removed tag from title
Oct
6
comment How to apply the ko rule (Go)
This is the simple ko rule, which is not the most common. The super ko rule variants prohibit any previous board position. Link: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rules_of_Go#Repetition
Sep
30
revised What can the dummy player do in Bridge?
Corrected link to Laws of COntract Bridge 2014
Sep
27
comment Do you need more to “pre-empt” with a major, than a minor suit?
@TomAu: No - read what I wrote and not what you want to see written. In brief the goal of most game investigation auctions is to determine, in order, whether (1) partnership has 25 points; (2) there is an 8-card major sit fit; and (3) when (2) fails whether all suits are reasonably stopped. Read the literature. It is well known that when given the choice between an 8-card and a 9-card fit, the 8-card fit plays almost 1/2 trick better on average. That combined with the scoring table is why major suits are so strongly favoured over minors in Dupllicate.
Sep
26
answered Do you need more to “pre-empt” with a major, than a minor suit?
Sep
23
awarded  Revival
Sep
20
revised What happens if an alliance is created that would create an illegal battle?
edited tags
Sep
20
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Those of us who are mere mortals tread in this area at our own peril, especially when attempting to cherry-pick portions of his system to play without a thorough understanding of how the entire system works to right the imbalances introduced.
Sep
20
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Also: the eighth trump is extremely important, contributing a total value close to 2 points, and is often decisive in determining whether to play in a suit or notrump contract. When you start the process of lying to partner about the number of trumps jointly held you upset many other calculations occurring in the hand. Bergen can handle the situation because of both the strong system agreements with his partner and his great table presence.
Sep
20
comment Can you raise a one bid with only two “filler” honors in a suit?
Count me amongst those who would rather see xxx than QJ. Partner will assign a value to the fifth trump in his hand which you are lying to him about, and it will affect adversely both play of the hand and correct determination of denomination.