2,088 reputation
328
bio website
location
age
visits member for 1 year
seen Apr 17 at 15:06

Apr
16
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
I regularly play one of the few decks where retaining priority after casting a spell matters - Legacy Tendrils Storm. It includes the "combo" of Lion's Eye Diamond and Infernal Tutor. I have to retain priority after casting infernal tutor so that I can activate LED (despite being a mana ability, I can only activate LED when I can cast an instant). Most of the time, it's fine if you dont explicitly say, providing you do the next action with no pause. Saying that, strictly speaking, if people want to be really rigid on the rules, you HAVE to say "retaining priority", so its best to do so
Apr
15
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
I think your confusion stemmed from the issue of shortcuts. The stack always behaves like a stack. But you are right in this case the stack looks like its being a queue. It's the lack of communication that's to blame, and that's on both your heads. Strictly speaking your opponent should check his spell resolves before casting another one. If you want his other spell to still be on the stack, you should get agreement it is still there before you let his new spell on the stack. In the absence of both of these, the silence has to be taken as tacit priority passes. in essence: More words = good
Apr
15
comment Paying a Cost and Communicating
I think Ikegami has the right of things here. Point 3 implies implicit priority passing from both parties. If the asker allows his opponents second spell to be put onto the stack, surely he has implicitly passed priority on the first spell, allowing it to resolve? That makes the rest just out of order sequencing.
Apr
15
reviewed No Action Needed When moving an Agent from a non-local Faction, what is the correct orientation?
Apr
15
reviewed Leave Open Has anyone experienced “too many players” in a game of monopoly?
Apr
15
reviewed Approve suggested edit on How many monsters should be drawn in a 5 player game during an encounter?
Apr
12
awarded  Yearling
Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
you are correct, i conflated the destruction that occurs when a creature has lethal damage marked on it (the state based action) with destruction as a whole occurring as a state based action. I still feel the answer could benefit from this clarification of the distinction between sacrifice and destroy though, as the asker (and hence others) appears to not have enough experience to identify the distinction
Apr
8
comment Hammer of Purphoros doesn't let me destroy my opponent's lands; why is that exactly?
it might be worth adding a note about destruction being a state based action and clarifying that "indestructible" as an example has no bearing on sacrificing. Just incase anyone gets the idea that a Darksteel Citadel would give them unlimited golems
Apr
8
reviewed No Action Needed How can I get the trait clips in Betrayal at House on the Hill to stay on?
Apr
8
reviewed No Action Needed the sycophant card
Apr
8
reviewed No Action Needed In Elder Sign, after rolling, can I do both - complete a task AND use any dice previously secured by a spell to complete a second task?
Apr
8
reviewed No Action Needed Deep Space cannons: how many times can they shoot?
Apr
8
reviewed Approve suggested edit on How long does a creature returned by the Whip of Erebos remain on the battlefield?
Apr
1
reviewed No Action Needed Where to buy or how to cut blank hexes for own game prototype?
Apr
1
reviewed No Action Needed If partner opens one heart, what do I need to respond with one spade?
Apr
1
reviewed Reject suggested edit on How should I approach teaching Magic:The Gathering to a new player?
Apr
1
reviewed Reject suggested edit on How should I approach teaching Magic:The Gathering to a new player?
Mar
31
comment How can I win against Phyrexian Unlife?
relevant as the asker is playing black - cards that cause loss of life do not cause poison counters.
Mar
27
comment Counter heavy proactive control with a distruption-based aggro deck in the Legacy format
This may well be far from the answer you were looking for, but as I wrote another comment on the question it ended up feeling more like an answer.