Reputation
4,202
Next tag badge:
271/400 score
42/80 answers
Badges
1 13 44
Impact
~42k people reached

Jun
27
revised Where does the term “sacred discard” come from?
added 400 characters in body
Jun
26
answered Where does the term “sacred discard” come from?
Jun
16
answered Does the 3-3 invasion work with 3 stones already placed?
May
3
awarded  Popular Question
Mar
23
answered Is one allowed to play Go with a notebook?
Mar
22
awarded  go
Mar
20
revised Why is this NOT joseki?
added 287 characters in body
Mar
20
answered Why is this NOT joseki?
Mar
16
comment How far can you safely extend from your own wall?
@naught101 Black stole the edge area from white, so white cannot make eyes there anymore - which sucks, because making eyes in the center is much more difficult (it simply takes more stones to do so). Accordingly, white cannot expect to make many points with this group (because she will probably be busy to keep them alive). I'm not saying the white stones are weak, but they are weaker than they should be, without any gain in exchange - it is simply a poor trade, and white should try to avoid it if possible. In this case, it is relatively simply to avoid without major losses, so why not!
Mar
14
awarded  Popular Question
Feb
28
comment What happens in Go if you “take back” a ko before making a ko threat?
I was not aware of that. I thought the rules we used at the EGC (and other tournaments) are official, and did not cover this - or did they? I may have misremembered.
Feb
7
reviewed Approve world-in-flames tag wiki excerpt
Feb
7
reviewed Edit Does this creature give itself +1/+1?
Feb
7
revised Does this creature give itself +1/+1?
copyediting
Feb
7
reviewed Edit clash-of-cultures tag wiki excerpt
Feb
7
revised clash-of-cultures wiki excerpt
edited body
Feb
7
reviewed Approve harry-potter-rah tag wiki excerpt
Feb
7
reviewed Approve city-of-horror tag wiki excerpt
Jan
29
comment Fight - can black stones be killed?
I know there is a book which explains this sort of situation, but I just can't remember which one it was. It also covered why 7 is a mistake (a classic - everyone made it at one point in their Go career, I bet).
Jan
29
comment Fight - can black stones be killed?
In the second to last picture, 7 should be either at 9 or at C3. Once black gets 15, there is absolutely no way to kill it - however, the shown sequence is not correct in several places. For instance, 19 should definitely be at 20, and black can very easily live with 21 at M2, even though he has even better ways.