3,832 reputation
11339
bio website kgsbash.org
location Germany
age 27
visits member for 4 years
seen yesterday

I'm a 27 year old EGF 1 dan, playing Go since late 2006. I was active in the community at Sensei's and the former SE-1.0 site shidogo.com, now switched my attention to BCG.SE

I've created a platform for bad Go jokes.


11h
awarded  Yearling
1d
comment Go - How does one count territory in these two scenarios? (9x9)
Hi Rikku, welcome to this site! I've tried to answer your question, but if you feel like it, also check out playgo.to/iwtg/en, in particular their counting lessons. I learned Go using that tutorial, hope you find it helpful too :)
1d
answered Go - How does one count territory in these two scenarios? (9x9)
1d
reviewed Approve suggested edit on Go - How does one count territory in these two scenarios? (9x9)
Oct
15
revised 4-4 high approach joseki question
edited body
Oct
15
comment 4-4 high approach joseki question
@Tomas 1) Yep, black "5", fixed. 2) After b D18, white plays atari at D18, black connects at C17, then white F15. 3) Yes, white should capture. It would be really good for white. 4) :)
Oct
10
comment 4-4 high approach joseki question
Your C17 is probably better than the C18 I suggested, as it does not give black the option to E18 in sente.
Oct
10
revised 4-4 high approach joseki question
added 1844 characters in body
Oct
10
answered 4-4 high approach joseki question
Oct
6
comment How to apply the ko rule (Go)
If such a situation arises in your game it would be great if you could put in a photo of it. We could try and analyze it, and I think it might be easier than you expected. It feels (not sure) like you have wrongly interpreted how to treat that situation. Maybe not though, ko tends to be good for surprises :)
Oct
6
comment How to apply the ko rule (Go)
@adam.baker Yes, you are right. However, such a situation is really rare. If you have a situation with multiple ko at the same time, usually one player will simply close one of them and ignore the other (whatever gives him the best result globally). It is extremely unusual that all ko are connected and one player absolutely cannot give in. In such a situation, superko would apply, and you would have to keep track of the previous situations, or whatever your used rule book states (it's not something everyone agrees on...). Hope that clears it up a bit.
Oct
2
comment Translation Software
Hello @Leopold, welcome to this site. I'm afraid this is not the best place to ask this question as we probably don't have the required expertise to give you a really helpful answer.
Sep
30
awarded  Explainer
Sep
11
revised Are professional ranks representative for how many stones of handicap players can give each other?
added 676 characters in body
Sep
8
revised 4-4 high approach joseki incomplete?
added 450 characters in body
Sep
8
comment Where can I find a good Joseki database?
The Gendai is one of many sources for both senseis/joseki and josekipedia, but I would be very surprised if anyone actually input all of Gendai's content into either database. Further, those databases contain (tons of) information from elsewhere. So they are certainly not equivalent, but rather supplementary.
Sep
8
revised 4-4 high approach joseki incomplete?
added 654 characters in body
Sep
4
revised 4-4 high approach joseki incomplete?
added 1216 characters in body
Sep
4
revised 4-4 high approach joseki incomplete?
added 1234 characters in body
Sep
4
revised 4-4 high approach joseki incomplete?
added 1234 characters in body