Reputation
2,322
Top tag
Next privilege 3,500 Rep.
Protect questions
Badges
6 19
Newest
 Yearling
Impact
~25k people reached

Aug
13
comment bridge question regarding answering opening of 1 of a major
As Peter mentions in his answer below, please update your question with information about the bidding system you are playing. For example, Standard American, Acol, Goren, etc.
Aug
10
comment Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A
@ryanyuyu Rules of thumb for leading from an honor sequence are quite different from rules of thumb for leading from an unsupported honor or worthless suit.
Aug
10
comment Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A
@user93353 Leading an unsupported ace against a high-level contract is far more common than all of the following situations being true: (a) opening leader has a 7+ card suit, (b) partner has a void, (c) the suit might be headed by the AK or KQ, (d) it matters whether partner ruffs at trick 1, (e) the A is not in dummy.
Aug
9
answered Bridge: Opening lead from AK - why K instead of A
Aug
9
answered Bridge: Which transfer do you use with both majors - one 5 carder and another 4 carder
Feb
25
answered How does one evaluate a hand responding to a “strong” two clubs?
Feb
25
comment How does one evaluate a hand responding to a “strong” two clubs?
@TomAu I remember from your previous discussions that your definition of 2C is somewhat different from what is now common in systems based on Standard American (essentially all hands with 22+ HCP or any hand with 8.5+ top tricks). With that agreement, neither partner is captain after 2C-2D-2S since 2S does not set trumps and neither player is narrowly limited in strength. After 2C-2D-2NT, responder is captain since opener is limited to 22-24 HCP balanced.
Dec
22
comment Should I reopen this hand?
Besides giving us the bidding agreement, you should also specify your form of scoring (rubber bridge, IMPs, matchpoints).
Dec
22
answered Should I reopen this hand?
Dec
22
revised Should I reopen this hand?
fixed spelling, improved title, improved formatting
Dec
16
awarded  Yearling
Nov
11
awarded  Enlightened
Sep
30
awarded  Explainer
Sep
26
answered Do you need more to “pre-empt” with a major, than a minor suit?
Aug
24
awarded  Enthusiast
Aug
23
reviewed Looks OK Use of the special power “Diplomat” against another player not yet entered the game in Smallworld
Aug
23
reviewed Reviewed Questionable borders on seazone 3
Aug
23
reviewed Close Where I can buy good resources to build games?
Aug
23
reviewed Leave Open What, generally, happens to card prices when a new set is released?
Aug
23
reviewed Close What is a good resource to discover new games?