1,879 reputation
315
bio website google.com
location New York, NY
age 34
visits member for 3 years, 7 months
seen 12 hours ago
I'm a software engineer at Google.

12h
comment What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
In general, you should assume partner has bid correctly. There is essentially no world in which bidding 2H is a +EV action with (s) 65 (h) AKQ32 (d) T84 (c) 765; if partner in fact had that hand and you get in trouble because you bid on, this is a good point for discussion after the session.
1d
revised What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
added 8 characters in body
1d
answered What is a proper bidding sequence after a “weak 2” bid?
Jul
27
revised Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
typo
Jul
27
comment Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
Sometimes responder becomes declarer (especially when the opening bid was one of a minor). Sometimes you have a broken honor holding in your suit and can't afford to lead it yourself, so you hope to get partner in with your opening lead so they can switch to your suit.
Jul
26
answered Should you overcall with a (slightly) weaker hand if it is more “disruptive?”
Jul
23
comment Why is this type of hesitation considered unethical?
Quite right. I've modified the last sentence to reflect this.
Jul
23
revised Why is this type of hesitation considered unethical?
added 23 characters in body
Jul
21
answered Why is this type of hesitation considered unethical?
Jul
18
comment Should I have made a takeout double in the situation?
I feel that you are overstating your case. Certainly it is not unusual to play takeout by opener in this situation. Perhaps that is only reasonable in conjunction with good methods. For example, playing lebensohl with negative doubles, I think you should double with this hand to protect partner's ability to penalize with a club stack, or to play a reasonable partscore when partner was unable to act with a weak hand and 4=1=4=4 shape. Playing lebensohl with penalty doubles, this hand should double to play a reasonable partscore when partner can't act with two 4-card suits without a game force.
Jul
17
answered Should I have made a takeout double in the situation?
Jul
12
answered Do you replace tokens moved to the Trade Route mat?
Jul
10
reviewed Approve suggested edit on How do you score 5,5,5,5 in-hand with a non-ten, non-face card turned up?
Jul
10
answered Forced Response to a Convenient Minor Open
Jul
8
comment Bridge: Usage of the stop card
@ThanosDarkadakis Yes, absolutely.
Jul
8
answered Bridge: Usage of the stop card
Jul
6
reviewed Approve suggested edit on After being drawn into a gate during an Encounter, do you have an Other World encounter in the same turn?
Jul
6
answered Double after a pre-empt?
Jul
4
comment When might a Standard American bidder “bend” the five card major rule?
@DrewHoskins I think the reason for the 5332 trend is more likely that when you can't hold a balanced 15-16 HCP for a 1M opening, some rebids become more descriptive. So, for example, after 1H-1NT, my 2NT rebid shows 18+.
Jun
30
revised How high do transfer bids (to 1NT) go?
Clarify wording