8,845 reputation
1738
bio website
location Saskatoon, Canada
age
visits member for 3 years, 10 months
seen 20 hours ago

Oct
3
answered Custom boards for Eclipse
Sep
30
comment When should I get rid of the queen of spades in Hearts?
With a very heavy spade hand it may still be risky as you may get the lead while being the only one left with spades!
Sep
30
awarded  Explainer
Sep
22
comment What effect does Coat of Arms have on face-down creatures?
The shorthand is codified in comprehensive rule 205.3m Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types
Sep
11
comment How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?
@murgatroid99 Ah, I read "copy it and activate the ability" literally.
Sep
11
comment How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?
@Jefromi I don't understand how that could work. Activating a +1 Loyalty ability is done only when you could play a sorcery. He's still a planeswalker and retains his types when he becomes a creature (see the Gatherer page: He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon.) So that means when the copy ability resolves, the planeswalker rule kicks in next time you get priority as a state-based effect. There would be no opportunity to put the loyalty ability on the stack.
Sep
2
comment Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?
Actually the wording of 702.54b and 702.54c does make the permanent/card distinction. Permanents are never in the exile zone, only cards. 702.54a takes the shortcut of "it" referring to the permanent as a card in the graveyard. However, I completely overlooked Haunt when I made my point about creatures can't go to the graveyard and then immediately move to exile. Retracted!
Aug
29
comment Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?
Your answer is correct, but a note about Magic Terminology and the rules: There is no way for a creature to be exiled after it goes to the graveyard. Creature cards can be exiled from the graveyard, but they are not creatures. Creatures are only permanents on the battlefield. This is an important distinction for novices who try to use an "exile target creature" effect on cards in the graveyard.
Aug
20
comment Are the odds of drawing mythics greater when purchasing individually packaged boosters over booster boxes?
If your experience is truly one in five single booster pack purchases gets you a mythic rare, then you are simply lucky with a small sample set. One in Eight rare cards in a booster pack will be a mythic rare. Since there are 36 boosters in a box, you should only expect to get 4-5 Mythic Rare cards.
Aug
13
awarded  Nice Answer
Aug
7
answered What game is this die from?
Aug
7
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@Todd Lastly, what happens to the poor slob who lands on or gains a go-to-jail card? Now they have to wait even longer to get a chance to buy a property, severely punishing them for being so unlucky on the first lap around the board.
Aug
7
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@Todd Waiting to go around once just means that people have more money to buy properties on the second go-around, which means the person who is unlucky and has lower rolls and doesn't roll doubles is at even more of a disadvantage, as the luckier people have more of a head start. Without the house rule, at least the person going last has a better chance at winning auctions on later properties. All you've done is switched the luck from the luck of the draw to the luck of the roll.
Aug
7
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@Todd I haven't done a rigorous statistical analysis, but the part I don't buy is that the person going last has an appreciable disadvantage which would be mitigated by this house rule. Whether or not the pieces are "spread out" is irrelevant, except that it acts as a placebo for people who think that bunched up pieces means their odds of landing on a bought property have increased.
Aug
6
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@Todd There's also a "reasonable" chance that players 3 and 4 will pass players 1 and 2. I don't buy this analysis.
Aug
6
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
I'd love to see rigorous probability testing of this. My intuition is that the silly "go around first" rule is more of a placebo for those looking for patterns (I always pay rent when I go last!) than making any appreciable difference. What's the difference in being unlucky and moving last and being unlucky and not being the guy that rolls doubles and zips around the board?
Jul
21
revised What effect do Strionic Resonator and Vorinclex, Voice of Hunger have together?
Wrong reference.
Jul
12
comment How does Athreos, God of Passage respond to creature tokens?
To help clear up some confusion: a creature token is both a creature and a token. It can be returned to your hand because Athreos says so and it's a creature, it won't actually get to your hand because it's a token (CR 110.5g).
Jul
10
answered “A player must capture as many pieces as possible.” What happens if he doesn't?
Jun
25
comment When a card asks you to flip a coin is it against the rules to use a two headed coin?
@Gregor I confess to a downvote. Is a question still bad if it has generated a good answer? I'm not sure, but I tend towards yes. I downvoted to discourage the obvious followup question: “Would a judge issue me a penalty if I stacked my deck?”