Reputation
10,862
Next tag badge:
705/1000 score
102/200 answers
Badges
22 50
Newest
 Good Answer
Impact
~553k people reached

Mar
16
comment Do you need to show what you draw?
@Samthere I agree, if someone really wanted to cheat they would probably get away with it because people would not expect it. Who the heck would ruin such a light-hearted game by cheating?? :) — But a simple house rule "reveal before putting it in your hand or your defuse won't work" would alleviate that issue if your play group is suspicious.
Mar
16
comment Do you need to show what you draw?
I think cheating is difficult, since you must show the kitten immediately. Every time I've played we reveal it before even adding it to our hand. Adding a "fake kitten" to your hand and then shuffling cards around to reveal a kitten drawn earlier would be very suspicious.
Feb
23
comment How do you calculate the likelihood of drawing certain cards in your opening hand?
@DrunkCynic Isn't that what user1873 said in the sentence directly following his bullet points?
Feb
14
awarded  Good Answer
Feb
11
awarded  Nice Answer
Feb
5
comment name and rules of a numerical card game
What is the time period and geographic location you heard about or played this game? I think a 60 card numbered deck is quite unusual, but the Milton Bradley game Rack-O uses them. Could it be this was simply a custom game someone made up that uses those cards?
Jan
26
comment Can I use one spell multiple times
@EliZo12 What software online were you using to play this game? If it was the official Magic the Gathering Online, it's doubtful this happened the way you described. If it was something else not official, perhaps it simply doesn't have rules validation and this functionality is built in to accommodate spells which copy other spells. Perhaps it was just a virtual gameboard which assumes players will follow the rules when playing their cards.
Jan
26
comment Etiquette for the Stack in MTG
@npst The comprehensive rules don't define where exactly cards in a zone are physically located, it only defines what the zone contains. The Stack is a zone where cards are in last-in first-out order. If the players remember the order the cards entered the zone and agree to glue them to their foreheads, that's perfectly fine, I believe.
Jan
26
revised Etiquette for the Stack in MTG
added 215 characters in body
Jan
26
answered Etiquette for the Stack in MTG
Jan
25
answered Does this Go-like game have a name?
Jan
20
comment How to grant haste en masse in a mono-green Commander deck?
One thing to consider, do you need to give the creatures haste en-masse? A Heedless One with Swiftfoot Boots or a similar artifact would do the trick. Combine with Wirewood Hivemaster and she should get big enough.
Jan
11
awarded  Nice Answer
Dec
22
awarded  Yearling
Dec
10
comment Highest possible power of a creature
I think it might be appropriate to point out in this answer that "infinite time" to play out the game is unnecessary. CR 716 contains the rules for taking shortcuts to handle repetitive loops that would create an arbitrarily large number of +1/+1 counters.
Dec
10
comment Can an opponent bolt a mana-generating creature to stop me from generating mana?
Heh, I agree with @Rainbolt. So now do we reopen and mark as duplicate again, pointing to the better duplicate question? Or does this require moderator attention?
Nov
10
comment Returning card to hand off Emeria Shephard from Plains trigger
Disagree. If the card worked the way you think it does, it would have been templated like this: Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, you may return target nonland permanent card from your graveyard to your hand. If that land is a Plains, return it to the battlefield instead.
Nov
3
comment Protection from color vs hexproof
@GendoIkari A good point, but irrelevant in the case of COP:Green, which is what I suspect we're talking about here. I can't think of any other cards that care about colour of source besides that and the Runes of Protection.
Nov
3
comment Protection from color vs hexproof
We really need to know the specific cards. If your "prevent all damage from a green source" card uses the word "target" then you will not be protected, as you cannot target a hexproof creature. If the ability on the card is not targeted, then you will be protected. Are you using a Circle of Protection: Green? That is not targeted.
Nov
3
comment Can equipment be re-equipped to another creature?
Welcome to the site! This isn't an answer to the question, so it's going to get flagged and/or downvoted. That said, you're correct. The rules are very clear. Gaining control of the creature does not give you control of the artifact equipment. CR 301.5d makes this explicit. (Remember that you can only pay equip costs during the main phase of your turn.) If the people you play with don't play this way, then you need to educate them!