Reputation
10,283
Next tag badge:
672/1000 score
101/200 answers
Badges
20 47
Newest
 Enlightened
Impact
~452k people reached

Mar
6
comment Regeneration specifics: activation of the ability in combat
possible duplicate of How does regeneration work in Magic the Gathering?
Mar
6
revised How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?
deleted 43 characters in body
Mar
6
answered How do twitch effects work with the stack vs activated tap abilities?
Mar
5
comment What happens to a destroyed creature with two totem armors on it?
The comprehensive rule behind this Gatherer ruling is 616.1. If two or more replacement and/or prevention effects are attempting to modify the way an event affects an object or player, the affected object's controller (or its owner if it has no controller) or the affected player chooses one to apply, following the steps listed below. — Since only one replacement effect "If enchanted permanent would be destroyed, instead remove all damage marked on it and destroy this Aura." is applied, the other aura isn't destroyed.
Feb
27
comment Do the Magic tournament rules allow Rock-Paper-Scissors to see who goes first?
@Pwngulator An interesting idea, but are the collector numbers randomly distributed? That is, are there the same number of odd collector number common cards as even? What pool is the card being drawn from? Popular sideboard cards may have 60% odd collector numbers, for examle… I realize of course, this is pedantic to the extreme and the person choosing odd or even is unlikely to make such considerations.
Feb
27
comment Is cycling a card from your hand considered a spell or ability?
To be strict, you didn't actually "draw" the sliver: it won't trigger any abilities that look for a draw. Unlike most forms of cycling, with slivercycling you don't draw a card, you choose a sliver from your library and put it in your hand. I know that's likely what you meant, but MtG terminology is important and I don't want readers to be confused.
Feb
26
comment Do the Magic tournament rules allow Rock-Paper-Scissors to see who goes first?
If you cut to highest CMC of the same deck, I think it would be fair. But then you'd gain some knowledge of that person's deck. I think the odds of not having a coin or die available are fairly slim… :)
Feb
26
comment Are Summon - [insert-creature-type-here] cards creatures?
Comprehensive rules glossary: Wall: A creature type with no particular rules meaning. Older cards with the Wall creature type but without defender had an unwritten ability that precluded them from attacking. Those cards have received errata in the Oracle card reference to have defender. Some older cards that referenced the Wall creature type have also received errata. See Defender.
Feb
15
comment If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
Really, 702.82 should include the "cards already moving to the exile zone aren't replaced by unearth's effect" caveat to make this clear.
Feb
15
comment What mechanics exist that trigger Burning Vengeance?
@AlexP Oh yes, that's why Yawgmouth's Agenda's text wasn't changed — it still lets you play lands from the graveyard as if they're in your hand.
Feb
15
comment If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
I've come around to your point of view. The english is a bit ambiguous, but the intention seems clear. Sorry for the confusion. :)
Feb
15
revised If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
Changed my mind with the interpretation of the Unearth keyword. Conclusion remains the same.
Feb
15
revised What mechanics exist that trigger Burning Vengeance?
added 544 characters in body
Feb
15
revised What mechanics exist that trigger Burning Vengeance?
added 236 characters in body
Feb
15
answered What mechanics exist that trigger Burning Vengeance?
Feb
15
comment If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
Check out rulings for Anvil of Bogardan‌​: "If the draw part of the effect is skipped due to a replacement effect, the discard part of the effect is not skipped." Same situation here, even if the part before then is skipped/replaced, the second part is unaffected (as long as it can still track the creature as per 400.7g).
Feb
15
revised If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
added 136 characters in body
Feb
15
comment If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
I think 400.7g is pretty clear. Flicker is still resolving, therefore can still keep track of the creature even if the exile part of the spell is replaced, since the Exile zone is public.
Feb
15
revised If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
added 791 characters in body
Feb
15
revised If I cast Flicker on an unearthed creature, does it remain exiled?
deleted 132 characters in body