9,010 reputation
1840
bio website
location Saskatoon, Canada
age
visits member for 4 years
seen 2 days ago

Sep
5
comment Diminishing Returns vs Increasing Returns
Welcome to the site! I like the idea of your game, but I don't understand what you're asking. The way this question is written makes it too subjective and the answers opinion based and not a good fit for a stackexchange site.
Sep
3
comment Can I “hide” a Vesuvan Shapeshifter?
@Jefromi I'm not a tournament judge, by any means, but yes that's how I read the situation. (You would also have to tell them which one you flipped last turn.) It would be like if someone played a spell that let them look at one card in your hand… if they forget what that card was, that's their problem.
Sep
3
revised Can I “hide” a Vesuvan Shapeshifter?
added 720 characters in body
Sep
3
answered Can I “hide” a Vesuvan Shapeshifter?
Sep
1
awarded  Pundit
Aug
29
comment Do tokens ever go to the graveyard and can they be sacrificed or exiled?
I'm certain whatever card you're referring to would say …for every creature card in your graveyard… Similarly, reanimation spells always say "return target creature card" to the battlefield (or your hand). The graveyard never contains creatures, only cards. Tokens are not cards, they are only permanents on the battlefield.
Aug
20
comment Does Goblin Test Pilot hit a Planeswalker?
Those who like Comprehensive Rules should know that this is covered by CR 306.7 If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied.
Aug
14
comment Voracious Wurm and Trostani, Selesnya's Voice: Which trigger happens first?
@bengoesboom CR 603.1 Triggered abilities have a trigger condition and an effect. They are written as "[Trigger condition], [effect]," and begin with the word "when," "whenever," or "at." They can also be expressed as "[When/Whenever/At] [trigger event], [effect]."
Aug
14
comment Voracious Wurm and Trostani, Selesnya's Voice: Which trigger happens first?
@bengoesboom CR 614.1c Effects that read "[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ," "As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ," or "[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . " are replacement effects.
Aug
13
comment Cumulative Upkeep on the Stack
Hi Milo. I think it's time I introduced you to Eon Hub. Eon Hub, meet Milo. I think he'd like to get to know you.
Aug
13
comment Cloudshifting an existing Fiend hunter
Even though you get to stack the LTB and ETB in either order, it doesn't matter, since the LTB ability will use "last known information" (CR 112.7a) of the Fiend Hunter which no longer exists. I don't see how this is different than say, an unsummon or kill spell on the Fiend Hunter… the LTB ability has to know which card was exiled when it resolves even if the Fiend Hunter is no longer on the battlefield.
Aug
13
comment Cloudshifting an existing Fiend hunter
This question is answered by CR 406.5: An object may have one ability printed on it that causes one or more cards to be exiled, and another ability that refers either to "the exiled cards" or to cards "exiled with [this object]." These abilities are linked: the second refers only to cards that have been exiled due to the first. See rule 607, "Linked Abilities."
Aug
12
revised Cloudshifting an existing Fiend hunter
added 9 characters in body
Aug
12
answered Cloudshifting an existing Fiend hunter
Jul
30
revised Mechanism to balance all game stages
added 631 characters in body
Jul
30
answered Mechanism to balance all game stages
Jul
30
comment How long are magic cards actually “printed”/“In production”
Here is an article on wizards.com which explains how a card goes from conception to print. Magic the Gathering cards are printed by a company called Carta Mundi. I was going to theorize that sets are just printed in one run and warehoused for distribution, but your answer has specific details on how long a set is printed. It seems you only have to look at Magic Online Redemption Guarantee Dates to see how long a set is in production. Good answer.
Jul
17
comment If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?
Thought experiment: What if Living Inferno were instead a Psionic Inferno (see Psionic Entity) "{T}: Psionic Inferno deals damage equal to its power divided as you choose among any number of target creatures and X damage to itself where X is the total power of the targeted creatures." — then 112.7a kicks in.
Jul
17
comment If creatures targeted by Living Inferno's ability all die, what happens?
@user1873 What about the last part of CR608.2b? It cannot be ignored. "However, if any of its targets are illegal, the part of the spell or ability’s effect for which it is an illegal target can’t perform any actions on that target, make another object or player perform any actions on that target, or make that target perform any actions." Clearly, Living Inferno cannot force an illegal target to deal damage. I believe the explicit rules you mention for the keyword fight are a direct consequence of CR608.2b, and not just grafted onto the rules.
Jul
16
comment Can I combo Dismiss Into Dream with Living Inferno or Cauldron of Souls?
@MiloGertjejansen Here's a gatherer search with more "any number of target creature" options. Sway of Illusion in particular seems to fit perfectly mechanically and thematically. A board wipe when Dismiss into Dream is in play, and draw a card, all for the low cost of two mana! Artful Dodge also seems an exceptional fit.