9,439 reputation
1842
bio website
location Saskatoon, Canada
age
visits member for 4 years, 3 months
seen 25 mins ago

Mar
26
comment Does having 2 Flickerwisps and an Impact Tremors win me the game?
@Rainbolt Three, with Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker and Deceiver Exarch instead of two Flickerwisps. This combo has been used in the past with Warstorm Surge, now Impact Tremors makes it cheaper.
Mar
11
comment Can I counter a creature by invalidating the target of its “comes into play” effect?
@Waterseas Also, I'm not monitoring responses to my answers 24/7. I'm sorry that I bothered you because I took nearly 24 hours to respond. ;-) Your criticism of my answer was valid.
Mar
11
comment Can I counter a creature by invalidating the target of its “comes into play” effect?
@Waterseas I was confused by what the question was asking at first, and I think that coloured my response. I thought the question was really trying to ask "can I counter a creature ability." Of course a creature's comes into play trigger only happens after the creature has resolved so it's too late to counter it then. I'm going to edit and also add another note.
Feb
19
comment exiling cards from graveyard. can each trigger for multiple cards in play
Related: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/5892/… (Answer is no due to CR 117.10.)
Feb
19
comment Will this bounce work?
@Rainbolt I like that idea, but remember you have to return another permanent to your hand, so you'll need two. Another card to add to this deck to enable the infinite combo could be a Burning-Tree Emissary! They both could work together, or alone as multiples. — I guess with EDH they'll be alone so we'll need to find more cards like this. ;-)
Feb
18
comment Will this bounce work?
@GendoIkari Oh there are some non-artifact creatures who would disagree, if they had minds that we could fathom.
Jan
12
comment Does Marchesa and a creature with modular work together?
Actually, like Hackworth said in my answer above, Marchesa's ability triggers at the same time as the Ravager's ability. This triggered ability, when it resolves, sets up a delayed triggered ability that is triggered during the end step.
Jan
9
comment Did Balance change when its wording was changed?
It's a bit judgmental to say they were lazy. Magic terminology simply wasn't as codified and structured as it is today. I don't understand what point you're making in the last paragraph, the only functional difference I see between the wordings is that the gatherer text accounts for a game with more than two players.
Nov
26
comment In what kind of deck is Aether Vial good?
I don't have an answer, but this article has a lot of info: channelfireball.com/articles/woo-brews-aether-vial-and-pack-rat
Nov
24
comment How are M:TG cards printed in regards to the rarity of each card?
@Zags You forget the demand side of the supply/demand equation. Sure, Mythics are "only" twice as rare, but they also usually include the most sought after cards. (Hello Planeswalkers!)
Nov
18
comment What is the ability Flash about?
@Damaskox I agree that the wiki wording is confusing and unclear. Shame on them. However, the actual comprehensive rule is shown on that page, too, and it is quite explicit and clear: Flash is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on. "Flash" means "You may play this card any time you could cast an instant."
Nov
12
comment Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?
I find this question odd. You quote the rule that answers the question, then pose the question? What's unclear?
Sep
30
comment When should I get rid of the queen of spades in Hearts?
With a very heavy spade hand it may still be risky as you may get the lead while being the only one left with spades!
Sep
22
comment What effect does Coat of Arms have on face-down creatures?
The shorthand is codified in comprehensive rule 205.3m Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types
Sep
11
comment How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?
@murgatroid99 Ah, I read "copy it and activate the ability" literally.
Sep
11
comment How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?
@Jefromi I don't understand how that could work. Activating a +1 Loyalty ability is done only when you could play a sorcery. He's still a planeswalker and retains his types when he becomes a creature (see the Gatherer page: He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon.) So that means when the copy ability resolves, the planeswalker rule kicks in next time you get priority as a state-based effect. There would be no opportunity to put the loyalty ability on the stack.
Sep
2
comment Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?
Actually the wording of 702.54b and 702.54c does make the permanent/card distinction. Permanents are never in the exile zone, only cards. 702.54a takes the shortcut of "it" referring to the permanent as a card in the graveyard. However, I completely overlooked Haunt when I made my point about creatures can't go to the graveyard and then immediately move to exile. Retracted!
Aug
29
comment Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?
Your answer is correct, but a note about Magic Terminology and the rules: There is no way for a creature to be exiled after it goes to the graveyard. Creature cards can be exiled from the graveyard, but they are not creatures. Creatures are only permanents on the battlefield. This is an important distinction for novices who try to use an "exile target creature" effect on cards in the graveyard.
Aug
20
comment Are the odds of drawing mythics greater when purchasing individually packaged boosters over booster boxes?
If your experience is truly one in five single booster pack purchases gets you a mythic rare, then you are simply lucky with a small sample set. One in Eight rare cards in a booster pack will be a mythic rare. Since there are 36 boosters in a box, you should only expect to get 4-5 Mythic Rare cards.
Aug
7
comment Do you have to go around the board once to purchase properties?
@Todd Lastly, what happens to the poor slob who lands on or gains a go-to-jail card? Now they have to wait even longer to get a chance to buy a property, severely punishing them for being so unlucky on the first lap around the board.