Reputation
9,714
Next tag badge:
629/1000 score
96/200 answers
Badges
18 44
Newest
 Nice Answer
Impact
~379k people reached

2d
comment Why is 21 damage from a commander lethal?
Yeah, I've seen it elsewhere online, in a reddit thread, it seems to be common knowledge and makes sense. Originally an alternate win condition was three hits from a commander and you're dead.
May
11
comment Do I “control” creatures in my graveyard?
Indeed, one distinction that trips people up is that there are never creatures in your graveyard. Only creature cards. The only place you find creatures is on the battlefield.
Apr
27
comment Probabilities: Backgammon - final move
If you like the math, here's an actual mathematical paper on the subject.
Mar
26
comment Does having 2 Flickerwisps and an Impact Tremors win me the game?
@Rainbolt Three, with Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker and Deceiver Exarch instead of two Flickerwisps. This combo has been used in the past with Warstorm Surge, now Impact Tremors makes it cheaper.
Mar
11
comment Can I counter a creature by invalidating the target of its “comes into play” effect?
@Waterseas Also, I'm not monitoring responses to my answers 24/7. I'm sorry that I bothered you because I took nearly 24 hours to respond. ;-) Your criticism of my answer was valid.
Mar
11
comment Can I counter a creature by invalidating the target of its “comes into play” effect?
@Waterseas I was confused by what the question was asking at first, and I think that coloured my response. I thought the question was really trying to ask "can I counter a creature ability." Of course a creature's comes into play trigger only happens after the creature has resolved so it's too late to counter it then. I'm going to edit and also add another note.
Feb
19
comment exiling cards from graveyard. can each trigger for multiple cards in play
Related: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/5892/… (Answer is no due to CR 117.10.)
Feb
19
comment Will this bounce work?
@Rainbolt I like that idea, but remember you have to return another permanent to your hand, so you'll need two. Another card to add to this deck to enable the infinite combo could be a Burning-Tree Emissary! They both could work together, or alone as multiples. — I guess with EDH they'll be alone so we'll need to find more cards like this. ;-)
Feb
18
comment Will this bounce work?
@GendoIkari Oh there are some non-artifact creatures who would disagree, if they had minds that we could fathom.
Jan
12
comment Does Marchesa and a creature with modular work together?
Actually, like Hackworth said in my answer above, Marchesa's ability triggers at the same time as the Ravager's ability. This triggered ability, when it resolves, sets up a delayed triggered ability that is triggered during the end step.
Jan
9
comment Did Balance change when its wording was changed?
It's a bit judgmental to say they were lazy. Magic terminology simply wasn't as codified and structured as it is today. I don't understand what point you're making in the last paragraph, the only functional difference I see between the wordings is that the gatherer text accounts for a game with more than two players.
Nov
26
comment In what kind of deck is Aether Vial good?
I don't have an answer, but this article has a lot of info: channelfireball.com/articles/woo-brews-aether-vial-and-pack-rat
Nov
24
comment How are M:TG cards printed in regards to the rarity of each card?
@Zags You forget the demand side of the supply/demand equation. Sure, Mythics are "only" twice as rare, but they also usually include the most sought after cards. (Hello Planeswalkers!)
Nov
18
comment What is the ability Flash about?
@Damaskox I agree that the wiki wording is confusing and unclear. Shame on them. However, the actual comprehensive rule is shown on that page, too, and it is quite explicit and clear: Flash is a static ability that functions in any zone from which you could play the card it’s on. "Flash" means "You may play this card any time you could cast an instant."
Nov
12
comment Can Skullcrack's damage be prevented?
I find this question odd. You quote the rule that answers the question, then pose the question? What's unclear?
Sep
30
comment When should I get rid of the queen of spades in Hearts?
With a very heavy spade hand it may still be risky as you may get the lead while being the only one left with spades!
Sep
22
comment What effect does Coat of Arms have on face-down creatures?
The shorthand is codified in comprehensive rule 205.3m Creatures and tribals share their lists of subtypes; these subtypes are called creature types
Sep
11
comment How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?
@murgatroid99 Ah, I read "copy it and activate the ability" literally.
Sep
11
comment How does Gideon, Champion of Justice's ability work?
@Jefromi I don't understand how that could work. Activating a +1 Loyalty ability is done only when you could play a sorcery. He's still a planeswalker and retains his types when he becomes a creature (see the Gatherer page: He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon.) So that means when the copy ability resolves, the planeswalker rule kicks in next time you get priority as a state-based effect. There would be no opportunity to put the loyalty ability on the stack.
Sep
2
comment Does a exiling a creature after being destroyed or dealt lethal damage still count as if it “died”?
Actually the wording of 702.54b and 702.54c does make the permanent/card distinction. Permanents are never in the exile zone, only cards. 702.54a takes the shortcut of "it" referring to the permanent as a card in the graveyard. However, I completely overlooked Haunt when I made my point about creatures can't go to the graveyard and then immediately move to exile. Retracted!