2,362 reputation
619
bio website
location
age
visits member for 3 years, 6 months
seen 2 days ago

Apr
23
awarded  Popular Question
Apr
10
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@thesunneversets: I don't mean to imply that the card is perfect, or that it wouldn't have been better with the may clause. When I said that it should not have been written with a "may," I meant in response to the answer below that says essentially "Donald X. really meant to write may but didn't, so we should read it as if it had a may." Sorry if I came off too strongly.
Apr
10
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@RobRenaud: Probably low, but I can imagine corner cases involving Menagerie (you're about to draw some cards and don't want to draw Golds), Fairgrounds (you need a Treasure Map for the diversity but you want to get rid of one of your remaining two to cycle more effectively), Scrying Pool (topdecking Golds might disrupt your drawing), etc.
Apr
8
comment Dominion Seaside Treasure Map: do both copies activate?
@Konerak: No, because the "if" clause only triggers if you trash two Treasure Maps. The first time you play the original TM, you would be able to do so. The second time, though, the original TM has already been trashed; you would therefore trash the remaining TM from your hand but not gain the Golds, because you hadn't trashed two TMs during that play of the original TM.
Apr
8
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@Joe: the reason you would not reveal your hand is because nothing in the card directions says to reveal your hand. Sometimes cards specify that you have to reveal your hand if you can't take a particular action, but other times they do not. Compare Bureaucrat and Moneylender from the base set, or Cutpurse and Treasure Map from Seaside. The first card in each pair contains a reveal the hand clause, whereas the latter card does not.
Apr
8
revised Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
added 144 characters in body
Apr
8
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@user1873: Your distinction is neither accurate nor supported by the text of the card or the rules. There is nothing in the Treasure Map card or the FAQ that says anything about revealing your hand. Please don't pass on incorrect information.
Apr
8
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@user1873: You are absolutely wrong about not including the may. That it not unfortunate; it is deliberate. Your rewording of Treasure Map is a different card.
Apr
8
answered Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
Apr
4
revised Choosing between Shanty Town and Village when both are in the Kingdom set?
Filled in a missing word
Apr
3
answered Choosing between Shanty Town and Village when both are in the Kingdom set?
Mar
31
comment What does Masquerade do when you have no cards in hand, library or discard?
@thesunneversets is correct. The fact that you can get a card from Masquerade even if you don't have a card to send over is the root of the infamous KC-Goons-Masquerade pin, whereby your opponent's deck is slowly whittled down to nothing and they have zero cards in hand every turn once the pin has begun. There have been lots of discussions about the pin on both BoardGameGeek and DominionStrategy.com's forums.
Mar
26
awarded  dominion
Mar
22
answered What happens when I play a Swindler and no cards with the same cost as the trashed card are in the kingdom set?
Feb
10
revised What's a good counter-strategy to Workshop/Garden?
added 273 characters in body
Feb
10
revised What's a good counter-strategy to Workshop/Garden?
added 273 characters in body
Feb
10
answered What's a good counter-strategy to Workshop/Garden?
Feb
3
comment Does mixing Dominion expansions lessen the power of card combinations in random kingdom setups?
You had asked about Donald X.'s response to your Scout analysis; while I can't speak for him, I can give you some thoughts. You're right that Scout is useful for clearing out your deck of otherwise un-useful cards, and so discard-for-benefit cards like Warehouse, Cellar, or Vault become more powerful. But there's lots of limitations to that, most notably that a deck with lots of green in it is less likely to allow you to draw the cards you need for the combo at the same time as Scout.
Feb
3
answered Does mixing Dominion expansions lessen the power of card combinations in random kingdom setups?
Jan
19
awarded  Enlightened