2,382 reputation
722
bio website
location
age
visits member for 3 years, 11 months
seen 11 hours ago

Nov
26
comment Is the Forager's coin bonus counted during Action Phase or Buy Phase?
To add to this answer, there's an edge case in which your coin total matters during your Action phase: Poor House. If you have a hand full of Treasure cards, playing Poor House can actually result in having fewer coins available to spend than if you did not Poor House. (The FAQ clarifies that Poor House can't take you below 0 coins, but it can wipe out coins you already had available. For instance, if you have 5 Treasure cards in your hand and 2 coins available prior to playing Poor House, Poor House would take you down to 1 coin (2+4-5).
Jan
25
comment Procession and Throne room interaction
This is absolutely correct. You will play Procession and choose Throne Room. So you play TR twice. The first time you play TR, you must choose an action card from your hand and play it twice. That's your Bridge. Now you play TR a second time, and must choose an action card from your hand to play twice. Only Village is left, so Village it is. Now you've finished Procession's instruction to play an Action twice, so you now move on to the remaining instructions on the Procession.
Oct
13
comment If I buy a Mint, do I still get to use the coins from the treasures I played that turn to buy a Grand Market?
I'm sorry, but the Prosperity rulebook as well as the online implementations on Isotropic and Goko (which have been vetted by Donald X., the game creator) all disagree with you.
Aug
31
comment Procession and pillage interaction
You are correct. The end result is that Pillage's attack happens, the Pillage ends up in the Trash, you gain 4 Spoils, and you gain a $6 Action card. It's just like Throne Room-ing a Feast; because gaining the $6 Action card from Procession is not dependent on Trashing the Pillage (there is no "if you do" clause), then you must still gain the $6 Action card even though the Pillage is already in the Trash when Procession tries to trash it.
May
10
comment How much would the cards from Dominion: Alchemy cost if you wanted to use them while not playing with potions?
@warbaker: In Vineyards games you'll see folks buy more Potions in order to rush the Vineyards pile.
Apr
10
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@thesunneversets: I don't mean to imply that the card is perfect, or that it wouldn't have been better with the may clause. When I said that it should not have been written with a "may," I meant in response to the answer below that says essentially "Donald X. really meant to write may but didn't, so we should read it as if it had a may." Sorry if I came off too strongly.
Apr
10
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@RobRenaud: Probably low, but I can imagine corner cases involving Menagerie (you're about to draw some cards and don't want to draw Golds), Fairgrounds (you need a Treasure Map for the diversity but you want to get rid of one of your remaining two to cycle more effectively), Scrying Pool (topdecking Golds might disrupt your drawing), etc.
Apr
8
comment Dominion Seaside Treasure Map: do both copies activate?
@Konerak: No, because the "if" clause only triggers if you trash two Treasure Maps. The first time you play the original TM, you would be able to do so. The second time, though, the original TM has already been trashed; you would therefore trash the remaining TM from your hand but not gain the Golds, because you hadn't trashed two TMs during that play of the original TM.
Apr
8
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@Joe: the reason you would not reveal your hand is because nothing in the card directions says to reveal your hand. Sometimes cards specify that you have to reveal your hand if you can't take a particular action, but other times they do not. Compare Bureaucrat and Moneylender from the base set, or Cutpurse and Treasure Map from Seaside. The first card in each pair contains a reveal the hand clause, whereas the latter card does not.
Apr
8
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@user1873: Your distinction is neither accurate nor supported by the text of the card or the rules. There is nothing in the Treasure Map card or the FAQ that says anything about revealing your hand. Please don't pass on incorrect information.
Apr
8
comment Do you have to reveal your hand when using Treasure Map and not trashing a TM from your hand?
@user1873: You are absolutely wrong about not including the may. That it not unfortunate; it is deliberate. Your rewording of Treasure Map is a different card.
Mar
31
comment What does Masquerade do when you have no cards in hand, library or discard?
@thesunneversets is correct. The fact that you can get a card from Masquerade even if you don't have a card to send over is the root of the infamous KC-Goons-Masquerade pin, whereby your opponent's deck is slowly whittled down to nothing and they have zero cards in hand every turn once the pin has begun. There have been lots of discussions about the pin on both BoardGameGeek and DominionStrategy.com's forums.
Feb
3
comment Does mixing Dominion expansions lessen the power of card combinations in random kingdom setups?
You had asked about Donald X.'s response to your Scout analysis; while I can't speak for him, I can give you some thoughts. You're right that Scout is useful for clearing out your deck of otherwise un-useful cards, and so discard-for-benefit cards like Warehouse, Cellar, or Vault become more powerful. But there's lots of limitations to that, most notably that a deck with lots of green in it is less likely to allow you to draw the cards you need for the combo at the same time as Scout.
Dec
11
comment Is there a strategy for consistent winning in the base dominion game with the base setup?
This question has been settled definitely by simulators. Single Smithy, no Village is far faster than any other number of Smithies/Villages. The Workshop will only slow you down because either you'll draw it dead from the Smithy regularly or you'll need to buy Villages to play it with the Smithy, which also slows you down from buying Silver. See forum.dominionstrategy.com/…. WanderingWinder is one of the top players in the world and this is an easy scenario to simulate.
Dec
8
comment Is Saboteur better in a 4-player game than a 2-player game?
If it looked like it was going to turn into a Sab-fest, Estates would definitely become a priority. But, you want to be careful if a) there are no über-cheap piles, or b) if your opponents take nothing rather than a lower-cost card. In those scenarios, I don't know if Silver would be better than Estates.
Oct
20
comment When should I buy copper in Dominion?
Adding to your contrived example: if I'm playing a Pirate Ship strategy, I might Ambassador some Coppers over to my opponent in order to give my Ship another target and might eventually need to buy a Copper in order to give my Ambassador more fodder. This is almost certainly not the optimal way to play an Ambassador/Ship strategy, but it's possible.
Aug
28
comment If I have 8+ coins and no Gold, should I buy a Gold or a Province?
@thesunneversets: there's about a half percent edge to delaying the first Province until you have at least one Gold with the Big Money Ultimate strategy. Adding in Kingdom cards tends to increase that edge (e.g., a Silver/Baron opening has a 5% edge over the same strategy if it waits until after buying a Gold).
Aug
28
comment If I have 8+ coins and no Gold, should I buy a Gold or a Province?
@thesunneversets: you're forgetting that the early Province is a hinderance for the rest of the game. You can try simulating the result yourself with the simulator I linked to above.
Aug
28
comment If I have 8+ coins and no Gold, should I buy a Gold or a Province?
@aramis: I won't say it's always wrong to use a Silver-heavy strategy, but usually Silver decks won't be able to sustain the pace once the deck starts to turn green. Exceptions might be if you can use Bureaucrats, Trusty Steed, or gaining cards like Workshop to continue to acquire Silvers and counterbalance the green in your deck, but those situations are exceptions rather than the rule. Silver-based decks are also far more vulnerable to attacks: a simple Militia leaves Silver unable to buy Provinces.
Aug
28
comment If I have 8+ coins and no Gold, should I buy a Gold or a Province?
@StasK: you can run the simulations yourself. Geronimoo's simulator is available at forum.dominionstrategy.com/index.php?topic=144.0. Buying Duchies when there are 5 or fewer Provinces left is known as Big Money Ultimate, the optimized version of the Big Money strategy.