1,123 reputation
619
bio website bbc.co.uk/football
location Sao Paulo, Brazil
age 33
visits member for 3 years, 9 months
seen Sep 23 at 13:07

I'm a code and development enthusiast.

Cheers!


Feb
14
awarded  Self-Learner
Feb
10
awarded  Scholar
Feb
10
accepted Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
Feb
9
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, ahhh, darn... so much wasted effort but at least we now know! It's jsut a question of accepting an answer now :D
Feb
9
revised Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
added 851 characters in body
Feb
9
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, Mayfair games confirmed in writing that "You can only win on your turn" is NOT accurate. I'll append their additional response to my answer.
Feb
9
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, well, I wrote Mayfair Games to clarify this issue again, and their response was that "you can only win on your turn" is not entirely accurate, and that it's written to cover situations where you have game victory points inadvertently. Given my example, they said player A wins regardless of whose turn it is. However, since there was a VP card involved, and player A did not declare it, player B wins legal. The original email is reference below in one of my answers.
Feb
9
awarded  Nice Question
Feb
9
revised Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
deleted 1 characters in body
Feb
8
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, hehehe! You just want the last word! You can have it :D
Feb
8
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, you are splitting hairs. The original post and the edited version closed by saying player B won. What is your point, and who cares if I changed "wins" to "should win" word? The final thought is unchanged, and the meaning does not change. Don't stop at a sentence and use an incomplete thought. Read the full paragraph. In the original context of the post, player A wins. A nuance in the rules came to light and it was acknowledged player B wins. Story ends and we all agree! :)
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, there is nothing mysterious. SE engines preserve history: boardgames.stackexchange.com/posts/2491/revisions - I changed two words. You can see them in green and red. The rest of the paragraph is unaltered. The only mystery then is why you were too lazy to finish reading it the first time. :)
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, why don't you read the rest of the paragraph tell us what says?
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, indeed, LittleBobbyTables interprets that same line as "While you may not have claimed to have won during your turn, by the rules set forth in the game you still did win on your turn." Well, at least this case was resolved peacefully and we can all now be happy settles--if we can find the time :D
Feb
7
revised Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
added 6 characters in body
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, and at which point did I disagree that player B did indeed win (after receiving the clarification email)? ...
Feb
7
answered Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, continuing the game does not mean the game did not end. A player can keep playing after the referee (the rule book) had ended the game. Because there was too much ambient noise and no players heard the whistle doesn't mean what they do after counts. In any event, Mayfair Games just responded to my email and they clarified the rule. I'll post a new answer in a minute.
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, there is no such thing as a "rule of reversibility." It was a precedence. Its criteria was "can we reverse an illegal move where the person who moved illegally does not benefit?" The answer is yes (building out of turn; player B making an illegal move after the turn has ended). Player B's move was illegal, and not not player A.
Feb
7
awarded  Critic