1,063 reputation
519
bio website bbc.co.uk/football
location Sao Paulo, Brazil
age 32
visits member for 3 years, 2 months
seen yesterday

I'm a code and development enthusiast.

Cheers!


Feb
28
comment What are some good strategies against land takeovers in Alexandros?
I would appreciate any comments to explain why this question warrants a close vote. I disagree that this question is too broad; I am asking about a specific case, not strategies for the game as whole.
Dec
8
comment What form of chess was played in seventh-century Arabia?
Interesting question. I played chess my self growing up in Lebanon. We call it "Chataranj," but the rules are not different. It's merely the Arabic name of the game. As for it being discouraged, that's news to me. People play backgammon and chess incessantly in the levant.
Dec
6
comment In Ticket to Ride USA, does obtaining longest continuous path of routes highly correlate with winning?
What you say makes sense, but my gut instinct tells me the correlation is not as high as we think. This strategy may be self-propagating; in that, most players choose their routes to win the longest route, whereas there exists other, more efficient routes to reach destinations. I started to think about this yesterday. This week I managed to win 8 games with having the longest route only once (different opponents, on the iPad). I usually calculate the shortest number of required steps and follow that pattern, making changes as they become necessary. I'm tempted to make this a side project.
Dec
6
comment In Ticket to Ride USA, does obtaining longest continuous path of routes highly correlate with winning?
I'm inclined to disagree. I'm Yet to decide whether it's worth the effort to calculate this. I'd need a sample of about 200 games assuming we're working out the correlation based on two variables. But then I'm tempted to include other variables such as number of players and number of tickets, perhaps tickets completed. Then there is the question of the board. I don't know if I could stomach 200 games of the US board. Stay tuned. I would need about 9 months to a year.
Nov
13
comment When should a player decide to fold in Texas Hold'em Poker?
Again, there's no solid rule. It depends what cards are out, what you have in your hand, etc... That's a topic within itself, but it comes with experience. Check this out: texasholdem-poker.com/odds
Oct
22
comment How is game feel and strategy different between the 1st and 3rd edition scoring rules?
Great answer! I find that the changes also makes the game a bit more aggressive with people vying to capture farms throughout. Newbies especially fall into this tactic and end up over extending themselves and running out of meeples at the end. Lessons hard learned!
Feb
9
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, ahhh, darn... so much wasted effort but at least we now know! It's jsut a question of accepting an answer now :D
Feb
9
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, Mayfair games confirmed in writing that "You can only win on your turn" is NOT accurate. I'll append their additional response to my answer.
Feb
9
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, well, I wrote Mayfair Games to clarify this issue again, and their response was that "you can only win on your turn" is not entirely accurate, and that it's written to cover situations where you have game victory points inadvertently. Given my example, they said player A wins regardless of whose turn it is. However, since there was a VP card involved, and player A did not declare it, player B wins legal. The original email is reference below in one of my answers.
Feb
8
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, hehehe! You just want the last word! You can have it :D
Feb
8
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, you are splitting hairs. The original post and the edited version closed by saying player B won. What is your point, and who cares if I changed "wins" to "should win" word? The final thought is unchanged, and the meaning does not change. Don't stop at a sentence and use an incomplete thought. Read the full paragraph. In the original context of the post, player A wins. A nuance in the rules came to light and it was acknowledged player B wins. Story ends and we all agree! :)
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, there is nothing mysterious. SE engines preserve history: boardgames.stackexchange.com/posts/2491/revisions - I changed two words. You can see them in green and red. The rest of the paragraph is unaltered. The only mystery then is why you were too lazy to finish reading it the first time. :)
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, why don't you read the rest of the paragraph tell us what says?
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Pat, indeed, LittleBobbyTables interprets that same line as "While you may not have claimed to have won during your turn, by the rules set forth in the game you still did win on your turn." Well, at least this case was resolved peacefully and we can all now be happy settles--if we can find the time :D
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, and at which point did I disagree that player B did indeed win (after receiving the clarification email)? ...
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, continuing the game does not mean the game did not end. A player can keep playing after the referee (the rule book) had ended the game. Because there was too much ambient noise and no players heard the whistle doesn't mean what they do after counts. In any event, Mayfair Games just responded to my email and they clarified the rule. I'll post a new answer in a minute.
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, there is no such thing as a "rule of reversibility." It was a precedence. Its criteria was "can we reverse an illegal move where the person who moved illegally does not benefit?" The answer is yes (building out of turn; player B making an illegal move after the turn has ended). Player B's move was illegal, and not not player A.
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, forgetting to rob is not an illegal move. It does not end the game either. You can't compare forgetting to take a card, or to rob, to not ending the game. That is not legal. Once found out subsequent turns are rendered illegal and rolled back; a la constructing outside of your turn. The game ended irrespective of how the players feel, or who forgot to do what, or whatever. Forgetting to rob has no such impact.
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
@Tetteh, Forgetting to rob does not "end the game." You lose your chance to rob. The game continues. Reaching 10 points ends the game. Since the game had already ended, any subsequent turns are invalid. The robber instance is not valid since the game still continues. It was not an illegal move. Building outside of your turn was illegal, but we went back and altered that, and returned the cards.
Feb
7
comment Who won this game of Settlers of Catan?
That's irrelevant. The rule book has an imperative declaration "the game ends immediately" -- that is an order. It does not say who must, should, or who has responsibility to carry it out. It says the game ends. Therefore the game ended at the end of Player A's turn. Objectivity is built into the rule book.